We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$289
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$150
DanaPointMarina
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$211
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$355
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capistrano Surfside Inn(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$213
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$773
$549
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $780/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,903)
Filter reviews
2,903 results
Traveler rating
1,968
495
213
129
98
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,968
495
213
129
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursebeach clubst regisstonehill tavernbutler servicebeautiful propertyturn down servicelobby barmain poolthe ritzkids poolpool stafffour seasonshigh endpool viewfive star hotelbottle of champagne
Filter
Updating list...
2,122 - 2,127 of 2,903 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We love a good value and a casual setting with a great view. You need to make reservations 24 hours ahead and then the hotel will arrange your time with the in house restaurant/carry out "Crust". Our table was dressed up with a table cloth and nice table settings alongside of a window view of the expansive property, the golf course and of course, the ocean. We enjoyed fresh fruit with whipped cream, champagne (very good too), choice of loose leaf teas, finger sandwiches and a 3-tiered dessert tray. It is $38 pp before tax & gratuity and well worth it. Service was excellent and they went so far as to re-make some sandwiches to omit the salmon that I don't eat. Only ding was although the desserts were attractive and appropriate, they could have have a better taste. Scones were very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Anonymous855-

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We hope you will return soon for another delicious tea time.

Thank you,

The Executive Team
St. Regis Monarch Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This beautiful and comfortable hotel, gorgeously set on a hill overlooking the ocean, mostly meets and exceeds expectations. Rooms are large, comfortable, and intelligently laid out, with especially spacious and beautiful bathrooms. The public spaces are notably beautiful, as well. We stayed here during a three-day business meeting, and although we didn't try any of the restaurants, the food at all of the meeting functions was unusually good, from a trio of delicious risotto dishes to the morning croissants (among the few decent ones I've had outside of France). The swimming pools and fitness facilities are fantastic. Nonetheless, I wouldn't call the stay quite perfect. There was a notable snafu at check-in; if you happen to arrive before your spouse, who has a different last name, prepare to submit to a small inquisition before the smilingly unhelpful front desk staff permits you to go to your room. We called ahead to make sure both names were on our reservation, but mine had vanished by the time I arrived, and the hotel insisted to my face that I didn't exist (however, I was free to check my luggage until my spouse arrived the next day!). Mandatory valet parking is $35 per night even though you're in the middle of nowhere. And we had to call the "butler" to get a second robe. All of that aside, however, this is an excellent and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lit-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Lit-Traveler-

Thank you for your recent review of The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We are happy that you and your spouse enjoyed your overall stay at the Resort. We apologize for the issues you experienced with check in. We hope that you will return to the Resort soon.

Thank you,

The Executive Team
St. Regis Monarch Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

From the minute you arrive on property, you feel the warmth of the staff. Everyone I came in contact with, remembered my name. When I walked around the hotel the next morning, I was greeted multiple times "Good Morning Mr. Weeks."
The rooms are immaculate, and they were nice enough to upgrade me to a corner suite, without me even having to ask. (And I am a base level SPG member.)
There are very few 5 star hotels in the world. The St. Regis Monarch Beach provides the service, the amenities, the grounds, and the staff that deliver a 5 Star property.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Matt W-

Thank you for your review of The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the staff at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We hope you will return to the Resort for the wonderful service and amenities.

Thank you,

The Executive Team
St. Regis Monarch Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Living life from the moment we arrived, until The moment we left! The setting, the service, the swaying of palm trees.....this resort has it all and being in such a beautiful part of Southern California simply added to a perfect weekend....took the tram down to the beach restaurant...now that's a must do...lunch outside watching the waves, the surfers, the whales (well, one whale..way out there). The servers were just delightful....the staff friendly and helpful...breaks from the business meetings were delightfully located in the midst of the beauty. Receptions were held and the food was out of this world...there was a wedding being held while we were there...imagine dreams came true for the newly weds..

Room Tip: 4th,5th or 6th floor for great views facing pool and ocean
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Gail H-

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay from the moment you arrived at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We hope that you will be able to return to the Resort soon.

Thank you,

The Executive Team
St. Regis Monarch Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Service was terrific! Everywhere you look, staff are smiling, cordial and very attentive. Our room was a deluxe king w/ corner location...w/ ocean, golf course & pool views (very nice). I was in meetings, but my family enjoyed the pool and walking trails. The golf course was quite challenging...lots of undulation, beautiful vistas and fast greens. We did have meeting facilities which were very nice & more than adequate for our needs. A couple of evening receptions were great. Good was all good and staff, once again, handled it beautifully. All in all, a very nice business and family friendly property.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Bill A-

We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We hope that you will return in the future to enjoy Monarch Beach Golf Links and the resort pool.

Thank you,

The Executive Team
St. Regis Monarch Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews