We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible View”

Raya at The Ritz-Carlton
Ranked #7 of 146 Restaurants in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Raya, named “Restaurant of the Year” by Riviera Orange County in July 2011, is a great restaurant concept by acclaimed Chef Richard Sandoval. Raya showcases Pan-Latin Coastal Cuisine prepared with sustainable seafood, local produce, natural and organic meat and Chef Richard Sandoval’s signature Latin flavors. Discover delectable dining on the coast of Dana Point during your next visit.
Redlands, California
2 reviews
“Incredible View”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The view is incredible! The food was fine, albeit, it fell somewhat short of the price and the Ritz Carlton name. And the service was not exclusive and elegant as it should be in this level of an establishment. My wife and I dine at fine restaurants often; we were a bit disappointed, but we are willing to give it another attempt. Their number one quality is the view.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StokedLars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    79
    40
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
“Food”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Went to the Bar Raya for lunch also the Resturant on the patio both terrible food. The fish taco tested like anything but fish taco and very salty. The chicken on my salad tested as if it was out of the can !!!!! Very disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sima A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No Service -- Walked Out”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

As South Coast locals, we appreciate the nearby availability of high end hotels with great ocean view restaurants. My wife and I had often talked about lunching at the Ritz and finally decided to treat ourselves. When we arrived at Raya (which, while near the bar, is separate from it) we were told there would be a 15-20 minute wait. Looking around the large restaurant, we saw that it was about 20% occupied. There were literally dozens of empty tables, and they remained empty during our visit. We were finally seated after a 40 minute wait. During that wait, just four parties were seated.We were shown to a small table between two windows, which allowed us to peak out at the ocean view if we looked past our dining partner at an angle and the around the edge of the window. I thought about asking to move, but was sure it would delay our lunch even more. A nice gentleman came by and offered water. We then sat waiting until he came back 10 minutes later and refilled our water glasses. We told him we would like to order and he said he would advise our server. During the next 10 minutes we watched a bevy of servers bustling about the dining room, doing what, we could never determine. No one seemed to be getting any food or, for that matter, any service. After almost an hour we decided to move to the bar and just grab a bite of something so we could get back to work. We sat at the bar for 15 minutes, watching the bartender fiddle with the POS system and chat with a couple who had obviously been at the bar for some time. My wife and I looked at each other and said, almost in unison, "What are we, invisible?" We then decided to depart the Ritz and drove across the street for a nice lunch with great service at the St. Regis. (Unfortunately, no view.) I would loved to have been able to review the food and service at Raya, but obviously there was none to review. I have given a rating of 2 instead of 1 on the assumption that, another day, another time, it might have been an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhenryII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Memorable Meal”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Went to Bar Raya for a birthday meal.The rose at the table along with a small note about birthdays were lovely touches. Service was fabulous. Views of the Pacific at sunset cannot be beaten and had some diners getting their cameras out. The food was excellent, although the quantity was more than I was really comfortable with - slightly smaller entrees would have been better. Other reviewers have commented on noise levels from the lobby, but we really didn't find it an issue. Great desert with Happy Birthday iced on the plate - made us feel very special.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agryle, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful View, Good Food and Service, Extremely Loud”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The view of the Pacific Ocean from our table was wonderful - we saw a beautiful sunset. The food was very good, wine list was just passable, service was attentive. All that said, this restaurant is adjacent to the very busy lobby of the hotel. No walls to separate it, just some pretty steel sculpture that did nothing to block the noise of the lobby, so it was extremely loud. Had to almost shout to be heard. When we were there (on a Saturday night) there were lots of families with kids, so though I'd recommend it for the view, would not recommend it as a "special" night out place - though the cost would put it in that category.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Argyletraveler339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raya at The Ritz-Carlton also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Raya at The Ritz-Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing