We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Save the water?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dana Point Harbor Inn
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Romeo, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Save the water?”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This Motel is in a great spot for finding. We stayed for three nights. The sheets were never changed! There was a card telling you how they are trying to save the planet by using less water and soap. I asked the girl at the desk to please have the sheets changed after 2 nights. The maid did not do it , even after I left a tip to in courage her. After all the word TIP means "To Insure Prompt Service. I guess if you want clean beds in California you better pay $200 or more per night!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank John42652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    19
    17
    48
See reviews for
27
46
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boron, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

If your looking for fancy, it's not the place. I was extremely happy with the location. It was perfect for all my activities I had planned. We went whale watching and paddle boarding. Both of those activities where close to the hotel. The beach is within walking distance. You have several choices to choose from within walking distance. Everything worked out well.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My family and I stayed here for two nights. I'm pretty easy going and certainly not picky BUT This place is filthy!!!! The floors were so dirty our feet were black 10 min after our showers. GROSS!! There were hard things stuck to the counters and the walls and door were very dirty.... noticably dirty !!We were also very disappointed that the POOL HAD BEEN SHUT DOWN BY THE HEALTH DEPARTMENT!! When asked the girl at the front desk about it. She acted like it was no big deal and that we were out of luck because we made reservations through Expedia. If we had made them through the hotel we would have a refund. When we returned home I had Expedia contact the hotel and they refused anything other that 25% off our next visit. That will never happen. I don't think you could pay us to stay there again. And yes as stated in other reviews all three paintings were the same. I don't think they take much pride in this hotel. Do yourself a favor and spend a little more and stay in a clean hotel.! Cheers!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

hotel was excellent. right on the water. zach was so helpful and because of him we will definately stay there again. we were able to rent the paddle boats with ease. we want to come back in october and this is where we will stay for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 113annieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Hotel was conveniently located to our 10K race which made it ideal. We had originally booked a king room but had extra people joining us so they gave us 2 queens at no extra charge which was extremely helpful. Room was large and clean and beds were comfortable. Bathroom had a huge counter which was a nice surprise. They provide refrigerators but could have used a small microwave too. The down side of this hotel is it seemed a little sketchy with some of the people milling around the rooms, I was thankful for my husbands presence. The pool area was probably the worst I have ever seen at a hotel, it was clean but the location was awful. Overall for the priced paid it was a great hotel, I am just use to a little more.

Room Tip: We had an upper floor and it made me feel a little safer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriKearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night. It was an easy walk to the beach. We walked there twice. We liked the nice size room. We were told that we were getting queen beds. They seemed more like doubles. It was nice having two sinks. We also liked the good size fridge. We called the breakfast the "miniature" breakfast. Everything was in miniature size :) This allowed us to try different things.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbunny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dana Point hotels
0.2 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
1.3 mi away
Capistrano Surfside Inn
Capistrano Surfside Inn
#7 of 12 in Dana Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dana Point Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Point Harbor Inn

Property: Dana Point Harbor Inn
Address: 25325 Dana Point Harbor Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-2902
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Dana Point Harbor Hotel Dana Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing