We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Tacky!”
Review of Jack's Restaurant

Jack's Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 144 Restaurants in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Jack's Restaurant is a casual dining experience offering Turner New Zealand all natural meats and fish as well as italian cuisine. Dinner is served seven days a week starting at 5:00pm. Breakfast on Sundays 8:30-2:30 Catering and banquets are available. happy hour everyday from 5:00pm until 6:30pm in the bar and patio.
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Totally Tacky!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Mediocre food. Pasta Primavera swimming in oil, green Lipped Mussels over Pasta with Chile cream sauce...tasteless. But...the tackiest thing I've ever experienced in a restaurant was when the waiter came to our table with a bottle of some sort of vitamin that obviously the owner is selling, and offered to put this liquid vitamin, with an EYEDROPPER, over our food! WHAT? Reminded me of the Lucy skit with Vegemita Vitamins! I think the owner needs to find a different venue for his vitamin sales. Maybe the swap meet?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mm9960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    26
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Thornton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing happy hour”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We are visiting Orange County and this restaurant was recommended for their happy hour. We tried it on a Monday so it wouldn't be too busy. The restaurant doesn't open till 5pm and we were a bit early so we walked around. The doors were open when we got back and we were seated. Other reviews we had read said the eggplant Parmesan was great. They weren't wrong. It was like eating lasagna. And the portions were like a meal other than an appetizer. We also had the calamari. We want to go back for dinner before we leave.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Local Gem”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We ate dinner here on a Friday night and with a reservation. I was surprised that it was fully seated, but not folks waiting for tables. The food and service here are excellent and I would have expected long wait times. I would not consider this an expensive restaurant, but rather a great value with the attention to service and quality of the meal. All four of our group had excellent meals, the wine list is long and many options were available by the glass. The desserts were excellent and a good time had by all. This would be a highly recommended place to eat in Dana Point.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KevinK5211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana point
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“insane owner”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

my husband and I went to jack's for a quiet dinner one night. Food was good, although priced too high. The owner thinks its a fine dining establishment and it is not. My husband had a minor complaint and the server called the owner over. He proceeded to yell and scream, make a huge scene. My husband quietly said, "we will not be back" Owners response? "never come back and tell all your friends" So, that is what I am doing. If you want a fairly good meal at too high of a price. Go here. Just make sure that you don't have a complaint and that the owner took his meds that day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannon Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
294 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Excellent referral from another restaurant”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

On a busy Saturday night, they were very accommodating and sat us within 10 minutes with no reservation.
Service was very attentive, staff working very well as a team. Caesar Salad was good, but not the best I have ever had. Prefer the anchovies to be ground, not served on top. My wife described her trout as the best she has ever had. My seafood Alfredo was also excellent, with ample amount and quality of shellfish on a perfectly sauced pasta. Accompanied by a glass of Italian Pino Grigio, this made for a very pleasant evening.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Restaurant also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Jack's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing