We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a couple's or girls' trip, not for families with older kids” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monarch Beach Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Monarch Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good for a couple's or girls' trip, not for families with older kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We recently spent three nights at this hotel with our 2 teenagers. I agree with other reviewers that it is a lovely property. I think it is well-suited to luxury business travelers or for a girlfriends' getaway.

We have stayed with our kids at other luxury, ocean properties, and there was just simply more for us to do at the other properties. Place like the Ritz and the Four Seasons are friendlier. This St. Regis just felt cold and impersonal. Staffers were polite, but there was just some sort of chip missing.

The public beach is a solid 10 minute walk from the hotel. You can also use the hotel tram to go to a beach club. We wanted to try surfing and paddle boarding lessons, which were promised on the website. It ended up being an ordeal to try to arrange them. I think we would have been happier staying at the ocean-front Ritz just down the road.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kctravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear kctravelmom,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Our staff always strives to provide friendly, hospitable, Five-Star service and so we apologize that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. Should you choose to return to the St. Regis Monarch Beach, we urge you to call ahead and arrange for activities with concierge so that your stay is seamless upon arrival and that you are able to enjoy every moment of your stay with us. If you feel there is anything further we can do, please reach out to our Executive Office at 949.234.3301.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,259
    378
    175
    109
    85
See reviews for
541
642
47
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoffman Estates, IL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

My only regret is not having stayed longer. The property is spectacular with views to die for. Service is top notch and the in-suite butler service made us feel so special. Not sure how anyone could have a complaint here, we found everything to be 5 star.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pattyatips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear pattyatips,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with others online. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the butler service. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Came here with my girlfriend twice for short 2 day getaways. Had an amazing experience both times! All the staff was super nice and professional. The property was magnificent, but it did not feel pompous. Very relaxing and pleasant environment. Would highly recommend this property to anyone visiting Southern Orange County :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Y N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Y N,
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are pleased to hear that you and your girlfriend enjoyed both stays with us. We hope to welcome you both back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach,CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed in a deluxe oceanview suite one night last week for our anniversary. The property is extremely beautiful and I was happy to be there. GREAT THINGS: the size of our suite, the sunken tub, the fresh flowers, the chocolates, the surround sound in the bathroom (connected to the TV), the decor and the beauty of the room, the tram ride down to the private beach for dinner, the view of the ocean and sunset from our table and our waiter Sam.

NEEDS IMPROVEMENT: While all of the staff was NICE, the service was spotty. The Bellman was awesome, but the Butler for our suite never appeared even though we were told by the Bellman that he was on his way to introduce himself. While I was at the Spa, my husband sat by the pool and it took him an hour and a half to receive a Coke. It took multiple attempts. At breakfast the next morning at Motif, we felt rushed by the waiter, which is funny because my husband and I are quick eaters AND the restaurant had empty tables. We both ordered the French Toast, which had NO FLAVOR. The sauces were great, but how about some vanilla, cinnamon or sugar IN the bread or the batter? It was like cardboard. For an $80 breakfast at a 5-Star hotel, you expect deliciousness.

All in all, we had a great time (because the property is so beautiful), but would probably stay at The Montage next time (we've been there before). It really boils down to the attention to detail from the staff. While they were nice, we should've received outstanding service and it was just average.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love2vaca4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear love2vaca4ever,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. While we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and amenities, we apologize that your entire stay did not exceed your expectations. We will be sure to share your feedback with our team to ensure that this type of experience is not repeated. We hope to be able to welcome you and your husband back to The Best Address again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed here for a business conference. Excellent rooms. Nice pool. Parking is valet. Ocean views but not on the beach. Probably best suited for business conferences as there are huge ballrooms to host business activities.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear John E,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others online. We appreciate your comments regarding our hotel and our conference facilities. We hope to welcome you back again soon, whether it be for business again or leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful place. Some of the staff seemed not well trained (all were nice). Food at main restaurant and lobby bar were not great. Beach club was a great option. Beautiful setting overall. It felt like a pretend Ritz.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommiesn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear mommiesn,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and will be sure to share them with our team. We strive to offer both Five-Star service and amenities and will take your feedback into consideration when making improvements. If you have any other feedback you'd like to share, please do not hesitate to reach out to our Executive Offices directly at 949.234.3301.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights for a wedding. This was our second time staying here (1st was 10 years ago) as we don't often stay places this close to home. It's a lovely resort, BIG, and everything looked beautiful but it just seemed like something was missing. The staff were very nice but few and far between. The service was just not polished.

Our room was nice enough and the bed was VERY comfy. I had a difficult time maintaining a set temperature in the bathroom sink - it kept going cold to hot and back while I was washing my face. Not ideal. They had CD players in the rooms, rather than iPod docks?? Huh? Sorry but I didn't bring my CD collection - just my iPhone, so couldn't really listen to music while getting ready. And our biggest complaint - no coffee makers in the rooms??? And no complimentary coffee in the lobby in the morning? We can't function without coffee first thing so this was a big bummer. I guess we're used to Four Seasons which usually have Nespresso machines in the rooms or a complimentary coffee station in the lobby.

All in all, it was a nice trip (lovely wedding!!) but I don't think I'd stay here again on my own choosing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kperk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear kperk13,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the wedding and your room, however we regret that your entire experience didn't exceed your expectations. We will be sure to share your feedback regarding the iPod docking stations and coffee makers with our Executive Team. If there is anything else that you feel could have been improved upon, we urge you to reach out to our Executive Offices directly at 949.234.3301.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
2.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Beach Resort

Property: Monarch Beach Resort
Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort, Dana Point, CA 92629-4085 (Formerly St. Regis, Monarch Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA Five-Diamond sanctuary is sublimely located near Southern California's renowned destinations, including Catalina Island and Dana Point Harbor. Nestled hillside overlooking a private beach, discover an array of adventuresome experiences at our coveted Orange County resort. From thrilling water sports, to championship golf links, to acclaimed Miraval Life in Balance Spa, encounter lasting memories at our pristine coastal locale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Monarch Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing