We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Francisco - Daly City
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Daly City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
264 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Chosed this hotel for several reasons: 1. Had once before stayed in a Hampton Inn & Suits hotel, which we enjoyed very much. 2. It was much cheaper to stay in Daly City than in SF. 3. It is situated only about 10 minutes walk from Colma Station, from where we took the Bart into SF (about 20 minutes ride).
We had a very nice stay for 2 nights here. Rooms are quiet and spacius (well you can here the traffic, but no problem).
Breakfast was really good with lots of different breads, yoghurt, cakes, juice, fruit, coffee etc. The breakfast is served in front of the lobby and it isn't the most perfect place, as the door to the outside goes up very often, and makes it cold, and it wasn't a cozy 'room' - but never mind.
There are several possibilities of having dinner very close to the hotel.
I think we would like to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoninndalycity, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Francisco - Daly City, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Hygum,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn San Francisco/Daly City. As you mentioned it, the hotel is conveniently located between the San Francisco International Airport and Downtown San Francisco. The Bart station is within walking distance as well.

I hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Mariana Landeros
General Manager
mariana.landeros@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    250
    61
    14
    4
See reviews for
348
174
38
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MABLETON
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel was very nice, looked like it was recently renovated. Staff was very helpful, and the price was very good. The location isn't anything special so if you want to go anywhere, you really need a car. There is a 7-11 in walking distance and a McDonald's just a few doors up if you have an emergency hunger attack. Val's restaurant is right there as well, but it's a completely retro kind of place -- not necessarily in a good way, unless you are longing for a return to 1972 dark wood paneling and black vinyl barstools.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOSEPH F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

nice and clean rooms. the staff are great. we have here 3 rooms and all the family love it.
the location is not in the center of SF but its not to far and we have a car. parking in the hotel is free.
we will come back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel is located 9 miles south of downtown San Francisco, about a 20 minute drive. The hotel parking is free. The BART station is located about a mile from the hotel. The hotel is off of Interstate 280 and the surrounding area is a little rundown but not unsafe. Limited dining options, you really need a car. Finding parking spots in San Francisco was no problem.

The front desk staff was efficient and friendly, and really wanted to know if we were enjoying our stay. My family of three stayed in a King bed Jr. suite with a sofa bed, corner room with multiple windows, for five nights. The entire hotel is non-smoking which is great. The suite which includes a microwave, mini-refrigerator, and work desk was spacious and clean. The king bed and sofa bed were comfy. The room layout was little strange, L shaped with the king bed in an alcove area. The flat screen needs to be much bigger, so guests can watch tv in bed.

Breakfast was better than most Hampton Inns. Yes, they had the standard make-your-own waffles, cereal, bagels, muffins and fruit; but they also had different hot items each day – bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, which was very nice.

We did not use the small indoor pool. It did look clean but the chemical smell was overwhelming.

Next time we are in San Francisco area, we would consider staying here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank jolv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

To be honest when we first pulled up outside I thought "what have we done!"We had booked this hotel because it looked ok, was a good price and was a short way from San Francisco.It is on a quiet road in Daly City and looked pretty basic from the outside,but what a gem of a place! The welcome tihat we recieved was so so friendly, the staff here were just amazing, never saw one of them without a smile.There is a comfortable lounge area with free use of coffee machines. Our room was lovely,2 queen beds,great storage space, tv and a lovely bathroom and tea/coffee making facilities. It was also spotlessly clean. A self Service breakfast is included in the price and this makes it even more outstanding value, the choice each day was brilliant, lots of different pastries, fruit, waffles and also a few hot choices too, eat as much as you like! Alovely lady who seemed to be in charge of this area also came round to us each day with small boxes of mints for us to take out with us! The BART station is around 20 mins walk away, we took a taxi which was around $7 and we bought a pass for MUNI transport each day which cost $6 but gave us MUNI transport all day. I would say from leaving the hotel ,taxi to the station, getting the tickets and then catching the BART to Powell Street station in the centre of San Fran is around 20-30 mins.BUT to be honest I would definatey choose to stay out of San Fran if I was lucky enough to visit again as parts of the city aren't too safe for tourists,particularly at night and it did feel like that at times. So for us this hotel was a gem of a find, a little oasis for us to rest up. The staff are truely a credit to customer service and to this hotel, a lovely and brilliant stay! Thank you!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LisyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had a great stay. The staff was so nice and kind. One night when their parking lot was full and I inquired about where to park on the street, one of the staff members told me and even offered to move his car so we can take his closer spot! I was impressed by his thoughtfulness!

Our double queen bed room was great. It looked very modern, up to date, and most importantly very clean and smelled good and fresh. The rooms were quiet. There was a flat screen tv with a lot of channels, as well as a mini fridge and coffee maker. The bathroom was pretty big. It was a good amount of space for a family of 4. Breakfast was good, kept clean, and a good variety of food. There is fresh hot coffee and tea all day in the lobby.

I personally loved the location. It was easy to drive in and out to SF. It took about 10 minutes to get into SF city. We never hit traffic except once, and was able to easily find street parking in SF. I like Daly City and liked the nearby restaurants, especially the ones on Southgate Center (near Westlake Center). They had awesome Thai, Korean, Vietnamese, and Chinese restaurants... convenient, good, and less expensive than ones at home (NYC area)! There’s also In and Out, Krispy Kreme, L&L Drive In (Hawaiian plate lunches) – all perfect for us! I like being able to come back to relax and away from the SF crowds.

Since I was going with two kids (ages 11 & 9), having a pool was important, and I wanted it to be an indoor pool since SF weather was so cool. This place had a perfect indoor pool. It was clean and a nice size. My boys liked it a lot. I felt the water was not heated enough, even though it was heated, but that did not stop my kids from swimming and working off that excess energy!

Basically, what is not to love about this place… the price was inexpensive for SF (use AAA to get discount), the place is clean, safe, with good staff, it was convenient, free parking, free breakfast, free pool and gym (small gym but new modern equipment and a tv in there!), as well as a free business center (which we did not use). We have stayed in some fancy hotels but we really liked this one. It was unpretentious, not overly large, convenient location, and if we do come back to SF, we would definitely return to this place without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LavaJava96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My brother lives in San Francisco and suggested this hotel based on a recommendation from one of his colleagues. We got a great deal on a king sized suite, and were very impressed with what we got for the money. King-sized bed, sofabed, free wi-fi, buffet breakfast, bath robes and free use of the gym and swimming pool. The room also had a microwave and a decent sized fridge. Later on, we discovered that they had a washing machine and dryer for guest use, which will be handy for those on long vacations.

We had a very long journey to the hotel and it was nice to get a warm welcome from the reception staff. They were also very helpful later on with providing a rollaway bed, extra bedding and storing our luggage. They were even helpful after we left- one of the kids thought that they had left a charger in the room, and the staff checked the room over while we were on the phone.

As others have pointed out the decor is a bit old fashioned, but the hotel was clean. Breakfast was of variable quality, but there was lots of choice. Kids particularly enjoyed making their own waffles.

If you don't have a car, there is not much to do locally. The hotel is at the side of a highway, and there are a few fast food places within walking distance. However in other respects the location is very convenient, as it is close to the airport (15 minutes) and you can also get a muni train to downtown SF.

We saw lots of other families there, so they must be doing something right. Overall, we had a great stay and would highly recommend this hotel as a great value place for families.

Room Tip: The King sized suite is excellent value for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank groverwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daly City
2.8 mi away
Alpine Inn & Suites
Alpine Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Daly City
369 reviews
4.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Francisco Airport North
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 29 in South San Francisco
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Camino Inn
El Camino Inn
#4 of 6 in Daly City
115 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airpor...
#2 of 29 in South San Francisco
792 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#19 of 29 in South San Francisco
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Francisco - Daly City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Francisco - Daly City

Property: Hampton Inn San Francisco - Daly City
Address: 2700 Junipero Serra Blvd, Daly City, CA 94015-1634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Daly City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Daly City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Francisco - Daly City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn San Francisco-Daly City hotel offers a convenient location between San Francisco International Airport and the City by the Bay. A Bay Area Rapid Transit station (BART) is just 0.9 mile from the hotel. Enjoy free hot breakfast with waffles and toppings, and relax in our clean and fresh Hampton beds. Enjoy free WiFi internet access in every room. Work out in our modern fitness center. Wind down while watching television on a 37" LCD flat panel TV. Try out our new Media Center and enjoy Games and Movies! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn San Francisco - Daly City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Daly City Hotel Daly City
Daly City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing