We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monarch Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The overall experience at the St. Regis Monarch Beach was excellent. We had butler service (unexpected) which provided morning coffee, pressed clothing items, etc. Each and every staff member was friendly, polite and asked if there was anything else I needed. Grounds, hotel and room were beautiful. The reason for 4 and not 5 stars: little things. Although our room was ready hours ahead of time and we were allowed early check in (+++) there was broken glass in the bathroom. A lot of it. Don't know how staff could miss it. Also, our mini bar had to be completely restocked. Not a problem except that the restocking items were left on the floor for several hours. I didn't know what it was for. Room service was good, sometimes took a while (but we were advised of time) but the last morning no salt and pepper. Turn down service was very good but they always came while we were getting dressed for the evening (5:00) and forgot to come back a couple of times.

Granted, when we arrived the hotel had to "re-tool" the entire property. There was a huge group that booked the entire hotel for the previous two weeks and the hotel accommodated their Kosher requirements for Passover. (the reason for mini-bar restocking).
Our overall stay was awesome and I would love the opportunity to go back. Again, it really is a five star resort but there were just a few little things that took away that last star.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeAnn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,416)
There are newer reviews for Monarch Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,388 - 1,394 of 2,416 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

Just returned from a 10-night stay as part of a large group that had booked the whole hotel for a holiday retreat. We felt treated as pure royalty from the moment we arrived until our the moment we departed; every staff member starting from valet to reception to concierge to housekeeping to restaurant and banquet hall staff to the bartenders to pool crew to butler service and everyone I may be forgetting (sorry!), exuded the utmost courtesy, warmth, professionalism, enthusiasm, friendliness, eagerness to help & alacrity. And if a request was not able to be fulfilled they expressed sincere regret with profuse apologies. Every thank you was replied to with a cheerful countenance and the two most fantastic words 'of course!'. A 'you're welcome' would have met our expectations, but it is the attitude exemplified by the 'of course!' response that exceeded our expectations.
The property is maintained immaculately, the views are gorgeous, and the condition and decor of the rooms and bathrooms are absolutely beautiful.
The main pool is stunning - but would have enjoyed it more had the selection of music played not been so drab and sleepy and barely audible.
Overall my family and I had a wonderful vacation at the St Regis and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Stephane A,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. We will be sure to share your regards with our staff and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

My husband and I went there last week for a conference. Our room was okay, not spectacular but ok. The balcony was nice. I have NEVER been to a hotel that did not have a coffee pot. The first evening there we were exhausted and ordered room service but the menu apparently had changed significantly and there was not anything we could order from the menu. The grounds were lush and tacky at the same time. I also had an incident where I tripped and fell. They did not mark a place where the curb was raised an inch or two. My hands started to swell, my knees started to bleed. I went with some friends to the bar immediately to get ice water. We were pretty shaken up but I also have never been charged 70 dollars for a single shot of tequila (the waitress should have warned my friend who ordered it) ... The hotel security guard was called who started a case file but said I was not privy to the information I had given him. Kind of creepy. The food in the restaurant went from good to mediocre to completely bland. The service from forgetful to regretful. Really disappointed.

Room Tip: I have none. I can only say the balconies were nice. It was odd having the lobby on the fifth floor...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenandScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear KarenandScott,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. A member from our team will be contacting you directly to discuss further. Should you have any questions in the meantime, please contact our Executive Offices directly at (949) 234-3301.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton a few years ago, which I surprisingly prefer. St. Regis is definitely a caliber above the Ritz, however, the rooms at St. Regis were just as noisy as the Ritz. The last few days of our trip were chaotic and loud, as a large group from the East Coast booked the majority of the hotel. Children were running around at full speed along the long interior hallways, calling out loudly which made sleeping in an issue. There were also kids playing in the gym. I'm not adverse to kids, as I'm a parent myself, but it bordered on being a large daycare, where parents merely left their room doors ajar and let the kids come and go as they please from the pool.

The St. Regis website did note that the hotel was booked fully, but there was no way of knowing that the coffee shop would be closed to the general public because of private events. I appreciated the variety of the menu at the Ritz, but this was not the case at St. Regis. You either get coffee at $4+ or breakfast pastries or juice. That is it. No light sandwiches or salads. Still, if you needed your morning cuppa and the coffee shop was closed, you are forced to look elsewhere.

Breakfast at St. Regis is adequate, but pricey as you can imagine. A kids meal of eggs and bacon or one sausage link, plus a grilled tomato and potatoes is $10, while the adult version is similar plus an extra sausage link for $17. Quite a mark up. The view is incredible though.

Lunch at the pool was pricey but took at least an hour once ordered. I saw many families come and go while we waited patiently for our $40 lunch to appear. I wish that I had read a previous review regarding the lengthy delay.

Dinner is a more elevated quality, at a much higher price point. While I had the best radish and arugala salad and filet mignon of my life, I paid through the through the nose. A kids pasta was $22.

Prepare to drive anywhere, other than the beach or golf, if you intend to eat off property, whereas at the Ritz you can walk to alternatives for food.

A friend was told that self-park was full and valet was the only option. We found that not to be true later. Also, self-park is easy to miss, especially if you are arriving after the sun sets. Turn left instead of right to self-park.

On a more positive note, the gym thoughtfully was appointed with complimentary water bottles, infused waters, tea, dried apricots, and almonds. The view was not as impressive as the Ritz gym, but the St. Regis gym is more spacious.

The rooms, while not so sound proof, are comfortable. Two bathrobes and wonderful bath products, including a complimentary loofah and bath salts, are for the taking. It is a spacious bathroom with speakers so you could hear the tv while you bathe. The only thing to improve the room (other than sound proofing) would be more electrical outlets on the desk. We find many hotels have not upgraded in this regard.

In conclusion, the St. Regis is luxe, but prepare to spend $ on meals and valets, as well as time waiting for poolside service. If the hotel is largely blocked off due to a group, you will have to alter your expectations. While this is true anywhere, it makes the experience less enjoyable and more like a theme park than you'd expect.

Room Tip: The North wing is closer to the gym and if you are savvy, you can leave the gym through a back door...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear LLori,

Thank you for your recent stay and review of the resort. We sincerely apologize that our resort did not meet your expectations - all of your comments will be shared with our management team to ensure this experience isn't repeated. If you feel there is something we can do to rectify the situation, please reach out to our Executive offices directly at (949) 234-3301. We hope you will consider visiting us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed at the St. Regis as part of a corporate function this month. The St. Regis staff treated us royally. This was just a fantastic venue for a corporate team-building sort of event. From the moment we arrived there was a great personal attention and the staff went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed.

My impression was that the hotel was right on the water but this is not actually the case. It's actually set back a half-mile or so but you can see the ocean from the west side of the hotel and it's a relatively short walk to the beach. I highly recommend renting a bike and riding along the beach front. But if you are not a beach person the grounds immediately around the hotel make for great day and evening walks.

All meals at the hotel were excellent. Also the late evening receptions on the veranda were great times to relax and talk.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew_TX88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Andrew_TX88,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We are so glad that you could enjoy all the hotel amenities during your business trip. Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We spent our honeymoon at the St Regis Monarch Beach and it was a great place to spend a special day and night.
Unfortunately it was raining all 3 days we were there so we couldn't use any of the outside facilities and the pool).
The setting is beautiful and even in the rain is was nice to go for a walk.
We got upgraded to a suite and it was such a treat! It was so relaxing.
The first evening we had dinner at the restaurant and it was an experience like no other. Yes, it had a hefty price tag (about $300 per person) but it was worth every penny. Instead of the wine pairing we opted for the alternate pairing with a different cocktail or other spirits with each course.
I don't know of many places that could have created such a dining experience.
The staff throughout the hotel was exceptional.

Room Tip: We made our reservation through SPG Platinum Concierge. We told them that this was our honeymoon and...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Andrew_TX88,

We are honored that you chose to spend your honeymoon with us, and are happy to know that it was time well spent! We hope to have you welcome you back again when it is sunny. Congratulations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Our new favorite! If you want to be treated like a king by the most genuine and gracious people, this is your hotel! The level of service is truly amazing. Our butlers bill and che were a delight, we especially loved the morning coffee service.

We recommend the sunset champaign sabering off the lobby bar. The tasting menu at the stonehill tavern was incredible! Don't miss the "fantasy island" looking tram to the beach.

Honestly this is truly a wonderful resort in a beautiful setting with some of the best service you will ever experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rymn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear rymn,

Thank you for such a wonderful review! Your compliments will be passed along to our Management team and staff. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Address soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
10.3 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,549 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
784 reviews
4.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
443 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Beach Resort

Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort, Dana Point, CA 92629-4085 (Formerly St. Regis, Monarch Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: $382 - $838 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA Five-Diamond resort overlooks the Pacific and offers private beach club access, with watersports, oceanfront golf, award-winning Miraval Life in Balance Spa, swimming pools, upscale dining, activities programs and more. Located in Dana Point, the resort offers easy access to a variety of Southern California attractions including Catalina Island, Dana Point Harbor, Laguna art galleries and events, Disneyland and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monarch Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing