We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai This

Thai This
Ranked #54 of 143 Restaurants in Dana Point
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Spice Up Your Life With Thai FoodA Thai staple in Dana Point, we've been around for over 22 years in the same location. Come on in and check us out! Thanks to those who continue to support us!
Maryland
Level Contributor
269 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Almost excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a very good Thai restaurant, clearly better than the norm. Extremely good sauces. I ordered a pork dish and got a huge serving of pork and carrots. However - my wife ordered a shrimp dish, and counted a total of 3 shrimp included (she said the dish should have been described as vegetables with shrimp garnish). Be forewarned.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chazzq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    31
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We went to Thai This (a great name) because of the reviews. Like the name of the restaurant, the menu is pun-filled. Most of the puns make sense and are cute, although a couple of the puns fell flat. Nonetheless, the food was very good and we would likely have returned if we'd have had more time. The curry was quite good, but it was not the best I'd ever had. Overall, the food was appealing and lived up to our expectations. The service was also quite good. The only suggestion we would have about the restaurant is that the choice of hard rock music as background music seemed a little odd.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mhb1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
170 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Want to go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We ate here late, and they were out of several items, but the ones the waiter suggested as replacements were wonderful. Very good service and nice feel.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PammyC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“i love thai food and this is best i have had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our group was 7 people and we did not have reservations but they were happy to help us out even though it was a busy Friday night. The service and food were wonderful. The pork was tender, great flavor in all the dishes we ordered. As soon as we cleaned off a plate the employees were right there to take it away, they were very gracious. We are only in town for one week...but we would love to eat there every night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katieSofUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Consistent and Very Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

The food is consistently delicious. The menu is very creative with cute names for each dish. They yellow coconut curry chicken is amazing! It's not spicy for those who do not like or cannot tolerate spicy food. Fire eater and Drunken Noodles are some additionally awesome dishes. And Old McDonald for fried rice is delicious. The dishes are typically served family style which is great so you get to taste more than one. I live nearby so I take family/friend to the restaurant frequently and they always love it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisanne10n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai This also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Aliso Viejo, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Thai This? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing