We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marina Inn, Dana Point, CA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dana Point Marina Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Orange County, Ca, Usa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marina Inn, Dana Point, CA”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The staff was awesome, answered all our questions and took care of our needs.
Continental breakfast was very good, wish it would last until 9:30 instead of 9am.
The pool was clean and warm, the jacuzzi was on the hotter side for me, but kids enjoyed it.
We had great views of the pool and harbor.
I left my cell charger in the hotel room and didn't call until a week later and they still had it.
It wasn't fancy, but the price was good for what we received.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a pool/harbor side vs. mtn side room. Mountain side rooms face the parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Carolyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    109
    64
    36
    28
See reviews for
86
113
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed two nights and wanted to make popcorn...when we asked for a pan with a lid housekeeping brought us her personal pan from home. We couldn't ask for better customer service than that! Rosario you rock!!

Rooms are ok, pool is nice and spa was great.

Room Tip: Make you reservation on the phone with the hotel directly if you have special needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

you get what you pay for. Inexpensive. Pool. Free breakfast. My room was in desperate need of a make-over. It had been painted and repainted (with paint that didn't match) way too many times and there was a smell that you couldn't quite put your finger on. The bathroom was probably original, scratches, chips, rust, crud, nothing that could be wiped down and made to look good. I wouldn't walk barefoot in the room. However, if that kind of stuff doesn't bother you....the location and price can't be beat.

Room Tip: Supposedly there are some renovated rooms, you should probably ask for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rex89134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEND
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Check in was fine and the location was perfect for what we had planned but the service after check in and the room were horrible.

AC leaked water the whole night making a ton of noise and soaking the carpet. Went down to the front desk in the morning to let them know about the issue and they said they would take care of it. Came back from a long day and the carpet was dry but after about 30 min of being on the AC started to leak again. The shower situation was also not good. Any use of the sink or toiled by anyone else on our floor would cause the shower temperature to fluctuate violently. We ended up checking out a day early and the Front Desk staff didn't even bother to ask why we were leaving or how our stay was.

Would not recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here for its super location and wanted to try it out. I had a queen bed on the 2nd floor towards the middle of the hotel. The room has the queen bed, desk, coffee table, stove, and refrigerator. The bed seems to be aged and too soft. The refrigerator took a while to be cool but it worked fine. Bathroom is average clean and a good shower. It has free wifi and free parking outside the hotel. Location is superb. It is close to the harbor, park, and freeway. The interior of the hotel looks dated though. Its walls are pretty thin as I could hear next door people talking loudly. The next night was quieter perhaps people checked out. One thing though I was surprised is its side entrance doors (Not the main entrance door) were not locked in the evening. Anyone can walk in without a room key, which is a safety issue. Also there is no safe in the room.

If you are looking for location, this is one of the best locations. But don't have too high expectations on the hotel itself. Overall, it is just okay for the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mistyskyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
390 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Location is great and the price is right. Yes, it is an older hotel that continues to get a facelift, but it's close to places we enjoy. New updated bathroom was a nice surprise. Rooms are large and we slept fine. Continental breakfast is just that, nothing special. If I had known we would have a large frig and even a stove/oven I would have brought things to make a real breakfast. But overall like coming here and will continue to. Good size pool and ok size spa that we enjoyed.

Room Tip: We faced the pool this time and liked it better than facing the parking lot and/or street.. When th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 48thAnniversary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have the pleasure of staying here about once a year. Last year the hotel was looking a little tired and worn but they have been working hard since that visit. The room that I had was clean and bright-recent paint and a new a/c were evident as well as improvements made to the front entry area. The free breakfast was very good as always. This hotel is a wonderful place to stay if you are visiting the area. Front desk staff is helpful and friendly as is the housekeeping and maintenance staff-they understand what customer service is all about. Lots of places to visit and great food are all nearby-the hotel's rate is excellent-I'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phatfillTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dana Point hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
1.4 mi away
Capistrano Surfside Inn
Capistrano Surfside Inn
#7 of 12 in Dana Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riviera Beach Spa Resort
Riviera Beach Spa Resort
#9 of 12 in Dana Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dana Point Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Point Marina Inn

Property: Dana Point Marina Inn
Address: 24800 Dana Point Harbor Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-2919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Dana Point Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Dana Point Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Point Marina Hotel Dana Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing