We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Old but decent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dana Point Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dana Point Marina Inn
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Dana Point
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old but decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is an old Inn, but the price is right, it's clean and quiet and the room I stayed in was huge. It's centrally located, right on the harbor and across the street from some pricey but fun boutiques and a huge variety of restaurants. Overall, not a bad place and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladykari64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    102
    61
    33
    26
See reviews for
80
101
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

There's not much at Dana Point unless you're a sailor. This is a great place right in the heart of Dana Point Harbor. Doheny State Park is nearby just off the Pacific Coast HighwayI. If you plan to see Catalina Island, ferries leave from here but they leave from all over the place around here. Keep an eye out for special midweek rates. Drop the kids at Disneyland and come to Dana Point.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanDOHashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor VT
Level Contributor
67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visiting Dana Point again and just really enjoy being right in the harbor. The Inn is a great place to stay with a nice little kitchenette. We are close to the shops and to the Ocean Institute. Everything is walking distance and the walking is just beautiful. The birds are just so much fun to watch and it is possible to see dolphins and seals from the shore.

Room Tip: Poolside is nice if you enjoy a morning swim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babybatman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have stayed at the Dana Point Marina Inn on two vacations and we have been happy with our two stays here. The prices are very good for this location. You are right on the harbor which is great for walking the beach and for the whale watching and fishing at Dana Wharf, as well as its proximity to a couple nice places to eat and shop. The rooms are simple but they have been clean both times. The beds are average in comfort, but not uncomfortable at all. Our room had an enclosed patio that faced the harbor. There was a refrigerator that was moderate sized as well. The bathroom was average but clean. They also had a continental breakfast. They are very courteous and help with whatever you need. I would stay there anytime I am in Dana Point. Great deal for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buffalomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

There is no way you can beat this Hotel for the money. The service is great, breakfast and coffee in the morning included in the price. The location can't be beat and all the service people can't be nicer.

Rooms are clean.

I would think a comparable hotel in this area would be double the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

An old hotel with plain rooms but in great location in the harbour.
Room I had faced into courtyard right at other rooms, so not private and asked to change but no available rooms. Fairly good value but not a memorable place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukCaroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I always stay here when I visit my brother in Dana Point & his guest room is occupied with family! Nice staff! Clean! Great location! Some rooms have kitchenettes! Pool side view rooms just as nice. Try the Harbour Grill next door for dinner. Fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drjsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
1.4 mi away
Capistrano Surfside Inn
Capistrano Surfside Inn
#7 of 13 in Dana Point
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dana Point Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Point Marina Inn

Property: Dana Point Marina Inn
Address: 24800 Dana Point Harbor Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-2919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Dana Point Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dana Point Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Point Marina Hotel Dana Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing