We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,980)
Filter reviews
2,980 results
Traveler rating
2,028
504
219
130
99
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,028
504
219
130
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursebeach clubst regisstonehill tavernbutler servicebeautiful propertylobby barturn down servicemain poolthe ritzkids poolfour seasonspool staffhigh endpool viewbottle of champagnesouthern california
Filter
Updating list...
2,383 - 2,388 of 2,980 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Top notch hotel in a beautiful setting. Beautiful furnishings in the room, plush bathroom with glass shower and oversize tub. Very attentive staff. One of the nicest rooms we have stayed in. The restaurant has a wonderful breakfast, which was included in our approximately $400 room.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room...you may get one at no extra charge!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicetoeatout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Here's the deal...the hotel is more like a conference type hotel...the grounds and pool area are really nice. With the exception of the workout facility, the rest of the inside is dated and worn down. Our Ocean View room was subpar and not really what I would define as an ocean view. The food options are really limited and way overpriced for what you get. Most importantly, the service level was below average. The Ritz(which is right on the beach and has beautiful grounds as well) is just a whole lot better. We actually went to the Ritz for dinner both nights and lunch one day because the quality, service, and food options were just better. It felt like a 5 star experience at the Ritz and next time we will stay there.

My three biggest complaints about the St. Regis:
Our room was right above the courtyard area and the staff decided to setup for an early morning breakfast at 5:00am and it was so loud. After four phone calls at 5:00 in the morning, we were told that we could move rooms. Unacceptable.

Anytime we wanted something at the pool...we had to go find the server. They would not walk around and "serve".

The room keys get de-magnatized and stop working all the time. Just annoying when the front desk is so far away from the room.

If you really want to enjoy yourself at this amazing location, stay at the Ritz...you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JS3145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Dear JS3145:
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at The St. Regis Monarch Beach.

We will share your dissatisfaction with management, and make sure we rectify these problems in the future.

Thank you and safe travels,

The Executive Offices
St. Regis Monarch Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We recently had the privilege of a stay at the St Regis. After I had made a mess of booking a stay at a nearby hotel for our wedding anniversary David, the manager at the St Regis, stepped in and saved the day. We were given a suite which was easily the nicest room that my wife and I have stayed in during all of our travels around the world. The hotel's grounds are phenomenal and the level of service even better.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We had a great time at the St. Regis, and knew it wasn't on the beach when we booked it. We decided to stay there instead of the Ritz because it seemed to have a more modern (less stuffy) feel to it. It did, but instead of providing that unique experience you look for in a high end hotel, it just felt way too big. It felt crowded - from check-in, valet, to the restaurant for brunch (there was a 20 min wait) to the beach. They have carts to drive you to their private beach - loved the beach. But getting back to the hotel, the wait was 15-20 min. The room was very spacious and extremely nice, with a very nice bathroom as well. Again great time, but may venture elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeaTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

SeaTraveler77-
Thank you for choosing to stay at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. In our summer months, the pool, beach, and restaurants do get busy, but we try to accommodate everyone's needs the best and fastest we can.

Hope you come back and stay with us soon.

The Executive Offices
St. Regis Monarch Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Have stayed here previously, but this time for only one night. This place has it all. From check in to check out. The staff was excellent including a man standing around offering you water bottles or any thing that you needed. Location and view was awesome. Beautiful pool area. While not on beach, a short ride down (provided by hotel). Asked for a late check out, no problem. Looking Forward to a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macdad25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews