We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Risk Your Life Eating There.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kome Sushi Buffet

Kome Sushi Buffet
Ranked #6 of 189 Restaurants in Daly City
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Risk Your Life Eating There.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Worst dinning experience in my life on 9.8/2012. They overbook by couple hundred people, so 1:30 pm seating was jam packed, exceeding legal seating capacity. This resulted in the exit/entrance being blocked, lobby was jammed packed, and exit/entrance to the dinning area was blocked, and so was the sidewalk. People could not get in or out of this dump. It was like driving a herd of cattle to water. Kome does treat their customers like cattle, all they see is $$$$$.
Inside was wall to wall tables and chairs. No room to walk it was so jammed.
Food line was a joke. Very long lines, and when you got to the food, it was gone. Service, or lack of service was the norm. We were hosting a 90th birthday party and had guest coming in from out of town, what an embassement and a waste of $$$$$. We confirmed four times with Kome that we had a party of 35, they set up for 30. They just added more chairs to already small tables. Compliants to Kome's so called management was a waste of time.

The blocking of the exit/entrances is not new. If you good to YELP, there are pictures posted by other people showing the walkways blocked. Exceeding the legal capacity of about 500 people with over 700 people is illegal. Blocking the exit and extrance, blocking the lobby, blocking the exit and entrance to the feeding area, blocking the sidewalk are all illegal. Your life is not worth risking for an overprice mean, with no service, and poor food.

Kemo has reported to Daily City and the Daily City Fire Department for the violations.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dragon_1c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    33
    20
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This buffet restaurant is pretty big. I love the sashimi and seaweed salads. There were cooked crabs, oysters, lobsters (always goes fast), other shellfish, hot Chinese dishes as well as Japanese ones. Dessert was OK nothing spectacular. I ordered plum wine, but it wasn't the best that I've had, so no wonder it was on special offer. Best to get there early and take your time to eat cos by 10pm, they start clearing up ready to close. I would certainly go back to this place the next time I visit the West coast.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimichimii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“best value buffet in the bay area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

lots of variety and taste very good, but have to go early to stay away from the crowde and to avoid waiting in a long line

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cckc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Chinese Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

If you like Chinese & Japanese Buffet this is the place to go from lunch to Dinner. They carried all variates of Chinese food ( Seafood, meat & Dim Sum) Japanese food fresh sushi and chef is freshly prepare your hand roll order right in front of you while u waiting. If you want buffet for dinner with family or friends I recommend this place. Free in door parking with 5 levels and I would go early for dinner time doors open @ 530pm. Place is crowed even on weekdays. If you taking someone for Birthday or Senior 60+ , special discount.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chichala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Quantity over Quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is one very big buffet restaurant and can easily accomodate 200-300 people. The buffet includes sushi, chinese, wontons, soup noodles and dessert. The food is okay, not great quality but there is a lot to choose from and it's easy to eat too much.

The wonton noodle soups are pretty good so save space for this.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kazza_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kome Sushi Buffet also viewed

 
South San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Kome Sushi Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing