We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View”

Chart House Restaurant - Dana Point
Reserve with OpenTable
Chart House Restaurant - Dana Point is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 146 Restaurants in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pacific Coast Highway
Transit: PCH/Blue Lantern - bus
Description: From amazing views of the Pacific Ocean & Dana Point Harbor to unparalleled cuisine, Chart House is a feast for the eyes as well as the palate. Savor a seamless blend of fine seafood & steaks, while you enjoy the elegant atmosphere & impeccable service. Since 1961, Chart House has been dedicated to providing the ideal dining experience. With 30 historic, waterfront & showcase locations across the U.S., Chart House offers spectacular views & exceptional service that you’re sure to enjoy. From top-of-the-catch seafood to succulent steaks, our renowned chefs have tailored a menu to complement local cuisine while introducing a hint of the exotic. Choose from our famous entrées such as New Wave Sur & Turf, Macadamia Crusted Mahi & our slow roasted Prime Rib. We also offer a daily selection of fresh fish, an extensive collection of fine wines & decadent desserts like our famous Hot Chocolate Lava Cake.
Long Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
515 reviews
438 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 941 helpful votes
“Amazing View”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

30 years ago I used to go to this Chart House when I lived in Capistrano.I remembered it from the view and then it was rated number 5 by Tripadvisor. The reason for this rating has to be the wonderful harbor view. I recommend you go for cocktails and dessert at sunset.We ordered filet and mashed potatoes and surf and turf.The meat was just ok and we get better filets at Coastco.The server Remy was great. The Chocolate Molton cake is a reason to go back as that was excellent! Next time a good bottle of red and Molton Cake on the patio...I love the ambiance!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyChism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    129
    74
    29
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Chart House has a great view and the design makes you feel like you are walking down the rabbit hole! The staff is very professional and the food is fantastic. The wine list isn't huge, but it has good selections.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Amazing view, very private seating and wonderful food”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I went for dinner with small group of women who truly appreciate a wonderful wine and great seafood. We were not disappointed. The wine selection was great and every dish we ordered was fresh and delicious. The interior of this restauraunt is quite unique and very cozy. We had a booth that felt like our own private room with floor to ceiling windows looking over Dana Point. Our server was very attentive and helpful with the menu. I would definitely come here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kwchilily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unparalleled Views & Service”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

You can't beat the view and their food and service is excellent! Reservations are a must unless you find a spot in the lounge or bar (which also offers incredible views of Dana Point Harbor and the California coastline

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank spencer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, exceptional service and a million dollar view”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My Wife and I were vacationing in Laguna Beach for our anniversary when we tried Chart House in Dana Point. A boat crew member from the harbor recommended Chart House as having good food at a reasonable price with a good ocean view.

We made a reservation for 6:00 and arrived about an hour earlier to see the sunset from the cocktail lounge. The restaurant is situated on top of a cliff and our view of the sunset was exhilarating. Our cocktail waitress was happy, accommodating and attentive. Later, in the dining room, our waiter did a great job of getting us just the right food for our occasion. I had the scallops and they were primo. My wife had two appetizers, the crab, avocado and mango stack and the coconut shrimp. It was all tasty. Our evening was enhanced by the spectacular view of Dana Point Harbor at night from our booth. The staff made this a wonderful evening with their genuinely friendly service and attention to detail. I would recommend this Chart House to anyone!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank StevenA595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chart House Restaurant - Dana Point also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Chart House Restaurant - Dana Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing