We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dim sum”
Review of Koi Palace

Koi Palace
Ranked #3 of 189 Restaurants in Daly City
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Best dim sum”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Koi Palace is not known for their service. But they have the best and most variety dim sum in the bay area. That's why there is always a long wait. If you come on the weekends during lunch expect to wait 1-2 hours. I don't like waiting so I come on Sundays at 9am when it opens.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jnlv2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    74
    36
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Novato
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Chinese New Year”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Went for a company gathering to celebrate Chinese New Year. The restaurant is large, with multiple rooms for seating. Each area is decorated differently and ours was colorful and vibrant. Since I went with a large group - set menu - I can't tell you what a regular dinner would be like. We had a lion dance performed which was the highlight of the night. Two giant lions danced their way through the room - winking, wagging and roaring in the New Year. Fabulous! The dinner was served "family style". I'm told from colleagues it was traditional Chinese,. Most were good, some didn't appeal to me at all. The staff were accommodating but not overly friending or engaging. They preferred not to talk to anyone at all. Didn't explain about food or offer any information at all. If we hadn't been sitting with someone Chinese, we wouldn't have known much about the food, why it was chosen for the dinner or how to eat some of it.
All in all, fun night for a special outing. Not sure I'd recommend to someone not familiar with culture.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ReginaECalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, bad service”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

There is no doubt that this restaurant offers good food, both dim sum and sesfood dinner are delicious, but I just don't know why the owners could tolerate their service people to be so weird, be aware to be discriminated if you don't order expensive dishes in dinner time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seren1437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese food in "the middle of nowhere"”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is a rather large restaurant with plenty seating for large groups.

For me, a good sign that this is a place that serves authentic chinese food is when you see chinese diners vastly out-number non-chinese.

The staff instantly switched from conversing in English to Cantonese when they saw us. And it almost seemed as if they were going to swap the standard menu on the table with a special one just for chinese folks like us. =)

We ordered a clear fish soup, roast meats, a cold-starter dish (with requisite "jelly-fish" and other cold cuts), stir-fried vegetables and a slightly-too-sweet red-bean dessert. All were recommendations from the floor manager.

Portions were large and universally good. Our party of five simply couldn't finish everything - the floor manager told us that they are well known for their large portion sizes.

Overall, it was a good meal. We weren't rushed. The service was good and the floor manager kept coming by to ask if we needed anything else or whether the food was all-right. The bill came up to be about USD160 which we thought was quite reasonable.

One thing though, the restaurant really seemed to be in the middle of nowhere. It was in the corner of a large lot, with Ross, a pharmacy, toy store and another Tex-Mex restaurant. Maybe it was cos we arrived late(r) in the evening and there wasn't much going-on around.

The restaurant staff warned us to keep our valuables in the car away from plain sight as there have been break-ins. In fact, there was a laminated notice on the table in English and Mandarin text warning you about it.

Still, all of us felt that the food was good enough to warrant the "risks". =)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the most unusual restaurants we've seen”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The size of this feeding-frenzy restaurant is overwhelming. I estimate 750 plus diners, all being served efficiently. Dim sum style is the main attraction, but there many other Chinese dishes on the large menu. Asian diners outnumbered non-asian by about 20 to 1. I suspect that reflects the authentic nature of the offerings. The food was very good. The service was friendly and, despite the huge crowd, reasonably prompt. Food temperature and presentation were just right.

This spot is one of several around California, and lies in the first suburb just out of the city. It is easy to find, and well worth the trouble.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hank31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koi Palace also viewed

 

Been to Koi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing