We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay, borderline poor” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rib Joint Roadhouse

Rib Joint Roadhouse
Ranked #105 of 142 Restaurants in Dana Point
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Okay, borderline poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

As a person who loves to smoke their own meat, as was not impressed by their baby back ribs. Food was warm at best and the ribs needed the help of the BBQ sauce. Well cooked ribs should not need any sauce.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RSquar3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    5
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average food and average service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Positives: one family member enjoyed the pork ribs...and that is about it. Kids chicken tenders had NO flavor. Baby back ribs were tough and also lacking flavor. So I knew ordering chicken marsala in a rib joint was dangerous...but I have never had marsala that tasted sweet like teriyaki. Service was a bit slow for a small place that wasn't crowded but server was friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank catladyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
117 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great BBQ, like the outdoor seating, relaxed waitstaff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed lunch here today. Nice chatting with the waiter, loved the selection of beer, and the BBQ was delicious. The chicken was super moist and flavorful. The pork ribs were beautifully seasoned, the dipping sauce is what made them so tasty. The cornbread was dry and the potatoes ho-hum. But the BBQ was great, as advertised. We'll come back next time we're in Dana Point.

The outside seating area was a welcome escape from a musty roadhouse interior.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Left-the-dog-at-home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
388 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great ribs and free WiFi = Win”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Rib Joint interior conjures the classic look of a place you'd expect to have good food. Dimmed lights, locals at the bar, and a pleasant lack of "cookie-cutter" decor you'll find at chain restaurants. My wife and I ordered both the beef and pork ribs, and both were delicious and gigantic. The bar has a descent selection of beers to help wash down the large portions of ribs and corn bread, and the proprietors are very friendly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JackandResh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Do Not Waste Your Money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I am an absolute BBQ Lover.
At 49 years old this place gets my award as the worst BBQ I have ever had.
Greasy, and flat out yucky!
Service was poor.
I don't mind paying for good BBQ, but when my wife and I walked out I felt like I had been robbed, and felt sort of gross from the food.
I know it's been there a long time, my question is "Why do people go back".

Bad to the Bone is right up the freeway in San Juan Capistrano and Lucille's is up a bit more in El Toro.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cal92673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rib Joint Roadhouse also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Rib Joint Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing