We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property at great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monarch Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Tx
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent property at great location”
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Very large rooms, perfect for family with two teenage daughters. Went Memorial Day Weekend so hotel seemed near full and there were four weddings taking place that weekend which may be why service was uneven. Problem getting food order at pool and a list of local restaurants delivered to our room. Other than that, everyone was very friendly and helpful. Tram to beach does require patience as it can involve waiting at peak times. Spa area was wonderful and the girls enjoyed sauna, lap pool, and hot tub experience. Got a good rate calling the hotel directly so we thought that due to the number of activities available it was a good value for our family, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjjtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,452
    406
    184
    115
    85
See reviews for
608
703
54
533
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
huntington beach, CA
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2009

I wanted to do something special for my wife on our wedding anniversary, and at the same time have something fun & entertaining for my 2yo daughter to do.

Upon checking in, we were greeted by a very pleasant staff. My daughter even received a sand pail and shovel to be used at the resorts private beach. The whole weekend went smoothly, the staff was amazing and the location, views & facilities...again, amazing.

It's definitely a place to take your wife, husband, partner...and if you have kids, don't hesitate to bring them along....so much to do for everyone of all ages!!

I cant wait till we visit again...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbaylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

We stayed here on our honeymoon. The resort was fantastic. The grounds and hotel itself were beautiful, but it was the service that truly made this place stand out from the crowd. I am a very discriminating traveler; I have very high expectations. This resort exceeded my expectations. We didn't have a tremendous amount of money to spend on our vacation, but they treated us like royalty. I absolutely recommend the St. Regis Monarch Beach to anyone traveling to Southern California.

Oh yeah, only one down side. The food is incredibly expensive here, and (in our opinion) it was not at all worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Luxury Link

Helpful?
Thank andy4pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2009

The rooms were well appointed and clean. The food was excellent. Had a massage at the spa which was average but the fitness room well equipped. The main pool was closed during our stay. We were warned by e-mail that it would be opened the day after we arrived but it was still closed on the day we left (3 days later). We had to use the smaller spa pool. This was disappointing as it was 95 degrees during our stay. The hotel was not busy during our stay so we had great attention from staff. However, the hotel has varying levels of service. The restaurant staff and the staff by the spa pool were excellent. The check-in staff were either great or totally aloof. My wife was accused of not paying for some drinks at the coffee shop! The individual concerned realized her mistake but was very reluctant to apologize (not impressed). We tried to see a manager but on both occasions no one was available.
Overall, it was a good stay. We have stayed at similar standard hotels and resorts but this is the sort of place you only visit once.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buiness Class
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

When we were told that we would turn EAST off HWY 1, we should have realized that, unlike Surf and Sand, or the Ritz Carlton, this is not a beach resort. It is a couple of miles from the beach on a hill where, with good eyesight, on a clear day, you can see the ocean.

We are Starwoods Gold level members and used points for our stay. We were unable to get ANY room upgrade when we checked in at 1pm and were told it was because the hotel was full (sure seemed empty judging by the restaurant on Sat night). Our room was spacious and had a nice view of the gardens but was the closest to the elevator right off the lobby. We wanted to walk to the beach but were told we could not because we would have to go through the golf course, so we took the 7 passenger shuttle. Down at the beach there were sling back chairs, towels, umbrellas and a very over-priced restaurant. We left the beach at 4:30 and had to wait over a half hour for a shuttle. One shuttle, and about 20 people waiting! Ten of us piled on and held on tight back up the hill!

The next morning, we asked for a late check out and were told we had to check out by noon, not even 1, not even for gold members. Since we didn't want to waste the day waiting for the beach shuttle, we went to the adult only main pool which was almost deserted (surprising considering no upgrades and late check outs were available). By 11am a few families arrived with preschoolers (hmmm...thought this was the adult pool) and we headed out.

We used 20,000 SPG pts for the night which seems a lot especially because of the location. Sure, the lobby and rooms are nice, but next time we'll stay at the beach!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2009

We've been coming for years now, always shortly after the new year and it just keeps improving. The restaurants are great, the rooms and butler service top notch.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reallypickylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

My husband brought me here to celebrate my 50th birthday on Valentines Day. Needless to say it was pretty hectic. The hotel was beautiful. The staff was very nice. The room, once we finally got to it, was very nice. My husband had called the concierge two weeks before we arrives to tell them that it was my birthday and he wanted tomake it special. He asked for an upgraded room which if available we should have received anyway as a SPG Gold Elite member. We were also entitled to a check-in of at least 3 pm and a late check-out of 4 pm. He asked to check-in early than that if possible. He called the morning of the 14th to see if we could get in earlier than that and tgheysaid maybe. We live local so by the time we got down there it was just about 2:45. Guess what we didn't get in to our room until 4ish.
Unbeknownst to me my husband had ordered chocolate starwberries and champagne to be in the room when we got there. It wasn't. We had to run back home to take pics of our son's formal and came back a few hours later. Still not there. Curiously someone knocked on the door with a champagne bucket with ice and thats it. My husband stepped outside the door and asked where my birthday treats were. When we left for dinner my husband spoke to the concierge( who happened to be the person he had spoken to that morning to make sure the arrangements were all in place) who told us that the strawberries and champagne were sent to our 1st room. Huh? We only had one room. I would expect a 5 star hotel like the St. Regis to be able to get this right. Maybe they switched our room before we were even check-in but they should all be on the same page and be able to get a simple request like that taken care of. I don't care if it was Valentine's Day and it was crowded they are supposed to be the best of the best. When we got home from dinner at 11:30 the champagne and strawberries were there but it was too late to enjoy it as we were tired and full from dinner.
In addition, the next day we asked for a late check-out and they said the best they could do was 1 pm even though we should get a 4 pm check -out as a SPG gold elite. You would think that after they screwed up my husband's surprise for me they would give it to us.
There was another post on here earlier form someone who stayed there the same weekend who had a negative post and it has disappeared. They mentioned another complaint and that was that they had a Valentines party that was $20 pp that took up the large public area. Unless you paid you couldn't get past the sheets closing in the area.
I am a local and this is the first time we have stayed here. We have stayed at the The Ritz Carlton before. We had a wonderful experience and the view is a much closer ocean view. We were disappointed that the St. Regis couldn't get it together and we might chose the Ritz Carlton next time we want a quick getaway.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
5.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
734 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
689 reviews
4.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
402 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Beach Resort

Property: Monarch Beach Resort
Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort, Dana Point, CA 92629-4085 (Formerly St. Regis, Monarch Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA Five-Diamond resort overlooks the Pacific and offers private beach club access, with watersports, oceanfront golf, award-winning Miraval Life in Balance Spa, swimming pools, upscale dining, activities programs and more. Located in Dana Point, the resort offers easy access to a variety of Southern California attractions including Catalina Island, Dana Point Harbor, Laguna art galleries and events, Disneyland and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monarch Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing