We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Naples Pizza”

Angelina's Pizzeria
Reserve with OpenTable
Angelina's Pizzeria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 145 Restaurants in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Angelina's Pizzeria highlights the Verace Pizza Napoletana ("True Neopolitan Pizza"). Each pizza combines Italian imported ingredients and locally sourced organic Basil, which is baked over an Almond wood fire. Choose from other authentic Italian specialties including crisp salads, artistic entrees and rich desserts. Pair each dish with a fine wine, or imported Italian and local California beer. Happy Hour: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Restaurant details
Description: Angelina's Pizzeria highlights the Verace Pizza Napoletana ("True Neopolitan Pizza"). Each pizza combines Italian imported ingredients and locally sourced organic Basil, which is baked over an Almond wood fire. Choose from other authentic Italian specialties including crisp salads, artistic entrees and rich desserts. Pair each dish with a fine wine, or imported Italian and local California beer. Happy Hour: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Dana Point
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“True Naples Pizza”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went to this neighborhood pizzeria for the first time after a movie. Service was quick and pleasant but that should have been expected as we were one of two couples in the restaurant. But our server was very nice and helpful. The menu is straight out of any pizzeria you would visit in Naples, Italy. Having been to Naples a couple of times, we were familiar with what a pizza should look and taste like if it were to be authentic. Angelina's didn't disappoint. After our food was delivered, the owner came to chat with us which also was a pleasant experience. If we were to find a fault, it is that paper napkins are used instead of cloth but cloth table cloths are on the tables. To bring the dining experience up a notch, simple improvements like cloth napkins would help, especially in the dinner hours. Also, they have an extensive wine supply but did not offer a wine list to choose from. Be sure to ask unless you know exactly what wine you want. For the cost, we are definitely planning a return visit. The closest pizza we have to being in Naples! Too bad it is in a shopping plaza facing the parking lot, but they do have room to expand and offer outdoor eating in the future. Look for this restaurant kitty corner to the Starbucks in Monarch Bay Plaza.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    16
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Best Pizza In California”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

It's pizza naples style and it's the best I've found. Owner's personally come around to your table to greet you and make sure you're satisfied with the pizza. It's simple with just salads, anti pasta and many different kinds of pizza---and they do it well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank troy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't bother with Angelina's”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

What a disappointment! If you are thinking of trying angelinas, I suggest you just drive to NEOpolitan in south Laguna.
I live very close to Angelina's and read the good reviews so was anxious to try it. First the decor or should I say lack of was disconcerting especially when I saw the prices. The wait staff was awful (owner was in Italy I heard.) Wines on menu were u available and was served an alternate with a gnat in the glass. The place was so unappealing that I asked for boxes and left. I won't say the food was bad, just unappealing based on everything else including the layout, staff and stark appearance.
I decided to drive a few minutes to Neopolitan and compare since I had read good things about it. Night and day difference. We were greeted at the door and several times by smiling industrious staff. The decor was warm and inviting, music playing, lighting good and pizza oven and kitchen behind glass so it was not in your face as it is at Angelina's. Every staff and kitchen person looked busy and efficient and happy to be there and have us there. Oh yes and the prices were lower for direct equivalent items!
Bottom line don't if you are eating in go to Neapolitan, not Angelina's.
One more caution, the pizza with green olives comes with pits!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Save $ Original Napoli Pizza on Pacific Coast Highway!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Owner Sandro has brought Gino and his oven all the way from Napoli to create the pies that make you dream of Italy. Rather than enduring a 11 hour flight with Alitalia drop in order the salads and that are perfect. Obviously any pie you choose Gino will create it right in front of you and the memories of Italy will come back as soon as you manga!
Don't be a food snob, they just opened so let them feel their way through the non food things and just enjoy the pizza that no one in Orange County can touch the authenticity. By the way practice your Italian on the chef Gino. He does speak a word of english so have at him. By the way the Pop Art on the wall by Marco Toro are a perfect compliment to this contemporary styling.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edward b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelina's Pizzeria also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Angelina's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing