We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monarch Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Heaven on the Beach”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stayed at the St. Regis while attending a best friend's recent wedding in southern California. This hotel is absolutely breathtaking. The staff is extremely attentive taking care of our every request. Our room, a suite, was spacious and had an amazing view of the grounds and the ocean. A short ride in the hotel shuttle will get you through the golf course and on to the isolated beach. It's centrally located between Dana Point and Laguna Beach. If you are in the area, it's a must visit and must stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Natalia A,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and congratulations to your best friend! We hope to welcome you back again next time you are in Southern California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,361
    392
    179
    110
    85
See reviews for
569
674
50
495
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
215 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I stayed at the St. Regis Hotel, Monarch Beach while attending a conference for work. I've attended this conference 5 times--each time the vendor chooses an amazing venue. This was, by far, the best venue yet. To say that the property is "sprawling" is an understatement. The views are gorgeous, the common areas are amazing, and the service is first-class all the way. There is a free tram that takes you to the beach--it runs every 15 minutes for most of the day--and the beach is about a mile away. If you like to golf, the golf course looked absolutely perfect. The turndown service in the evening was nothing short of spectacular--every detail was attended to. The bed was super comfortable, they had both bath towels and bath sheets in the bathroom, and this was the quietest hotel room I've ever stayed in.

I only have two minor negative things to say about this beautiful resort. One, skip the restaurant on the beach that's owned by St. Regis. It's typical "country club" food--limited menu, drastically overpriced, and average quality at best. I'm sure there are much better places to eat in Dana Point. Two, my key card stopped working and I had to have the front desk re-key it three times before they finally sent someone to my room to look at the lock. I know not to keep a key card by my cell phone, but that was the first thing all three employees asked me. It was very frustrating.

I would definitely recommend this resort. Posh!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear RCSTL,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your conference at our resort. We appreciate all of your kind words regarding our facilities and will share your feedback regarding the Monarch Bay Club and room key issues with our Executive Team. We hope to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a must visit! The hotel is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are spacious, everything is immaculate, the grounds are awesome and the staff is overly friendly and ready to assist with anything you need!! A must visit if you are ever in the area!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vadeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Vadeene,

Thank you for much for your kind review of our resort! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to The Best Address!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This has to be one of my favorite hotels thus far! The rooms are spacious, clean, and amazing! The staff goes above and beyond! Everyone was soooo nice the whole stay! The fitness room and spa was OUT OF THIS WORLD! Every day I went to the fitness room and they allow you to use all the spa facilities for free everyday! So, I would get a locker and stay at the spa all day (pool, steam room, sauna, showers). The property is beautiful! The only downside is the hike to the beach (they provide little carts to take you) and how far away it is from some major attractions, but being that I prefer to stay at the resorts all the time anyway…well, it was PERFECT for us!!!! Would soooo GO BACK!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klpp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear klpp17,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our resort. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed many of the amenities which we offer, especially Spa Gaucin. We hope to welcome you back again to The Best Address the next time you visit California!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The property is expansive and impressively appointed. From the property there are several lovely paths to the beach. Once at the beach we had the true Southern California experience as we were able to watch the surfers throughout the day. Surfing lessons are available through the hotel for those interested. The staff were always ready to assist and the concierge took care of any request. The main pool area was nice. When entering the pool guests are greeted by staff who asked if any assistance was needed. There was a sunscreen dispenser and a water cooler available for guests to use. The St. Regis is a great destination for families as it is relatively close to Legoland , Disneyland, Los Angeles and San Diego. The only negative is that the hotel layout is slightly unusual with very long hallways and a 5th floor lobby, with all of the guest rooms below.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Springblessing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Springblessing,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort! We appreciate your kind words and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We loved our second visit to the St Regis. The weather was very warm so we spent time at the beach and pool where we experienced top notch service from start to to finish. Our room was 577 which included a butler and beautiful view. The beds were very comfortable and I loved the large bath and shower. This place is expensive and we expected that. However I did think the daily charge for internet was high and 18 dollars for 2 ten oz sodas was a bit high too, but we were on vacation so it is what it is. Take time to get down to tge beach. It was truly spectacular. Spa, gym and restaurants all wonderful as well. The air is automatically turned off on a sensor so everyone we spoke to was sweating all night. This needs to be fixed.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ccpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Ccpayne,

Thank you for visiting us again and for taking the time to post such a kind review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed many of our amenities, especially the beach, and will be sure to share your comments regarding the A/C sensors with our Engineering team. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We had a really nice stay in an Executive Suite! The room was gorgeous! The butler was great but we felt strange using the services. The bathroom amenities were ok, not great. For the cost of the room, I expected a brand name like Aveda, or similar, but they were a just an average hotel room brand and not great. I loved the fresh flowers in the room and the private patio area! The bed was pretty comfortable, maybe too soft, with decent linens. The one major thing that should change is that that the property is used for lots of big corporate events (which is no problem) but the staff that does the set up does all the moving and transport of the tables etc right through the hotel and it definitely disrupts the setting and the calm feeling of the property. The other huge plus is that there is a Fonté coffee shop that makes fabulous drinks! Don't skip it! bring lots of small bills with you and expect to do a lot of tipping for the marvelous staff!

Room Tip: Request a room closer to the front lobby.. It's a very long walk to your room in some locations...
See more room tips
Green Features: Didn't see any environmentally friendly options... Didn't see any recycle bins for the freely given water bottles. Kind of disappointing.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pietogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear pietogo,

Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel overall. We will be sure to share your comments regarding the setup and removal of event functions with our Banquet team to ensure this does not continue to disrupt our guests' experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
2.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,208 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Beach Resort

Property: Monarch Beach Resort
Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort, Dana Point, CA 92629-4085 (Formerly St. Regis, Monarch Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA Five-Diamond sanctuary is sublimely located near Southern California's renowned destinations, including Catalina Island and Dana Point Harbor. Nestled hillside overlooking a private beach, discover an array of adventuresome experiences at our coveted Orange County resort. From thrilling water sports, to championship golf links, to acclaimed Miraval Life in Balance Spa, encounter lasting memories at our pristine coastal locale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monarch Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing