We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Daly City
Redding, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have stayed several times at Alpine Inn in the past. The chief advantages were that it was relatively near the San Francisco State University, and it was relatively low cost for San Francisco. However, things have changed . The cost went from around $85/nite to $170/nite. The place is looking tired and worn; though the room was clean. The continental breakfast is non-existant unless you are there right at 7:30 when they open the lobby . The staff were friendly and helpful. But the area is not the greatest, it is a long way from anything in downtown SF, and when the price doubled we decided that at that price there are other more attractive places to stay .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    136
    52
    18
    24
See reviews for
105
115
31
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Finding a reasonable hotel room in the Bay area can be quite a daunting task. I was thoroughly surprised at the reasonable rates, the cleanliness of the room and the charming and polite staff. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHXander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at the Alpine Inn and Suites, the room was cold, small, noisy and not nice. It did not help that the 49'ers where playing that evening, hence people so where outside on the driveway shouting and having barbeques. I recommend staying somewhere else. The area around this Inn is not nice either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracie987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A short 10 minute drive into San Francisco, good value, friendly service, super clean and well appointed room. A second attached bedroom good for families, refrigerator, and microwave useful, breakfast included.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Overall a great experience. I had to stay for 1 mo. unexpectedly. The staff are friendly & accommodating. They keep the place very clean. Decor is a bit old school, but cute. Location is best if you have a car. Remember it is an inn, not a hotel; amenities are limited.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikinoki8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This property was a GREAT FIND for our family of 4 during our vacation this August for a trip to San Francisco,Carmel, Monterey and Big Sur. We rented a two-bedroom unit. The room was decorated modern with very tasteful art. The room was extremely CLEAN and was cleaned whenever we left. The staff were friendly and easy to work with. They serve a minimal breakfast but you can't beat Startbucks coffee (both in your room and in the serving area). They also gave us two welcome treats (for me and my husband and for the kids). Each morning after they cleaned the rooms, they left another treat bag. Our car could park just right in front of our own unit...we just walk down to it. There is a great turn-around for cars so no problem there. It is in a safe, diverse neighborhood, tucked away on a quiet street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Premium Bedding is not premium, many little things are messed up and broken, The beds are very uncomfortable and they've never heard of bleach. Not as rosy as reviews made it seem.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasonress00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConceptHigh, General Manager at Alpine Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
We apologize for the quality of your stay at Alpine Inn & Suites. We take our guest's reviews very seriously, and want to do all we can to improve our establishment. Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daly City
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn San Francisco - Daly City
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Francisco Airport North
3.2 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#17 of 28 in South San Francisco
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
El Camino Inn
El Camino Inn
#4 of 6 in Daly City
119 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
943 reviews
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Inn & Suites

Property: Alpine Inn & Suites
Address: 560 Carter St, Daly City, CA 94014-1455
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Daly City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Daly City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpine Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in the City of Light? Well, pretty close, anyway. The European-style Alpine Inn & Suites is a mere baguette length (or two) from downtown San Francisco, Paris's oh-so-stylish sister city. Pairing uniquely European service with a refreshing dash of American ease, this treasured hillside retreat brings the pulse of Paris to the heart of the Bay Area. The Xperience is as magical as a stroll along the Seine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Alpine Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Inn And Suites
Alpine Hotel Daly City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing