We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As nice as it gets.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monarch Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monarch Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Neosho, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“As nice as it gets.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

An absolutely beautiful hotel. Very accomodating staff, beautiful room, grounds. Truly enjoyed my stay. 3 highlights to share. They are not directly on the beach, but have a nice shuttle service to their private beach. Very nice beach accommodations. I enjoyed multiple sunsets from the outdoor patio in front of the fireplace. They have many hummingbirds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Alan J,

Thank you for your recent stay and kind words! We appreciate the positive feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the resort while here. We hope to welcome you back again soon to enjoy another one of our captivating sunsets!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    340
    165
    101
    79
See reviews for
468
565
41
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed at this resort last week for 6 nights to attend a conference and mix in some family time at the beach. It is quite honestly, the best resort we have experienced in Southern California! While we have traveled around southern CA during the summer to escape the Summer hear in AZ, we have completely fallen in love with this property.

The Service is EXCELLENT! The rooms are impeccable. The amenities with access to first class pools and the associated Beach club are outstanding and gives you the best of what S. CA has to offer.

It will now be a part of our summer adventure for many years to come - convention or not!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfoster1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear jfoster1268,

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! It sounds like you were able to enjoy all of our amenities, including our pool and beach. We look forward to becoming a part of your familiy tradition for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the St. Regis in May of this year and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. The room was spacious and very nicely appointed, the staff were great, and the onsite restaurants were phenomenal. Loved the service and food by the pool and the easy access to the golf course. This is a fantastic property that is worth the visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernest H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Ernest H,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay! We are pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your time at our resort and hope to welcome you both back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The property is beautiful. I felt like I was in Hawaii. The service was impeccable. The Sunday brunch was the best I ever had. My boyfriend and I had stayed at the Grand Del Mar as amazing as that was this hotel beats it by a hair. My boyfriend went downstairs to get me a coffee this morning and they greeted him by his name at the coffee shop. .I'm impressed. This place did not miss a beat. Thanks for a wonderful time. We will be back

Room Tip: ask for a high floor with a ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Squalls,

We are so pleased to hear that you and your boyfriend had a wonderful experience at our resort! We hope to welcome you both back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I attended a conference here and was really impressed by the hotel and the property. Many of the rooms have a view of the ocean off in the distance (over the golf course) and the property is just spectacular.

The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are very automated and the technology is really impressive. I look forward to an opportunity to visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor. The higher the floor the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear AdamParks,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at our resort and look forward to welcoming you back, whether is be for business again or for pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My stay at the St Regis was just perfect. When first walking in the Hotel the Valet and the Bellman were very nice, Ariel at Check In was very helpful and so pleasant. Staff is very smilly, the SPA was a great experience, Tyler at the restaurant took a very good care of us. I would like to thanks Kimber the Front Desk Manager that send us some very nice aminities that we enjoyed facing the Sunset. I would definitly recommand this place for a very nice get away from the City and for people that are looking to relax. Make sure you enjoy the sunset from the Bar around the fireplace, it is great !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanieleriche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear stephanieleriche,

We are so pleased to hear that your stay with us was perfect! We will be sure to share your kind comments with Ariel, Tyler and Kimber. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here for 6 days & had a great time. Beautiful room (We were upgraded to pool view due to our SPG Gold status & were also granted a late checkout)!
My only complaint is with the concierge. She told me that I had to call for my own spa & salon appointments. I also asked her for restraunt reservations once which got completely messed up.
However, we would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neuromri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear neuromri,

Thank you for being a loyal SPG member and for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us! We are disappointed to learn that your experience with our Concierge did not meet your expectations. Your comments will be addressed with the Concierge team accordingly. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
5.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 996 reviews
5.4 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.3 mi away
Montage Laguna Beach
Montage Laguna Beach
#1 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Beach Resort

Property: Monarch Beach Resort
Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort, Dana Point, CA 92629-4085 (Formerly St. Regis, Monarch Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA Five-Diamond sanctuary is sublimely located near Southern California's renowned destinations, including Catalina Island and Dana Point Harbor. Nestled hillside overlooking a private beach, discover an array of adventuresome experiences at our coveted Orange County resort. From thrilling water sports, to championship golf links, to acclaimed Miraval Life in Balance Spa, encounter lasting memories at our pristine coastal locale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Monarch Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing