We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Breakfast”

Harbor Grill Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Harbor Grill Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 146 Restaurants in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Dana Point Harbor Drive
Description: You'll always enjoy the finest in seafood dining at the Harbor Grill Restaurant. We specialize in fresh, regional seafood cuisine, fine steaks and fresh oysters. To help ensure the mood is set just right, this is your opportunity to relax in the warm comfort of attentive service with your choice of eclectic wines and refreshing cocktails. For more than 33 years, John, Wanda and Keegan Hicks have been committed to providing the best, high quality seafood and steaks in Dana Point. You can watch our Chef prepare your favorite dish over our mesquite wood grill. Our innovative and unique menu allows you to enhance your meal with our selection of vibrant salsas, chutneys or spice rubs. Escape from the ordinary and feast upon our Pacific, New England and Cajun renditions of your favorite seafood and enjoy your choice of our rich sauces and flavorful broths which reflect the finest influences of Latin American, Asian and Indian cuisine. And remember, every Thursday is our special Oyster Day! Once you've enjoyed a great meal, get ready for dessert. Our Harbor Grill carrot cake is a legendary favorite with locals and guests. Equally tantalizing is our delicious, made fresh daily, Chocolate Blackout Cake, Mocha Mud Pie and the unforgettable Key Lime Pie. The Harbor Gill was an Open Table Diners Choice Winner for 2016 and is the only seafood restaurant in Dana Point that has been selected 5 consecutive times as the Best Overall Restaurant. Come, join us! Call and make your reservation today! Whether you choose the cozy dining room with live piano music in the evening, or the colorful garden patio with a view of the harbor - You'll discover we're both a favorite for the locals and a popular destination for visitors from all over the world who want to feel like members of the family on their first visit.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This very busy restaurant is just the spot for a great breakfast. Wide menu of choices will make you happy. I had the eggs with chorizo, bacon, home fries, and short stack of pancakes. Yum! I wobbled away very happy with enough leftover to make another breakfast at home the next day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkyDre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    130
    42
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
madison, wi
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good but Pricey”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Aside from the Harbor Grill being a bit on the pricey side, we had a very good meal meal. Our waitress was very cheerful and helpful and made our dinner more enjoyable. the main dishes, while not exceptional, were prepared very well and the wine list was very reasonable. While the prices may be inflated due to its location near the Marina, I would recommend Harbor Grill.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wadsworth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I had the Miso Glazed Chilean Seabass. Yum, Yum. My partner had the Blackened Seabass, which he also enjoyed. The service was great.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Level 6 Contributor
583 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Mesquite broiler heaven”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The mesquite broiled salmon and large scallops were VERY well done.

Pesto on the salmon was a tad light on the garlic, and personally found the Thai red curry sauce on the scallops somewhat sweeter than I like. The coconut and other spices, though, were great.

Spotty service, but pleasant. Good heaters on the outside veranda.

Bread would have been better warmed.

Actually, the highlight of the meal was the thick, fresh gazpacho that started everything out. Could have used that for dessert and replaced the somewhat mediocre carrot cake.

There's a la carte as well as prixe fixe menues along with a moderately extensive wine list with a range of pricing.

The whole dinner without drinks came to around $75. But, given the scenic harbor location, figured that was par for the course.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We have been frequenting Harbor Grill for over 20 years, beginning when the Ritz Carlton concierge recommended it on our first visit to Dana Point, when we became full time residents of the city, and even now when we return to the area as part-time residents. Watching the food being cooked on the large wood fired grill behind the large window is a treat, and everything is always cooked to perfection. My favorite dish, Halibut, continues to be he best I have eaten anywhere in the country, and that includes many "famous" restaurants. The professional staff are knowledgeable and attentive, to locals and vacationers alike. Many have been there as long as we have been going there, indicating excellent management. The live background music provided by a pianist who plays unobtrusively adds just the right ambiance. When we are in town, a week never goes by that we do not book a table at the Harbor Grill.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SebastianDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbor Grill Restaurant also viewed

 
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Harbor Grill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing