We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monarch Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Monarch Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Consistently Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2009

We've been coming for years now, always shortly after the new year and it just keeps improving. The restaurants are great, the rooms and butler service top notch.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reallypickylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,259
    378
    175
    109
    85
See reviews for
541
642
47
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

My husband brought me here to celebrate my 50th birthday on Valentines Day. Needless to say it was pretty hectic. The hotel was beautiful. The staff was very nice. The room, once we finally got to it, was very nice. My husband had called the concierge two weeks before we arrives to tell them that it was my birthday and he wanted tomake it special. He asked for an upgraded room which if available we should have received anyway as a SPG Gold Elite member. We were also entitled to a check-in of at least 3 pm and a late check-out of 4 pm. He asked to check-in early than that if possible. He called the morning of the 14th to see if we could get in earlier than that and tgheysaid maybe. We live local so by the time we got down there it was just about 2:45. Guess what we didn't get in to our room until 4ish.
Unbeknownst to me my husband had ordered chocolate starwberries and champagne to be in the room when we got there. It wasn't. We had to run back home to take pics of our son's formal and came back a few hours later. Still not there. Curiously someone knocked on the door with a champagne bucket with ice and thats it. My husband stepped outside the door and asked where my birthday treats were. When we left for dinner my husband spoke to the concierge( who happened to be the person he had spoken to that morning to make sure the arrangements were all in place) who told us that the strawberries and champagne were sent to our 1st room. Huh? We only had one room. I would expect a 5 star hotel like the St. Regis to be able to get this right. Maybe they switched our room before we were even check-in but they should all be on the same page and be able to get a simple request like that taken care of. I don't care if it was Valentine's Day and it was crowded they are supposed to be the best of the best. When we got home from dinner at 11:30 the champagne and strawberries were there but it was too late to enjoy it as we were tired and full from dinner.
In addition, the next day we asked for a late check-out and they said the best they could do was 1 pm even though we should get a 4 pm check -out as a SPG gold elite. You would think that after they screwed up my husband's surprise for me they would give it to us.
There was another post on here earlier form someone who stayed there the same weekend who had a negative post and it has disappeared. They mentioned another complaint and that was that they had a Valentines party that was $20 pp that took up the large public area. Unless you paid you couldn't get past the sheets closing in the area.
I am a local and this is the first time we have stayed here. We have stayed at the The Ritz Carlton before. We had a wonderful experience and the view is a much closer ocean view. We were disappointed that the St. Regis couldn't get it together and we might chose the Ritz Carlton next time we want a quick getaway.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2009

We stay at this hotel every President's Day weekend, every year. We were married there in an exquisite ceremony with world-class service in 2004. We enjoy celebrating our anniversary while also attending an annual medical conference. My husband attends the meeting and our toddler and I enjoy our days walking, swimming, 'happy coffee dates' and lunch on the balcony. This year Valentine's day fell on a Saturday night, so we attended a meet-the-faculty reception in the ballroom as part of the meeting. The food was abundant and divine, with a nice jazz band playing in the background. Because it was Valentine's day, the waiters passed out red roses to all the ladies. The meeting is well organized. As always, overall we found the hotel service impeccable, from the valet to the bellmen we see year after year, to the concierge who answered our every request. We have a toddler and were warmly welcomed in Motif restaurant for two wonderful dinners and one outstanding Sunday brunch. When we needed an extra crib sheet, one instantly arrived at our door. When we requested an off-property dinner reservation at Luciana's, we were given one. When we needed a town car to deliver us to the airport, we were given one. During our stay, robes were laid out on our bed for each family member, including a small one for our child. There were little slippers in one pocket and a pink teddy bear in the other (see photo). Children were given little red buckets to take to the beach. When our toddler became restless over a nice dinner, the staff delivered toys to the table so we could enjoy ourselves. The food is always outstanding, everywhere we have eaten. Stonehill Tavern is excellent, Motif is elegant and delicious with beautiful views on the patio, and the Sunday brunch is one of the best we've experienced. We've also enjoyed a burger in the lobby lounge in front of the fireplace in the past. The tram to the private beach is fun and you can also take advantage of the many walking/running trails that take you into the canyon, down to the beach, and over to the cliff at the Ritz Carlton. You can be as active as you like, or relax and stroll the grounds and adjoining park. World-class golf is on-site as well. I have enjoyed spa treatments, attended great yoga/Pilates classes, and found facilities to be excellent, with an attentive staff. The staff in Crust, the coffee shop, are the absolute best at 6:00 in the morning. The coffee is excellent. Traveling with a toddler is usually arduous, however, the St. Regis ensures a relaxing, romantic, and quality family vacation.

A note to the traveler who posted the previous review: Every room has the decorative screens behind the bed. I believe they are there for acoustic and decorative purposes.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrscac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

We stayed at the St. Regis Dana Point over Presidents Day weekend 2009. This also happened to be Valentine's Day weekend. At a five star luxury hotel, you'd expect a relaxing getaway, right? Not the case. My husband and I are both Starwood gold, when we arrived at 4pm to check-in, our room was not ready. Wwe had not only requested early check-in, but are supposed to receive it when available with SPG Gold.

We had booked the reservation with SPG points and were promptly shown to a ground level room, facing the road, with very little light, and a folding screen behind the bed to hide something mounted to the wall that hadn't been removed - clearly not a premium room at the hotel.

We invited friends to meet us for a drink in the lobby area that evening. When we sat down at 6:30, we got the last table available b/c the hotel was hosting a pay-to-party event that night. There were sheets up in all the doorways so you couldn't sneak a peek into the common areas where the party was, red strobe lights on all the ceilings, a table where you paid your entrance in the lobby, and mobs of non-guests looking to party. Seriously?! If you wanted to relax in the common area that evening, you were out of luck. If you had children, you would want to shield their eyes from some of these party-goers. If you wanted to get a seat and have a drink, forget it. If you wanted to get the off the property and avoid the evening of debauchery, the valet line was so busy with party-goers that we grabbed our own keys off the rack, walked over to our car and drove away - and no one noticed. As a guest of the hotel, you were clearly a second class citizen.

Additionally, we called the concierge to ask for dinner recommendations that would be suitable for an 8yo and 10yo, they had absolutely nothing to suggest, had to "research" and call us back - which they didn't. We called again an hour later and they had nothing. Really? Isn't this a pretty basic request? Without a shred of useful information, we drove into Dana Point and immeditaley spotted half a dozen resuarants that would have worked great - diner, thai, pizza, burgers, etc. Five miles in the other direction was Laguna Beach, same story, about a dozen places that would have worked well. But the concierge was stumped.

The next morning, we called and asked for a late check-out (which we are supposed to get when available b/c we're Starwood Gold) and were told they weren't granting any late check outs this weekend. We asked for the manager to give us a call about that, and also b/c we were debating staying an extra night (which we were told they had plenty of room for, but no late check out?) - never heard a thing.

Just because it is a holiday weekend, it's no excuse for a five-star hotel to fall down in pretty much every department. Will never consider the St. Regis Dana Point again and will be sending a letter to the brand manager at Starwood, this hotel does not benefit the reputation of St. Regis.

We promptly left and checked into the Ritz Carlton down the street, which was better in every way. Stay at the Ritz!!!

  • Liked — Gym, Spa
  • Disliked — Some rooms have no view at all, concierge not useful, local hotspot
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LuxuryTraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

St. Regis Resort, Monarch Beach
Never Stay there, overly priced, very bad customer service.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — customer service
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank onecustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

We just returned from the perfect Valentines weekend at the St Regis Monarch Beach. From the moment we arrived the service was excellent. The hotel was extremely busy all weekend yet everyone from the valet, front desk, shops, and food service were very friendly and went the extra mile to make sure we were well taken care of. The hotel grounds are spectacular. Our room was very large and the furnishings were beautiful. The bathroom was wonderful. They provide robes that are very nice and for Valentines day we received a lovely box of chocolates at the evening turn down service. Nice touch. We especially enjoyed breakfast at the beach restaurant. The tram ride down and back was fun. I know some people have complained that the resort is not right on the beach but the views looking across the golf course with Catalina Island in the distance were lovely.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

It is one of those places where you don't feel you're in the USA... Check-in was extremely slow and staff were scattered and not very helpful. It was not a good start... but then, once I was in my room, it got better... Room are very spacious & confortable; try to get a room with direct outisde access... you have real grass !!!

Lounge is nice with a good choice of drink - including a few very nice scotch.

Golf course in great !

I was there for a business convention - the food during the convention was above average for a convention,

Overall, the hotel is great if yoy stay in... because it is very far from everything else - you seems to be in your car all the time and for a long time to go either to the airport or to go out for dinner or shopping...

Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Curious_Canucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
2.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Beach Resort

Property: Monarch Beach Resort
Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort, Dana Point, CA 92629-4085 (Formerly St. Regis, Monarch Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA Five-Diamond sanctuary is sublimely located near Southern California's renowned destinations, including Catalina Island and Dana Point Harbor. Nestled hillside overlooking a private beach, discover an array of adventuresome experiences at our coveted Orange County resort. From thrilling water sports, to championship golf links, to acclaimed Miraval Life in Balance Spa, encounter lasting memories at our pristine coastal locale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Monarch Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing