We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Brunches at Gemmell's are delightful!”
Review of Gemmell's

Gemmell's
Ranked #34 of 144 Restaurants in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dana Point Harbor Drive
Transit: Public transit stops in front of the Harbor of Dana Point.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunches at Gemmell's are delightful!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

One of our most favorite things to do on a Sunday morning is to head to the Dana Point Harbor and have Sunday Brunch at Gemmell's. My husband and I share the champagne brunch and it's fun to choose the entree together. We enjoy sitting by the window in the high top table and people watch with the breeze coming in the window. Delectible food and great service, we would reccommend this restaurant to anyone and will be headed there August 26th for our 1st wedding anniversary brunch!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robincolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    27
    15
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere, ok food, service needs improvement.”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Gemmells is a nice little "french restaurant" in Dana Point Harbour. The ambiance is cozy....white linen table cloths, red rose on every table, fireplace. Although located in the harbour, there is only a view of the parking lot. Food was Ok not spectacular. For being a "french" restaurant, I was surprised that a cheap, sweet sparking wine was served as "champagne". Not good. Our server was very nice, but went MIA a couple of times. We waited a long time for our appetizer plates to be cleared and for the entree to be served. The restaurant was not even busy while we were there. We were considering Sunday brunch one day, but, based on this experience, I don't think so.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank passion4travel296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“NO MATTER HOW GOOD THE GROUPON/TRAVEL ZOO DEAL IS, DON'T DO IT.”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

unless your bag is a comicly bad Lounge Singer, there is no reason to eat hear. Food is B-/C+ at best and the service was so bad that one guy got tired of waiting and went to the bar to make his own drink, twice! My bill was wrong so I sent it back and they lost my C card for a bit. 2 1/2 hours for dinner is a bit much folks!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rstewart100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“gemmells”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Great Food, Great service and great ambiance.One of the best in Orange County.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon-JoeJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
330 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent food and ambiance”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Seeing this place from the outside you won't think it's anything special. This is why we should not judge a book by it's cover. Inside awaits a cozy setting. My husband and I enjoy the food very much. We always start with the shrimp feuilliete. Love the flakiness of the pastry and the sauce is very tasty. We' ve tried various things in the menu and have never been disappointed. The pork medallions are exceptional, the steak tender and flavorful and all the fish dishes were divine. Even the Gemmell pasta was very good. We were told the place is chef-owned. On several occasions that we were there the chef has come out to check on the diners. He makes really excellent sauces and they all go well with the meal. The best part is dessert. The souffle is to die for. It's like a slice of heaven in my mouth. We've never had problem with service even when we are using a discount coupon. Yes the place is pricey but well worth it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank qhunnyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gemmell's also viewed

 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Gemmell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing