We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monarch Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monarch Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in a great location. The facilities are top notch and the service staff is professional and friendly. However, I think they may be a little under-manned (even though the front desk told me the hotel is fully booked). There were long lines at reception and the wait staff at the restaurant serviced too many tables. For a hotel of this price point, they should probably ensure they always have more than enough staff to service their guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear A K
Thank you for the kind review and your recent stay. We will share your comments with regard to the long reception lines with our guest services team. We will see what we can do to alleviate any long reception lines in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,104
    349
    169
    104
    81
See reviews for
486
581
42
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We came to the St. Regis Monarch Beach hotel for a get away weekend near home. I feel like I had been away on a trip somewhere far away. It was fun just to spend time relaxing, in the spa, walking down to the beach, etc The room we were in was spacious with a view of the grounds. It has a nice bathroom in marble: separate tub and shower, two sink vanity, and toiletries supplied. We laughed at the butlers who came in to greet us upon arrival as they informed us that they would provide two (as I recall) shoe shines and pressings for free as well as bring us coffee to our room for breakfast. We had nothing to press or shine! However if one were attending a wedding this would be very good.

The hotel is large and has an air of openness. The grounds are beautiful. We don't play golf but the course looked well tended and certainly is in a nice setting.The hotel itself is not on the beach but across the PCH. There is a free shuttle to the beach where they have a restaurant (very nice, good food and nice fireplace outside). The shuttle worked well for us except when a very big wedding started bringing in organizers. Then the hotel was a bit overwhelmed it seemed to us such that the shuttle took a long time to pick us up.

There was a convention and lots of activity. They have several convention rooms and are set up for weddings and big events. There are two heated pools that one can see from the hotel and nice grounds where there is a paved walk down to the beach that is scenic (about 10-15 minutes).

The fine dining restaurant is very good. I had duck and must say it was rich but very good. We tried their Coco Bean soup. It was great and had nothing to do with coconut but only the name of a bean. The music was trendy which I don't like - that annoying background noise of thumping and ticking sounds. However it was not loud.

In the spa,I had a great massage by Lisa. She put me in that state of relaxed levity which is so wonderful and healing. I recommend the salt scrub as well. The spa is not so large but it has a spa with a waterfall, steam and two saunas, showers, toiletries for the dressing area, etc. The one thing that was vexing to me was that they have the electric outlet under the dresser and hair dryers did not turn on, probably because you have to find some reset button on the outlet... I never figured it out.

In all we had a fun, relaxing stay of just 2 nights.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor facing the south most likely and there was no noise. I would check on activ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Suzanochka -
Thank you for your detailed review and recent stay, we made an obvious impression. Your comments about the music in Motif will be shared with management, and your kind words to Lisa at Spa Gaucin will be shared. We hope you come back for another getaway soon.

Warm regards from sunny southern California!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The St. Regis can be spotty (see my review of the Deer Valley St. Regis), but this St. Regis is on the mark! 1. Courteous and quick valet service; 2. Efficient and helpful front desk staff at check-in; 3. Spotless room with plush amenities galore; 4. Updated marble bathrooms with deep tubs and any toiletries needed. Our room had a gorgeous view of the pool and ocean without being too close to any noise. We came for our 4th grader's mission project, San Juan Capistrano, and were treated like royalty. This is the place to stay in Dana Point, and we'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning12385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices St. Regis MB at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Discerning12385-
Thank you for the kind comments with regard to your recent stay with us. Your positive comments will be shared with our staff. We hope your mission research was successful! Come back and visit us again soon.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just the breathtaking views of the ocean and blue sky will immediately transport you paradise but then the gorgeous property captivates your senses. I just needed to decompress from traveling 300 days since March of last year. The spa was incredible and oh so welcoming..well worth the expense. Everyone that works at this property was so kind and helpful. The food and beverage were 5 star. By far, the finest and most beautiful property that I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: My room opened up to the courtyard. Charming and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Kellie C:
Thank you for your kind response, and thank you for choosing The St. Regis Monarch Beach for your quiet repose. Come back and visit us anytime.
Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was here for a 4 night stay - all in all in was a pretty good stay. Things that stood out: 1. Great butler service, responsive, prompt, and professional, 2. Car valet: good crew, zippy and again professional, 3. Pool: great poolside service, wonderful that the kids pool is in a separate area, 4. Beach: Not easily accessible by foot but a wonderful stretch with an attached restaurant. Things that surprisingly did not meet the mark: 1. Shuttle to and from beach club: impossible (45 min) wait on more than one occasion, repeated calls to front desk to no avail, perplexing as the trip takes 5 minutes, no explanations from surly, delinquent-appearing driver, 2. uneven service from front desk: over-the-top effusiveness when you are dressed to the nines, snooty when you are not, 3. terrible accounts dept: I had an erroneous charge that was taken off at checkout but promptly put on my credit card as a separate item after I had left (huh?). Finally sorted out after multiple phone calls with accounts receivable staff whose phone etiquette probably needs detailed tweaking. All in all: a relaxing stay and wonderful property - I just wished that the service was warmer (I don't mean fawning and fake) and more sincere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hopskipjumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Hopskipjumper-
Thank you for the kind words with regard to our prompt butler service and friendly valet staff. We regret your experience with our guest services staff and front desk attendants was less than desirable.

It is our intention to make each of our guests feel warmly welcomed and to quickly attend to all of their needs. Please be assured your comments will be shared with associates and department managers to ensure this type of experience does not occur again. We hope you will visit us again soon so we may have the opportunity to 'WOW' you within all areas of our resort.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We travel all the time and all over the world so we don't easily get impressed. The decor, service and views were spectacular. Don't forget to visit the seaside restaurant which a very reliable tram will take you to, running every 15 minutes. Only downside is that even when it is very cool all the doors remain open. Bring a jacket
Sam M

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Sam M.
Thank you for the great review of the property and your recent stay with us, and thank you for the feedback with regard to open doors. Although it’s always a good idea to bring a light jacket since we are near the ocean and it can be chilly at night, in an effort to be more energy efficient we try to keep the doors closed as much as possible. We will share your comments with our teams - and keep on top of this initiative for the comfort of our guests and to be more energy efficient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We love coming to this hotel – it’s where my wife and I got engaged. Great location and well maintained grounds. We really enjoy hanging out by the pool or taking a golf cart ride down to the beach. We've also had some great meals and the staff is always super attentive and friendly. Great place for a weekend away from Los Angeles.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Stephan W
Thank you for the kind words, we welcome you and your fiancé/wife back to the resort anytime you need a getaway from the city!

Warm Regards and Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
5.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Beach Resort

Property: Monarch Beach Resort
Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort, Dana Point, CA 92629-4085 (Formerly St. Regis, Monarch Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA Five-Diamond sanctuary is sublimely located near Southern California's renowned destinations, including Catalina Island and Dana Point Harbor. Nestled hillside overlooking a private beach, discover an array of adventuresome experiences at our coveted Orange County resort. From thrilling water sports, to championship golf links, to acclaimed Miraval Life in Balance Spa, encounter lasting memories at our pristine coastal locale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Monarch Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing