We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea at the hotel was delightful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Monarch Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level 6 Contributor
777 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea at the hotel was delightful!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We love a good value and a casual setting with a great view. You need to make reservations 24 hours ahead and then the hotel will arrange your time with the in house restaurant/carry out "Crust". Our table was dressed up with a table cloth and nice table settings alongside of a window view of the expansive property, the golf course and of course, the ocean. We enjoyed fresh fruit with whipped cream, champagne (very good too), choice of loose leaf teas, finger sandwiches and a 3-tiered dessert tray. It is $38 pp before tax & gratuity and well worth it. Service was excellent and they went so far as to re-make some sandwiches to omit the salmon that I don't eat. Only ding was although the desserts were attractive and appropriate, they could have have a better taste. Scones were very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Anonymous855-

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We hope you will return soon for another delicious tea time.

Thank you,

The Executive Team
St. Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,515
    416
    186
    117
    87
See reviews for
638
718
54
561
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This beautiful and comfortable hotel, gorgeously set on a hill overlooking the ocean, mostly meets and exceeds expectations. Rooms are large, comfortable, and intelligently laid out, with especially spacious and beautiful bathrooms. The public spaces are notably beautiful, as well. We stayed here during a three-day business meeting, and although we didn't try any of the restaurants, the food at all of the meeting functions was unusually good, from a trio of delicious risotto dishes to the morning croissants (among the few decent ones I've had outside of France). The swimming pools and fitness facilities are fantastic. Nonetheless, I wouldn't call the stay quite perfect. There was a notable snafu at check-in; if you happen to arrive before your spouse, who has a different last name, prepare to submit to a small inquisition before the smilingly unhelpful front desk staff permits you to go to your room. We called ahead to make sure both names were on our reservation, but mine had vanished by the time I arrived, and the hotel insisted to my face that I didn't exist (however, I was free to check my luggage until my spouse arrived the next day!). Mandatory valet parking is $35 per night even though you're in the middle of nowhere. And we had to call the "butler" to get a second robe. All of that aside, however, this is an excellent and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lit-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Lit-Traveler-

Thank you for your recent review of The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We are happy that you and your spouse enjoyed your overall stay at the Resort. We apologize for the issues you experienced with check in. We hope that you will return to the Resort soon.

Thank you,

The Executive Team
St. Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2013

From the minute you arrive on property, you feel the warmth of the staff. Everyone I came in contact with, remembered my name. When I walked around the hotel the next morning, I was greeted multiple times "Good Morning Mr. Weeks."
The rooms are immaculate, and they were nice enough to upgrade me to a corner suite, without me even having to ask. (And I am a base level SPG member.)
There are very few 5 star hotels in the world. The St. Regis Monarch Beach provides the service, the amenities, the grounds, and the staff that deliver a 5 Star property.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Matt W-

Thank you for your review of The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the staff at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We hope you will return to the Resort for the wonderful service and amenities.

Thank you,

The Executive Team
St. Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Living life from the moment we arrived, until The moment we left! The setting, the service, the swaying of palm trees.....this resort has it all and being in such a beautiful part of Southern California simply added to a perfect weekend....took the tram down to the beach restaurant...now that's a must do...lunch outside watching the waves, the surfers, the whales (well, one whale..way out there). The servers were just delightful....the staff friendly and helpful...breaks from the business meetings were delightfully located in the midst of the beauty. Receptions were held and the food was out of this world...there was a wedding being held while we were there...imagine dreams came true for the newly weds..

Room Tip: 4th,5th or 6th floor for great views facing pool and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Gail H-

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay from the moment you arrived at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We hope that you will be able to return to the Resort soon.

Thank you,

The Executive Team
St. Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Service was terrific! Everywhere you look, staff are smiling, cordial and very attentive. Our room was a deluxe king w/ corner location...w/ ocean, golf course & pool views (very nice). I was in meetings, but my family enjoyed the pool and walking trails. The golf course was quite challenging...lots of undulation, beautiful vistas and fast greens. We did have meeting facilities which were very nice & more than adequate for our needs. A couple of evening receptions were great. Good was all good and staff, once again, handled it beautifully. All in all, a very nice business and family friendly property.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Bill A-

We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We hope that you will return in the future to enjoy Monarch Beach Golf Links and the resort pool.

Thank you,

The Executive Team
St. Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Absolutely gorgeous property! The surrounding area is beautiful. There is a great walking path that goes to the beach perfect for a morning jog or run!

The hotel is gorgeous and the staff is more than helpful.

We stayed for a weekend in June and the weather was great. This resort has everything, golf, beach, gorgeous pool, wonderful spa and great restaurants. The property is not directly on the beach, however, just a few minutes on the tram is access to the hotels private beach.

Hope to get back there one day soon!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOD M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
BOD M-

Thank you for your recent review of The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Resort in June. We hope that you will return soon to take advantage of the many wonderful amenities we offer.

Thank you,

The Executive Team
St. Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a great stay for a weekend. While the weather was uneven, it was a good time to spend in the spa. Our service in the restaurant in the evening was a little uneven. It took us 2 + hrs to have an entree and dessert, while we watched others come and go. We waited 30 minutes for dessert after it took 45 minutes to get our entrees. That was a bit disappointing. Otherwise, the property is beautiful, the service was great and the rooms are large.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Mojo8-

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your weekend stay at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We apologize for the inconvenience at the restaurant and hope you will return to the Resort soon.

Thank you,

The Executive Team
St. Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
10.3 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,524 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
740 reviews
4.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
423 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Beach Resort

Property: Monarch Beach Resort
Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort, Dana Point, CA 92629-4085 (Formerly St. Regis, Monarch Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA Five-Diamond resort overlooks the Pacific and offers private beach club access, with watersports, oceanfront golf, award-winning Miraval Life in Balance Spa, swimming pools, upscale dining, activities programs and more. Located in Dana Point, the resort offers easy access to a variety of Southern California attractions including Catalina Island, Dana Point Harbor, Laguna art galleries and events, Disneyland and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monarch Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing