We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Great Experience”

Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Whale Watching Excursion in Dana Point
More Info
$36.00*
and up
Dana Point Sportfishing
More Info
$750.00*
and up
Sportfishing Private Charter in Dana Point
Ranked #2 of 19 Tours in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whale Watching Adventures, Charters , Fishing and more from Dana Point
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
“Really Great Experience”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have gone on this whale watching a few times now, and we have seen different animals every time. Although we didnt see whales on this last trip, we saw amazing baby dolphins playing, and large pods of dolphins " surfing" in the boats wake. We have seen whales before, it is always a spectacular experience.

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Simone A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanaWharf, Manager at Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for review. I am sure it was so exciting seeing baby dolphin playing and dolphin surfing in the wake, always a amazing experience. Please come back soon and visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,039
    246
    82
    34
    34
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ladera Ranch, California
1 review
“A great time”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Took the grandkids and they had a blast. The captain was great in giving details about the whales. We saw a blue whale. The captain had been talking to other captains down in San Diego and so knew where to go to find the whale, which was traveling northbound.

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanaWharf, Manager at Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you Gary for the review. I am happy to hear you and your grand kids saw a blue whale. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“5 blue whales!!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014


I went to this trip together with the family. With us there were three children. The ship was very big and comfortable.We are very happy with a trip!
Saw many dolphins, 5 blue whales and seals. Thanks!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Koka-nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanaWharf, Manager at Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Wow! Five blue whales that is great. Thank you for the review, we are so happy you had a great time! Thank you again! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A great two-hour boat ride”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This has been on our bucket list for a long time when we visit the San Clemente area. So glad we decided to venture out. The boat was a catamaran so the ride on the ocean was smooth and quiet. No guarantee you'll see any whales however, although we did see the back of a blue. Lots of sea lions and dolphins though. The weather was great so just nice to ride to waves and enjoy the scenery along the coast. Best time to see whales seems to be later afternoon ( we went at noon.) Watch for half-price deals.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gwgross1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanaWharf, Manager at Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to post your review. We at Dana Wharf appreciate it. Glad to hear you saw some dolphin and sea lions .Sometimes the whales can be a miss. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing way for kids to see whales!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had a wonderful time, everything about check in and boarding was quick & easy.
Our trip was very full with very limited seating so if you need to sit I'd recommend getting there early & being first in line. We didn't mind though! The views were amazing, the staff was friendly, and best of all we got to see 2 humpback whales!
We also saw dolphins, seals, tons of birds...it was an awesome trip. Definitely recommend!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom2onetw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanaWharf, Manager at Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
You made our day at Dana Wharf with your review! How exciting you saw two humpback whales, dolphin and other marine life. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing also viewed

 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing