We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Sparkles in some places, surprisingly lacking in others” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monarch Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monarch Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sparkles in some places, surprisingly lacking in others”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was here for a 4 night stay - all in all in was a pretty good stay. Things that stood out: 1. Great butler service, responsive, prompt, and professional, 2. Car valet: good crew, zippy and again professional, 3. Pool: great poolside service, wonderful that the kids pool is in a separate area, 4. Beach: Not easily accessible by foot but a wonderful stretch with an attached restaurant. Things that surprisingly did not meet the mark: 1. Shuttle to and from beach club: impossible (45 min) wait on more than one occasion, repeated calls to front desk to no avail, perplexing as the trip takes 5 minutes, no explanations from surly, delinquent-appearing driver, 2. uneven service from front desk: over-the-top effusiveness when you are dressed to the nines, snooty when you are not, 3. terrible accounts dept: I had an erroneous charge that was taken off at checkout but promptly put on my credit card as a separate item after I had left (huh?). Finally sorted out after multiple phone calls with accounts receivable staff whose phone etiquette probably needs detailed tweaking. All in all: a relaxing stay and wonderful property - I just wished that the service was warmer (I don't mean fawning and fake) and more sincere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hopskipjumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Hopskipjumper-
Thank you for the kind words with regard to our prompt butler service and friendly valet staff. We regret your experience with our guest services staff and front desk attendants was less than desirable.

It is our intention to make each of our guests feel warmly welcomed and to quickly attend to all of their needs. Please be assured your comments will be shared with associates and department managers to ensure this type of experience does not occur again. We hope you will visit us again soon so we may have the opportunity to 'WOW' you within all areas of our resort.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,186
    362
    171
    108
    83
See reviews for
511
618
45
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We travel all the time and all over the world so we don't easily get impressed. The decor, service and views were spectacular. Don't forget to visit the seaside restaurant which a very reliable tram will take you to, running every 15 minutes. Only downside is that even when it is very cool all the doors remain open. Bring a jacket
Sam M

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Sam M.
Thank you for the great review of the property and your recent stay with us, and thank you for the feedback with regard to open doors. Although it’s always a good idea to bring a light jacket since we are near the ocean and it can be chilly at night, in an effort to be more energy efficient we try to keep the doors closed as much as possible. We will share your comments with our teams - and keep on top of this initiative for the comfort of our guests and to be more energy efficient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We love coming to this hotel – it’s where my wife and I got engaged. Great location and well maintained grounds. We really enjoy hanging out by the pool or taking a golf cart ride down to the beach. We've also had some great meals and the staff is always super attentive and friendly. Great place for a weekend away from Los Angeles.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Stephan W
Thank you for the kind words, we welcome you and your fiancé/wife back to the resort anytime you need a getaway from the city!

Warm Regards and Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Had a three day weekend and every part, from check in to check out was five star. This is what service is about. Great employees, wonderful food, great room and great stay. Maid service, restaurant service, front desk service, bell service....just want to thank everyone involved. Stonehill Tavern food was same as Michael Mina's other restaurants in SF and Las Vegas, but our server, Melissa, made it better than both of those. Food in Motif is just as good (highly recommend dinner here...portions twice the size of Mina (almost too big ) but absolutely great!
Again, thanks to all the employees who made our weekend stay wonderful.

Room Tip: Had a fifth floor room overlooking pool; highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Donald H-
Thank you for the rave review, we are excited we exceed your expectations and look forward to a future visit! We will share your comments with Melissa and the managment team at Stonehill Tavern as well.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a beautiful property, and the room that we had (gardenview ) was very clean and comfortable, the beds were very luxurious, and we enjoyed the room and the service very much. My only complaint was that there is no in-room coffee, and no way to request it without ordering a pot of coffee from room service for $9.00. For $25.00 a day resort fee, this option should have been available, even if ionly upon request, likwe som eother high end hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoffmansrcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear hoffmansrcj
Thank you for the great review, we are pleased to know you enjoyed your accommodations and the service. With regard to the in-room coffee pot, it is a St. Regis brand standard that we not offer coffee pots in the room. An alternative to this would be to visit Crust our coffee shop, which opens daily at 6am, to order coffee through in room dining or request a coffee maker from housekeeping for a nominal onetime fee. Please note complimentary coffee and tea service is offered in all of our 75 upgraded suites.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
93 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I've been to a few hotels in the Dana Point area and this one ranks among the best! Rooms are excellently fitted, with large bathrooms, ample sitting area in the room and a magnificent view of the property, golf course and the Pacific.
The service is extremely friendly and helpful. Both the outdoor and indoor pools are nicely heated and the spa is open for reasonable hours up until 8 PM.
All in all, I was here on business with a packed schedule and this was a great retreat and place to unwind.

Room Tip: If you plan on checking in early, chances are they won't be able to accommodate and if you there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yacovk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Classic St. Regis...beautiful pool and golf cart transport access to beach and beachfront restaurant. The service is good, not outstanding. The rooms are elegant and the oceanview rooms are worth the premium. Nice proximity to Pacific Coast Hwy and the shopping areas of Laguna Beach.

Room Tip: Choose an oceanview or oceanfront room. Views are of the pool and ocean is in the distance. The op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gierus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and review of the resort, and we agree if you want the best view upgrade to an Ocean View! We look forward to your return. Warm Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
10.4 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,875 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Beach Resort

Property: Monarch Beach Resort
Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629 (Formerly St. Regis, Monarch Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA Five-Diamond sanctuary is sublimely located near Southern California's renowned destinations, including Catalina Island and Dana Point Harbor. Nestled hillside overlooking a private beach, discover an array of adventuresome experiences at our coveted Orange County resort. From thrilling water sports, to championship golf links, to acclaimed Miraval Life in Balance Spa, encounter lasting memories at our pristine coastal locale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Monarch Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing