We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance and lots of good food”
Review of Taco Surf

Taco Surf
Ranked #59 of 146 Restaurants in Dana Point
Restaurant details
Lake Forest, California
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Ambiance and lots of good food”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is a wonderful weekend place to have fun and delicious, authentic Mexican food. Be sure to arrive hungry because the portions are quite large. You may need to take some home and it saves well for tomorrow's lunch.
Chips and salsa are served while you relax and enjoy the live music with a cold draft or their special margarita. All dinners seem to be large portions. Even the tacos can be an entire meal.
The wet burrito is a personal favorite but you have to be really hungry to finish it all. There are several beers on tap, serve a nice wine selection and have the ability to mix any other drink.
The musician takes requests and sing-a-longs are allowed but control yourself, it's not a karaoke bar. He has a large selection of music mostly from the 60's to the 80's.
Great place to celebrate anniversaries, birthdays or other special events. The owners also work throughout the day, so it's nice to chat and get to know them. They are a fun and friendly family that are down to earth and enjoy meeting the patrons.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim_the_Enchanter417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caldwell, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great little find”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

It is easy to miss this funky Mexican restaurant but it worth looking for.
Tucked in off of PCH this surf shack serves up very good food.
The Carne Quesadillas are really good and generous portions.
Nice selection of beers and a good Guacamole dip.
Dont miss this local gem.l

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buytheshorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awesome casual beach restaurant”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I am from the east coast and my wife's brother lives in Dana Point - I have probably been to Taco Surf ten times over the years and it never disappoints. It's exactly what an east coaster tired of rain, clouds, and cold winters wants on a vacation. The food is very good - chips and homemade salsa are a great start. My wife and I had chicken bowls which were huge and only $7. The atmosphere is perfect and on this trip there was live music. Don't expect Ruth's Chris, it's a beach bar, enjoy it for what it is... an escape for vacationers and a hangout for locals.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always good food and service”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a great little restaurant with a local vibe. The food is Mexican/American, not hard-core Mexican. I like both, but among the many Mexican/American restaurants I have tried over the years, this is one of the best. Taco Surf is located near the center of Dana Point in what used to be the Hobie surf shop. The cantina decor and delicious cuisine always make for an enjoyable evening. The portions tend to be very large, but you can take the left-overs home to enjoy the next day. There are tables both inside and out. I recommend outside year-round with space heaters if needed. I eat here very frequently.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 22go2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“what a treasure find!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

found this little place after our day at the beach...the service was friendly and prompt and the Mexican food was to die for....it was also very affordable... I had the beef flautas - a large plate with 3 flautas a good serving of beans and rice...they also give complimentary chips and salsa...and after a fun-filled vacation...this was a great ending! We had a large group of 12 with children and everyone left happy and full...it was casual, relaxed and fun! Will go back again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claucrasoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Surf also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Taco Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing