We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wi-Fi and business center computer horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dana Point Marina Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
plumas lake ca
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wi-Fi and business center computer horrible”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here once a year and once again they have not improved on the internet situation. Because of poor connection had to use computer in lobby which was so slow it took me almost 2 hours to try and complete my tasks. Had to check out late, missed lunch with family, and then had to stand in line for an hour at my next destination to get the tickets I was trying to print at hotel. Seriously considering not staying here again. Was really upset that the staff trying to act like this was some unusual problem when I've had problems every single time I stay here and overhear other guests complaining also.. I have never been able to get cell service in my rooms here and always assumed it was my provider (Metro PCS), but this time I had Sprint and I still couldn't get signal in my room):

Room Tip: If you need wi-fi...be sure to ask for one of the rooms that has the best signal...however, that sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3tumbleweeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    111
    66
    36
    28
See reviews for
89
114
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here on Apr 9; my sisters and I had three different rooms but all three were tired. I had a small refridgerator, stove, and sink in my room, think 80's style.
The hotel was situated on the harbor, lots of small shops and eating places nearby. It was adequate for spending the night but really needs a makeover and a good cleaning, carpets worn and dirty. You can tell they tried but what this place really needs is a good do-over. A/C units were a little noisy.
My sister had asked for a handicapped room and actually did get one! She was pleased with the grab bars in the shower.
Breakfast in the morning was your standard pre-packaged food: bagels, muffins. Cereals were available as well as some fruit.
I will say that the wifi (one of my criteria) was excellent once logged on.

Room Tip: Harbor side rooms have nicer views. The other side is street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dian6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I've stayed in a variety of hotels in Dana Point, but this was an unexpected bargain. The hotel sprawls a good deal, but when you walk out of the back, you are straight on the marina, with all you would expect, as well as a variety of good restaurants. The situation is also good to get into town, 10 minutes on foot and a few minutes by car. It's also a five minute walk to magnificent and legendary Doheny Beach.
The staff were courteous and helpful, breakfast acceptable and the rooms were a good size. The price was low, so all in all, a really good place to stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clarksdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

When I am in the Southern CA area, , I always stay at this GREAT hotel by the beautiful Harbor. I have been staying here fort years, and I am always perfectly pleased!

The staff is always friendly and helpful, and the facilities are always first rate. I highly recommend staying here.

Sincerely,

Joe Moros

Room Tip: harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josephmoros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We rented 20 rooms with no complaints from anyone. All understood that this was an older hotel.
I always ask for written reviews from my folks. General results were favorable. Clean rooms.
Good baggage service. The key here is location, location, location.
Right on the marina walk way with plenty of shops and restaurants. Several excursion boats include fishing trips, Catalina express, and whale and dolphin watching. For us it was whale
watching. We were not disappointed. Yes there are times when there are no whales, but there is almost always a large pod of dolphins that like to play around the boats.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rguide915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is an old Inn, but the price is right, it's clean and quiet and the room I stayed in was huge. It's centrally located, right on the harbor and across the street from some pricey but fun boutiques and a huge variety of restaurants. Overall, not a bad place and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladykari64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

There's not much at Dana Point unless you're a sailor. This is a great place right in the heart of Dana Point Harbor. Doheny State Park is nearby just off the Pacific Coast HighwayI. If you plan to see Catalina Island, ferries leave from here but they leave from all over the place around here. Keep an eye out for special midweek rates. Drop the kids at Disneyland and come to Dana Point.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanDOHashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
6.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dana Point Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Point Marina Inn

Property: Dana Point Marina Inn
Address: 24800 Dana Point Harbor Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-2919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Dana Point Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Dana Point Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Point Marina Hotel Dana Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing