We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dana Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dana Point Harbor Inn
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Reviewed July 4, 2005

Just returned last night from a long weekend at the Harbor Inn in Dana Point. It was a ladies getaway and we each had our own rooms. We researched all the hotel and wanted something reasonably priced which the Harbor Inn was. On the plus side: The room was spacious, the king bed was comfortable, the air conditioning worked great, and the layout was convenient. The best thing is the place is across the street from the Doheny State beach. Bought cheap chairs and towel at SavOn and walked across the road. Many of the more expensive hotels were less desirably located.

On the negative side: The decor is slightly shabby, it was the July 4th weekend and learing people hung out side their rooms smoking at all hours which was a little intimidating, the place is motel style, 2 stories and we were on the first floor. You could hear the people above walking. The phone rang in each seperate room in the middle of the night with a recording telling us we had 52 messages every night! We complained and the front desk guy said it wasn't his fault. Totally useless and extremely disturbing to be awoken by a ringing phone at 4:15 am. Housekeeping was adequate except one day they hadn't shown by 4:00 and I told them to just give clean towels and skip my room so I could rest.

Dana point is a very upscale fun area and we loved it. If you want an inexpensive place to enjoy the surrounding area this motel is fine, but nothing great. If you are used to first class accomodations then stay elsewhere because you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank PlanetR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 111 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2005

Dana Point Harbor Inn is a clean, comfortable and a nice place to stay at if you're visiting Dana Point or Laguna Beach. It's on the road to the Dana Point Marina and located right at the corner of PCH and Dana Point Harbor Drive.

We had a King size bed and the room was large and very comfortable.

Only complaint is the breakfast which was nothing special.

Great location even though not on the beach. Close to the Lantern district and its numerous restaurants. We ate at the "Thai This" restaurant and I highly recommend that too. 20 mins drive right up PCH to Laguna Beach.

Cost $90 for a saturday night April 30, 2005.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vwlvr_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
450
Reviewed April 11, 2005

This hotel isn't the fanciest ever, but it sure has a great location! The rooms were basic, but clean which is all that matters because you won't be spending much time there anyways. I thought our room was of good value, and would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2005
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Huddersfield, UK.
114
Reviewed March 19, 2005

We motored down from LA to see the whales off Dana Point, and booked into the Dana Point Harbor Inn for 4 nights.
The hotel is divided into 2 blocks, and offer smoking and non smoking rooms.
We booked into a non smoking room on the top floor.
The room was clean and well looked after, with fridge, iron, coffee making kit and 120 channel TV.
We had a huge double bed, and the room had AC's which worked.
All four nights were quiet and no rowdy elements were encountered, the rooms were changed every day, and my wife and I thought it was a really good place to stay.
Each morning there was a free continenetal breakfast which is taken in the hotel reception in immaculate suroundings and well worth getting up for.The beach is just across the road, and the hotel is situated right in the centre of the town. Within 5 minutes walking there is many places to eat and Dana Point Harbor where you can book whale watching trips.
All in all if we go back to Dana Point, we shall stay at this Hotel.
This hotel is good for people with disabilities, as you can get your vehicle right upto the rooms front door.
Date of stay: 13th to 16th March 2005.
The owner lives at the hotel and is there to make your stay a good one.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Mississauga, Ontario
19
Reviewed February 18, 2005

I am from Canada and I came to this place on JAN/16/2005 to get a quote for 4 rooms in July 2005 for my extended family which will be attending the wedding in the area. A week later I called to confirm the reservation and got the confirmation number. The first week of February I received the call from the hotel and was told that they will not honor the rate as per reservation because they gave me the winter rate instead of the summer rate. My arguments about confirmed reservation and considering this to be a binding contract between two parties did not help. So, on FEB/19/2005 I called and canceled my reservation. Now I still face the challenge to find another place. I would warn everybody to be very careful if/when doing the business with those people in the future.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Ilona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bf0403198212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dana Point hotels
0.2 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
124.3 mi away
The Beachfront Inn & Suites at Dana Point
1.3 mi away
Capistrano Surfside Inn
Capistrano Surfside Inn
#6 of 12 in Dana Point
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dana Point Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Point Harbor Inn

Address: 25325 Dana Point Harbor Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-2902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Dana Point Harbor Hotel Dana Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing