We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very simple hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dana Point Marina Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I spent only 1 night at that hotel and was ok, just ok. It is a very simple hotel. Parking lot it is not charged.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19112012h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 346 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

Location is the key for this Inn. The room was nice and filled our need for an overnighter before an early Catalina trip the next day. Walking distance to the Catalina Express and the rest of Dana Point Harbor. Several good restaurants nearby including Wind and Sea. My only compliants; I had to turn on the water for the toilet and reconnect the chain to the flapper valve in the toilet tank before the toilet in the room would work, and the A/C unit did an imitation of a passing train. We slept well despite the noise from the A/C and would recommend this Inn to family and friends looking for convenient lodging in the harbor area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We wanted to stay within walking distance of the Dana Point Yacht Club and the Marina Inn fit our needs. It is dated and could use a major facelift but the value is amazing for the location. The room was old, with a stained popcorn ceiling. However, it was clean and quite large with the attached kitchen.

Our only complaint was we received a queen bed when we booked a king. The front desk person was rude when we asked for a new room. She said they were fully booked, too bad. The bed was very soft with small pillows but we still slept well.

Waking up in the Marina was a treat. We had cappuccinos and a nice breakfast while we enjoyed the boats, pelicans, views, and people watching.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alavio15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I have stayed at the Marina Inn several times and it is a solid bet for the price in Dana point. The hotel shows its age and the decor is stuck in the 70's. However this past trip showed promising signs of some long overdue improvements. A jacuzzi spa has been added to the pool area. What a welcome addition! There are signs of other renovations as well. Might I suggest starting with the hideous artwork in the rooms. Followed by the bedspreads? DP harbor is a great place with lots to do and some great restaurants. For the money you can't go wrong with marina inn. Just don't expect the Ritz Carlton. I just hope the improvements don't translate into higher room rates. Ps. Don't spend the extra money for the harbor view. It's not worth it since all you do is walk outside and there's the harbor!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethany017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I have stayed here twice before and it was disappointing both times. The public areas were dirty, the desk staff extremely rude and non caring, the bathrooms seriously out dated with chipped sinks and tubs. I could go on but why...... I will pick a new place next time. The location is nice and made it kind of worth it for $100 a night (even that is questionable) but now when I look I see they want $173.00 and more on their own site.... NO WAY!!!!

Room Tip: pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Docopac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Everything needed updating; however, it was a clean room. If we didn't need to be close to the harbor (Catalina Express - to take us to Catalina Island), we would have chosen something nicer for the same price. Would not stay here again unless we needed the boat ride.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paynehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed a few days in August and again for a week in November...a bit disappointed both times. Family in area recommended due to a coupon. Great price so booked the 2nd trip. Asked several times for an email confirmation because I wanted proof of the price since it would be Thanksgiving week. Each time, was told they were too busy to send email, that I should call back. Well surprise surprise, was charged $30 more each night when we got there..had no email to back it up. Was told they have never had those rates, even though I had them 2 months earlier! At any rate, (no pun intended:) each time I had to talk anyone at the desk for any reason, they seemed irritated, put off and borderline rude. We had problems with the room keys daily, the bathrooms have very limited counter space and it was very old and cracking etc. Hallways feel like a hospital, no decor. Asked ahead of time about fridge & micro in rooms. Was told there was a fridge but microwave was in breakfast room and we would have to use that one. I bought a pizza to heat up later, and when I went to heat it up, the room with micro was closed. When i asked to use it, they said it was only available during the 6-9 eating hours! Breakfast has much less than most cont. breakfasts...no eggs, waffles or anything like that.....First trip, the kids were so excited to swim but the pool was cold and FULL of bugs...so they quickly got out. Second time seemed nicer but never found the time. The big PLuS of this place is location. It is right next door to the greatest little shops, restaurants, and plenty of other marina/harbor attractions. Because the price is still reasonable and the surrounding area is so convenient,and wonderful, we actually will probably end up staying again due to family near by and visiting several times a year. My wish would be for them to update the place, and either train the staff in proper customer service or hire new people all together.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the marina, be sure to specify because not many have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3tumbleweeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
124.5 mi away
The Beachfront Inn & Suites at Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
6.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
460 reviews
7.2 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dana Point Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Point Marina Inn

Address: 24800 Dana Point Harbor Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-2919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Price Range: $139 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dana Point Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Dana Point Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Point Marina Hotel Dana Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing