We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a disappointment :(”

Chart House Restaurant - Dana Point
Reserve with OpenTable
Chart House Restaurant - Dana Point is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 145 Restaurants in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pacific Coast Highway
Transit: PCH/Blue Lantern - bus
Description: From amazing views of the Pacific Ocean & Dana Point Harbor to unparalleled cuisine, Chart House is a feast for the eyes as well as the palate. Savor a seamless blend of fine seafood & steaks, while you enjoy the elegant atmosphere & impeccable service. Since 1961, Chart House has been dedicated to providing the ideal dining experience. With 30 historic, waterfront & showcase locations across the U.S., Chart House offers spectacular views & exceptional service that you’re sure to enjoy. From top-of-the-catch seafood to succulent steaks, our renowned chefs have tailored a menu to complement local cuisine while introducing a hint of the exotic. Choose from our famous entrées such as New Wave Sur & Turf, Macadamia Crusted Mahi & our slow roasted Prime Rib. We also offer a daily selection of fresh fish, an extensive collection of fine wines & decadent desserts like our famous Hot Chocolate Lava Cake.
mission viejo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Such a disappointment :(”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My daughter took me on Mother's Day. We have been coming here for years, as we live in Mission Viejo. We ordered the calamari appetizer which we have always loved. It was soggy & rubbery, we returned it & it came back exactly the same way. We ordered shrimp scampi because shrimp fresca (our favorite) is no longer on the menu. It was greasy & tasteless.The martini's used to be superb not anymore, they were watered down & mediocre. We will not be returning anytime soon & that is a pity. You really need to get rid of this chef or lose more loyal customers. Regretfully, Gail Piccinonno

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gailpiccinonno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    128
    74
    29
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice, but not fabulous.”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The food was good, but on two occasions there, one of the entrees never showed up and there were only 4 or 5 of us in the party. They just kept saying it was coming. We all finished our entrees and it still wasn't ready. That's when we stopped going.

Helpful?
Thank Nyuszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Romantic with a view and good food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have visited this Chart House several times. It sits on the bluff overlooking the Dana Point Harbor. Worth waiting for a window table or eating outside on the patio. We had a window table and only waited 5 minutes. The staff was attentive and the food is good. I had one of the seasonal specials, a ravioli dish and enjoyed it very much. We started with an artichoke appetizer. My wife had another appetizer, crab, avocado, and mango for her main course. She has had it before and it is just enough food for her and she really enjoyed it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Terrible food @ high prices”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Chart House has beautiful views, but their food was AWFUL. I'm not sure that one thing we ordered was actually seasoned. I've visited other Chart House locations that have been great...don't waste your $ on this one.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank STMRobynMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION, GREAT FOOD!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

For a big blow-out meal for our family get-together in Dana Point, my brother-in-law selected the Chart House. The restaurant overlooks the Dana Point harbor and is a circuitous drive from the Pacific Coast Highway, so it's advisable to get directions or use a GPS to find it. This was a Saturday night and the place was packed! However, our wait wasn't too long before we were seated. One downside of such popular restaurants is the noise, which could have been a factor here with the poured, reinforced concrete structure of the restaurant (due no doubt to its precarious perch on the side of the hill). However, the architect ameliorated this possible problem by creating booths with demising walls which radiate around the perimeter of the restaurant, each with their own picture window overlooking the harbor. Once seated, noise was a non-issue. The menu is varied and the food well-prepared. Service was attentative despite the fact that each seating alcove is very private and not immediately within eyesight of the server stations. All in all, a great meal and highly recommended for a QUIET dinner.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chart House Restaurant - Dana Point also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Chart House Restaurant - Dana Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing