We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoy the view and the cuisine”

Harpoon Henry's Seafood Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Harpoon Henry's Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 143 Restaurants in Dana Point
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dana Point Harbor Drive
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
388 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Enjoy the view and the cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The restaurant has two sections: one with open seating and large television screens that play sporting events, and another section set next to floor to ceiling windows for dining. The windows offer a great view during daylight hours of the sail boats docked at the harbor. We ordered the oysters, the clam chowder, and the cedar plank salmon. All were very good, but the oysters could have been more fresh. Good selection of adult beverages to accompany the meals. Worth the visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JackandResh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    139
    51
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't forget half price tuesdays”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We're making Tuesday lunch a regular thing here. A half price drink and a couple of chicken tacos and I don't need dinner. Best deal around with a beautiful view and great bartenders. My friend says the shrimp cocktail is the best he's had and plenty for lunch. A great local hangout.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christig995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

After having gone on Capt. Dave's whale watch, I was sure hungry with breathing all that sea air! I checked the local restaurant's menus, and was rather shocked by the prices (I'm from the mid-west). Around 4:00 p.m. I noticed a rather large number of people going into a rather plain looking restaurant. The people were all dressed nicely, were "of a certain age," (which is always a good sign in my experience) so I went in. The restaurant area was almost completely filled by 4:45 and the reason was "Happy Hour." But it wasn't just for drinks, it was happy hour for selected entrees. I had the best calamari steak I've ever eaten for under $10.00!! It is not an exaggeration to say that it was one of the most memorable meals I've had. Oh, the restaurant itself was cozy, the waitress very pleasant AND the drinks were half price! That's why I say "WOW!"

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LeeB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best happy hour around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Halons has the greatest happy hour....especially on Tuesdays with their specials on martinis. They have an outside patio right at the harbor if you want to hang outside. A local favorite.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hydee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

great food, service, and atmosphere. the lounge was packed and everyone seemed to be having a great time. our server was prompt and had a good sense of humor. our food was great. will be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank footballsctritons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harpoon Henry's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Harpoon Henry's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing