We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Salsa Around!”
Review of Taco Surf

Taco Surf
Ranked #80 of 143 Restaurants in Dana Point
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ventura County, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Salsa Around!”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I've been eating at Taco Surf in Dana Point since 2000. Yes, it has had it's share of ups and downs with food quality and service, but all in all, it is still my favorite restaurant in Dana Point. The salsa is amazing, coldest beers in town, and a sunny patio sheltered by the afternoon breeze. My favorite item is the blackended fish tostada served only on Tuesday evenings. I also love the history of the place, being the original Hobie building. Great local place, super laid back atmosphere, and great happy hour.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank longbrdpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Kentucky
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

It was a little hard to find. I actually passed it up once. We sat down at the bar for lunch and the gentleman behind the bar was very nice and helpful. He actually suggested somethings that were not on the menu. He made me a baja fish burrito that was out of this world. I could not get enough of it. Then come to find out he was the owner, haha. The atmosphere was great and the food was delicious!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daman161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
193 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Interesting mix of flavors with a very picante tomatillo sauce.
When we saw the fake sawdust on the floor and all the banners we thought this might be a dive with so-so bar food. Not the case.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank bassn386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This place should be called "Taco Surfboards".”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I was drawn to try this place based on the exterior decor that makes it look like a beach cabana in tropical Mexico. Check out the photo on the restaurant's website -- they have obviously paid a talented decorator a lot of money to create the desired impressions at this restaurant's several chain locations around Orange County. The waitress was so capable that she should be managing and owning her own place based on the quality and speed of her customer service, or at least working at a place that serves better food with higher prices and getting bigger tips. What a surprise when I bit into the fish taco, which she advised were "the best in Orange County". Um, no, not really. I think those tacos should be on sale in the famous surfboard shop that's practically across the street. And not for eating, either.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DolphinD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, CA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty picky about my Mexican Food - Best Green Chili Carnitas Burrito on Earth!”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The green chili carnitas burrito is amazing. The carnitas are tender and extremely tasty the green chili sauce is hot (for green chili) and the burrito is HUGE. I took the rest home, and had 2 more meals! Really you must try it.
I'm going to try the Taco Tuesday....

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaseyDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Surf also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Taco Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing