We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decadent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monarch Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monarch Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“decadent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

This place is excellent. Excellent service, excellent grounds, excellent amenities, excellent rooms. We opted for the executive suite with, yes, a butler. And, we took advantage of the opportunity. My husband had his clothes pressed and his shoes shined. French press coffee on the veranda in plush robes every morning. Decadent. The best part was they found out it was my birthday and had champagne waiting. He even walked all the way out to the hot tub to tell us we had secured our dinner reservations. He let my daughter name him. So sweet. I cant say enough about the food and kindness of the staff. There is a drink with Gin and Lavender that you just must try.

The beach club was also incredible. They have a bar outside, set up your umbrellas and chairs, and really are very nice. There is a shuttle you take to the beach. And, try to go even if they seem full. Oddly enough a table opened up and we had a corner view for dinner!

I think my only caution would be stay away on 4th of July unless money is no object. For the price of the room, and it was not inexpensive, as an spg platinum I had hoped for a stellar upgrade. There were none to be found as it was fully booked. They did manage to keep us in the same room all three nights. When I go to other spg hotels and pay the rates I paid (ouch) it is a different experience. I even booked a hotel on points in Sacramento (had to cut back after the St Regis decadence :) ) and they upgraded us to the penthouse. But with that said, I realize it is only upon availability.

On that note, it was interesting to watch an employee of a 6 star resort treat paying guests rudely. We were waiting for the shuttle and she and her potential beach club members jumped on ahead of us even though they arrived in line after. I mentioned it to the manager and he was very kind. Insisted on buying me a drink which wasn't necessary but he acknowledge the poor choice. The hotel is so spectacular you cannot stay focused on something like that for long but it was interesting to watch that even happen at a 6 star resort where service is usually impeccable.

We will be back very soon. This place is really a great option for a couple days of decadence.

Room Tip: Executive Suite for your butler!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Tracy H,

Thank you for much for your recent stay with us! We appreciate your kind words regarding the resort and your experience, yet apologize for the incident with the shuttle and will be sure to address it with the employee. Should you like to address the issue further, please feel free to reach out to our Executive Offices directly at (949) 234-3301. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,186
    361
    171
    108
    83
See reviews for
511
618
45
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
245 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

The reason to give this hotel five stars in the service. Honestly, there are better views of the ocean at nearby hotels. But no one outshines this group in service. From the moment you enter the property to the time you exit, the staff could not do enough or provide more smiles or friendlier attitude. The resturant should also not be missed, outstanding food and wine pairings. Great golf course and easy walk or ride to the ocean. We will be back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ahg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Ahg2,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our legendary Five-Star, Five-Diamond service! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

As someone who has stayed in many St. Regis around the world, I was excited to stay in another USA property. My wife and I are huge fans of the brand, ever since our wedding night stay at the St. Regis NY. For better or worse, we always compare every St. Regis to the one in NY, and the Monarch beach property does many things wonderfully well, but fall short in a few others. First the accolades. First class greeting at the door by the valet staff. They were always available to help, and Matt our bellman was very attentive to our needs, and always acknowledged us, even as we were entering and exiting the hotel during the course of our stay. The concierge staff is bar none the best I have worked with. Gundula and Marty could not have done more to go out of their way to accommodate us. Their recommendations were spot on, from beaches to visit to dining locations. We wanted to go to a beach off property, Gundula herself went and got us beach chairs and towels to make sure we would be comfortable outside the hotel's beach. Amazing. Marty set us up with whale watching which was the highlight of our trip. The staff at Motif were amazing. Miguel took great care of us during dinner service. Ariel at check out was also very friendly and appreciative of our stay.
The grounds are gorgeous. The main pool was very crowded, but we found a quiet spot in the spa pool. The spa itself is fantastic, beautifully done and well worth the resort fee for access to the facilities.
Now for the negatives:
Check in: We checked in at 10:00 PM, and no one outside the valet staff was there to greet us. Another couple were checking in, but we were not acknowledged at all for about 3 minutes. Finally someone came and checked us in, but her demeanor was not welcoming, nor did we get the room type we wanted, even though it was a downgrade from the original room type booked. See below for more on that.
The Room: First room we were given was not our first choice, we asked for double room, but were told none were available due to a large wedding. This is understandable. We got to the room and my wife went to shower, where she found a housekeeping issue. I called the front desk to explain the situation, and the duty manager immediately switched our room to the double bedded room (a different person from the check in desk). Magically the room was now available. Even though it was a downgrade in view, at least it was clean and the room type we wanted. The bathrooms are large, but void of any personality. I didn't feel they were luxurious in any special way, they felt generic. Again, keep in mind we are comparing to the St. Regis NY.
Parking is too expensive at $34 a day. Really??
The conventions: I did not realize that this hotel was a boon for conventions. Many groups are coming in and out, and the feel of the hotel is very conventional at times, which we did not expect. I expected more of a family resort atmosphere.
Overall, our expectations were either too high for the property, or there was just some failures that questioned our decision to stay at the hotel. Next time would look to other properties in LA or OC before jumping to go here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbyz51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Bobbyz51,

Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of our resort and will be sure to pass along your kind words to Matt, Gundula, Marty, Miguel and Ariel! Your comments regarding the room readiness and cleanliness will be shared with our housekeeping management team to ensure that this type of experience is avoided in the future. We hope to be able to welcome you and your wife back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

If you are looking for a relaxing luxurious vacation spot, this is it. the grounds are beautiful, the rooms are great, and the pool is exquisite. The spa is small but adequate. it is not cheep, but luxury comes at a price. if you have the extra cash, rent a cabana by the pool.

Room Tip: all rooms are great. we have stayed in simple rooms and suits. if you can get an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkhoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear mkhoro,

Thank you for your kind words about our resort! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neosho, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

An absolutely beautiful hotel. Very accomodating staff, beautiful room, grounds. Truly enjoyed my stay. 3 highlights to share. They are not directly on the beach, but have a nice shuttle service to their private beach. Very nice beach accommodations. I enjoyed multiple sunsets from the outdoor patio in front of the fireplace. They have many hummingbirds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Alan J,

Thank you for your recent stay and kind words! We appreciate the positive feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the resort while here. We hope to welcome you back again soon to enjoy another one of our captivating sunsets!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed at this resort last week for 6 nights to attend a conference and mix in some family time at the beach. It is quite honestly, the best resort we have experienced in Southern California! While we have traveled around southern CA during the summer to escape the Summer hear in AZ, we have completely fallen in love with this property.

The Service is EXCELLENT! The rooms are impeccable. The amenities with access to first class pools and the associated Beach club are outstanding and gives you the best of what S. CA has to offer.

It will now be a part of our summer adventure for many years to come - convention or not!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfoster1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear jfoster1268,

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! It sounds like you were able to enjoy all of our amenities, including our pool and beach. We look forward to becoming a part of your familiy tradition for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the St. Regis in May of this year and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. The room was spacious and very nicely appointed, the staff were great, and the onsite restaurants were phenomenal. Loved the service and food by the pool and the easy access to the golf course. This is a fantastic property that is worth the visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernest H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Ernest H,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay! We are pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your time at our resort and hope to welcome you both back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
10.4 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,875 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Beach Resort

Property: Monarch Beach Resort
Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629 (Formerly St. Regis, Monarch Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA Five-Diamond sanctuary is sublimely located near Southern California's renowned destinations, including Catalina Island and Dana Point Harbor. Nestled hillside overlooking a private beach, discover an array of adventuresome experiences at our coveted Orange County resort. From thrilling water sports, to championship golf links, to acclaimed Miraval Life in Balance Spa, encounter lasting memories at our pristine coastal locale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Monarch Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing