We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location and customer service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dana Point Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dana Point Marina Inn
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Dana Point
1 review
“Great location and customer service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Always clean with great customer service! We always enjoy our time here. Close to everything. Love that we can walk everywhere from here. Will keep coming here. The room is usually ready early which makes our stay even better.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dszukala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    104
    62
    34
    26
See reviews for
80
105
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have been going to the Marina Inn since the early 80's and more frequently after we retired and have a 2 year old grandson near by. We have always been pleased with the friendly front desk and have only not been able to check in early twice. The rooms have always been clean and while outdated, for people that matters to, you will be happy to know they are in the process of renovating all the rooms. The harbor side rooms have been done and the pool view rooms are currently being done. We like the casual atmosphere and ambiance of the Marina Inn. This will be our "vacation home" for a long time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waikiki willi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stay at this hotel twice a year for an extended time and it is one of our very favorite stops. The rates are reasonable for a waterfront accommodation with a lovely view of the marina. We love to shop, and eat good food that is within walking distance from our room. It has nice walks for exercise, a laundry for customers, and free WiFi. We enjoy the harbor side on either the second or third floor. The staff is very pleasant and helpful, and the room are nice and large, with a small balcony to enjoy the outdoors and view from you room. It is a central location for visiting other areas along the coast. We look forward to returning in February.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra money to be on the water side and have the lovely view of the Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I live in Henderson, Nevada. Four times each year we travel to Dana Point to do some fishing and visit friends and relatives. We always stay at the Dana Point Marina Inn for several reasons. It's right on the harbor, walking distance to shops, restaurants and fishing. The room rates are reasonable, rooms are clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. We give this hotel our highest recommendation.

Room Tip: We like the views and quietness of the third floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

we stayed at your hotel at least 3 times a year and have done so for the past 30 years. It always has been a positive experience. We glad to see that you are renovating the hotel, which will make our future stays even more so enjoyable. Rooms were clean and the staff a pleasure to deal with, informative and courteous as well as making you feel welcome. The continental breaskfast was great, with a good variety of breakfast items. With the harbor and the restaurants within walking distance it was defintely a plus to stay at your hotel.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the harbor and pool are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

we selected our rooms on the harbor side, third floor and the view was great. We went whale watching, day trip to Catalina, and the beach without having to get into our cars. During our stay we walked to the restaurants and shopping along the marina. The rooms were clean and the staff terrific + extremely reasonable for the area.

Room Tip: third floor with a harbor view a good choice, coffee on the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I am repeating what many others have said in extolling the location of this hotel. If it was any closer to the water you'd be swimming. We have stayed in other hotels in the area, but from now on this is our first choice. Since we were trying to stay on our budget (: we opted for one of the rooms not on the harbor side. As it was it still had a very nice view of the bridge and part of the harbor. The hotel is older, but very well maintained and I noticed the harbor side rooms have many upgrades. The room was neat, clean and generous in size. How nice not to feel you were in a closet!! A small balcony with enough width for a chair gave me a nice place for my morning coffee. The breakfast had a good variety and the fruit was fresh. The staff was friendly and helpful with questions about the area. Within walking distance of restaurants and a good coffee place. with the price of gas, it is so great not to have to get in the car!!.

Room Tip: You cannot beat the views from the harbor side. Even rooms on the highway side are not noisy with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
1.4 mi away
Capistrano Surfside Inn
Capistrano Surfside Inn
#7 of 13 in Dana Point
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dana Point Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Point Marina Inn

Property: Dana Point Marina Inn
Address: 24800 Dana Point Harbor Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-2919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Dana Point Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Dana Point Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Point Marina Hotel Dana Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing