We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING”

Jimmy's Famous American Tavern
Ranked #5 of 146 Restaurants in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: JFAT is an upscale, yet casual tavern featuring regional American comfort food, craft beers, cocktails and wines with a lively bar scene located near the Dana Point Marina.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

The food was spectacular. Service was great too! Had the short rib hash, fat city Benedict, breakfast pizza. So delicious and it came out fast. Totally recommend!!! Great kids menu too, with a ton of options.

Helpful?
Thank YourTasteBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    126
    50
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible service”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Came in for lunch......took 15 minutes to get a menu.......finally got my food an had no silverware or napkins....25 minutes after finishing still haven't been asked if I needed anything else...yea this place has the worst service

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfer1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Fun Place, Enjoy the Starters!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The hotel I stayed recommended this place since it was just across the street. This place is fun, the lure for me was the Onion Rings on the starter menu. I found the onion rings to be OK, great appearance, but lacked a certain snap and onion taste for me. Certainly a nice portion.

I also tried the ahi. Excellent! The ahi dish was wonderful and worth a second visit. I sat at the bar and Tim the bar tender was great with service. If you are by yourself, saddle up to the bar and see Tim and order some goodies. Many of the other appetizers looked very good, but I didn't try them.

I would certainly return to this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 678855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Vibe”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Visited this past weekend for the first time. Sat at the bar and ordered beer and lunch. Had a burger and it was excellent. The place has been open for about 8 months and looks to be the place to be. It was packed. Very good service, good food, moderate pricing. It's nice to have a place in the Harbor with good food. Recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trooperr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“These guys know how to run a restaurant”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The place is in Dana Point Harbor and is always hopping. It's a rustic, comfortable space with first-rate service and excellent American bar food. I had a blackened ahi burger" and it was delicious. There were a dozen of us and everyone liked what they ordered for lunch, including a spicy friend chicken sandwich, and a burger. There is a $10 corkage fee for the first wine bottle for the table and after that there is no corkage fee. The prices are reasonable for the quality of food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaTraveler7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy's Famous American Tavern also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Jimmy's Famous American Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing