We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, average rooms, below average staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dana Point Marina Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I drove into town from Oregon and had no hotel reservations. We stumbled upon this hotel and went in to check prices and whether rooms were available immediately. The front desk woman quoted us a price of $129 for either a king room or room with two queens, and both types were available immediately. We chose the king room, gave her the credit card and filled out the registration slip. After taking our information and card to hold the room we were informed that the only room that was available immediately was a room with two queens. How unprofessional to state one thing and once payment is secured, reverse that statement. We took the two queens (same price, we're not picky) mainly because we wanted to shower and lay down asap.
The hotel is a long walk to the beach or a short drive...we drove and had a great time.
The room itself is outdated, the whole hotel is for that matter. There is only AC in the rooms so the hallways and lobby are stuffy and HOT! The room was clean enough, the bathroom was outdated but in working order.
The staff seriously lacked in customer service and professionalism. We checked out at 630 am for a long drive home and the front desk woman working at the time was less than professional to say the least. We had called the night before to request a AAA discount be added to our bill. This did not get done and the front desk lady in the morning made it seem like the world's biggest inconvenience to do this as we checked out. Get over it. It took her half an hour to do this, most of that time was spent in silence as she muttered to herself...talk about weird! Finally was done and we wanted to pay in cash...again, another 15 minutes and lots of muttering. She came out of the back with incorrect change twice.
The continental breakfast was as to be expected from a hotel of this quality, mediocre. The breakfast attendant was the only positive customer service experience we had the whole stay...and he didn't even speak english!
All in all, you get what you pay for. This hotel is outdated and tired with less than quality staff but serves its purpose...a place to stay that won't break the bank.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 351 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

I am a local This hotel is for years owned by Orange County, due to default of earler operators. Can a county run anything? Answer is no. I have booked friends there for years warning them not expect anything great. Front desk understaffed, probably some employees are hiding afraid of work.They have only one guy who is into helping you making it a nice stay, he will be hired away soon. Location is great, expect a roof over your head, that's it.

Room Tip: 3 stories, pick seco nd story as strollers and the parking lot are on ground level. You only sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CigarClaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I write this with the knowledge that staff and management will never read it because THEY DON'T CARE! Something they seem quite happy to share with the customers as often as possible. Read another review that says it all...they are doing the bare minimum to maintain the place. Minimum service, minimum maintenance. The main reason I write this is to tell others to avoid a very, very poor vacation experience. Beware fellow travelers.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank ElvisinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We arrived here late Friday from John Wayne and were quite welcome here. The bed was comfy, pillows needed some work as well as the older furniture. Overall it was a good stay, to be back home in So Cal right on Doheny. Shops and restaurants next door. We ate at El Yorktown and walked around afterwards. The area was so nice saw no need to brood in our room. Everything was clean and well taken care of. Thank you for a nice stay. Also great continental breakfast! A great stay in OC can't wait to move back!

Room Tip: Second floor facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgj28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night and it was horrible. It is old and outdated. The bathroom was nasty and I didn't even attempt a shower in that shower. The pool closes early and the rooms are old and kinda smelly.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank jnydvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We're traveling around California and this Hotel is the worst In Relation of Price and Achievement. Old Rooms, a terrible bathroom and the worst breakfast wie had in all our Hotels around here. Would Never Book that Hotel again and Would Not recommend ist to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Someonebrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised last week that they are finally doing some upgrading. The decor was really lacking before and they have added some new paint, furniture (outside and lobby areas) AND, a new hot-tub. Still disappointed that they do not have in room microwaves. Could not get cell service or wi-fi in the rooms I have stayed in (however, apparently they have a list of rooms that do....wish I knew that before!). Above review stated new A/C, but I was really uncomfortable the entire time even with the AC blasted; it never really cooled down. As usual, love the location; plenty to do within walking distance. They also have beach comber bikes available for rent for $5 hr. which I plan to do next visit:). Wish they would get some new mattresses.

Room Tip: If you desire wi-fi, be sure to have them put you in a room with a good signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3tumbleweeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Beachfront Inn & Suites at Dana Point
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Capistrano Inn
Best Western Capistrano Inn
#1 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
381 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
1.3 mi away
Riviera Beach Spa Resort
Riviera Beach Spa Resort
#9 of 12 in Dana Point
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dana Point Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Point Marina Inn

Address: 24800 Dana Point Harbor Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-2919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Price Range: $124 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dana Point Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dana Point Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Point Marina Hotel Dana Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing