We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Intimate Dining”

Luciana's Ristorante
Ranked #3 of 145 Restaurants in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Blue Lantern
Transit: OCTA bus stop on the corner of Del Prado Ave and Street of the Ruby Lantern.
Description: Orange County's Authentic Italian RestaurantLocated in a historical home in the resort town of Dana Point, California, Luciana's Ristorante has been serving the Orange County community for over 25 years. The decor is reminiscent of a cozy European-style inn, establishing it as one of Orange County's most romantic restaurants. Awarded the Southern California Restaurant Writers gold medal since 1996, three stars from the California Restaurant Writers, Zagat's Survey "America’s 1,000 Top Italian Restaurants 2008" and an Award of Excellence for its wine list, Luciana's has been setting the standard for classic as well as innovative Italian cuisine. Whether visiting our cozy restaurant or Villa Lucia, our Bed and Breakfast and Cooking School in Tuscany, Italy, you are sure to experience the best and freshest combination of the old and new worlds.
San Clemente, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Intimate Dining”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good food, reasonably priced in a charming old world setting. Veal Marsala is not on the menu, but, they will make it for you...really good! Plus all of the other pasta dishes are really good, as well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trvlholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    106
    41
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great tasting food”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

They deserve their Zagat rating. Wednesday night was still full. Recommend reservation.

Full bar. A bit noisy in the restaurant.

Calamari fritti was great with a great zesty dipping sauce. Risotto Del Mar, rice a tad under cook. Dinner special lamb shank over risotto was perfect (10+).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank windiveski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy, romantic, welcoming local restaurant serving delicious food.”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Comfortable local spot. Food is delicious, staff friendly and welcoming. Great for special occasions or just a night out. Entertainment (accordion) is delightful and beautifully compliments the scene.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice italian place”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Nice place to eat-good service and food. Great bread. We had calamari which had a nice spicy marinara sauce and both our entrees were very good. The atmosphere is nice here. We had reservations but probably didn't need them at the time we were there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank clscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, TX
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Looked at trip advisor. This was currently ranked 1st in Dana Point. I can see why!! Sat in the bar to watch football game. Lots of locals. Wonderful atmosphere. Great food. Great service. Wish we had something comparable where we live! Best Italian we've had since a trip to NY two years ago. Must try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cmpTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luciana's Ristorante also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Luciana's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing