We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderfully different Japanese experience: tapas/fusion.”

Gochi Japanese Fusion Tapas
Ranked #6 of 236 Restaurants in Cupertino
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A wonderfully different Japanese experience: tapas/fusion.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our Japanese family told us it was their Japanese favorite in San José area. We especially enjoyed salmon carpaccio, shrimp in mayonnaise, and clay pot rice. We'll be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cpjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    25
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“Average, -1”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Not what I was expecting given all of the rave reviews. Some of the tapas were tasty, others fell very flat. We ate very late, and service was rushed - - more interested in getting the doors closed than serving us. And it lost another star when two members of our party got sick after eating there. Won't be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
580 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Very Fun Experience--Great Food”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

You know a restaurant is good when you drive into an unassuming strip mall and see a line outside waiting for it to open at 6pm on a Tuesday night. We were lucky to have reserved one of the private rooms and were seated quickly. What followed was a load of fun. Great sake selection, excellent sushi and sashimi that was very fresh and artfully prepared, clay pot rice dishes to die for, and some great thin crust pizzas. We like the snow crab, shad roe, and bacon pizza with pecorino cheese and also enjoyed what was (I think) calamari, cole slaw, and some other stuff. Service was excellent, the place was jammed, and everyone seemed to be having a great time. It's a must visit if anywhere within 20 miles.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCalCanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Out of towners delight”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I love taking people here when they come in from out of town. Food is generally pretty good and the atmosphere is fun. The only thing that mars it for me is that food is a hit and miss. When it's good it's great and when it's not, it's eh.

The fusion pizza is probably one of the most consistent items on the menu but there is some good innovation here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Knoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow... what a gem. not too much fusion”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The food was excellent and the prices are more than reasonable. Some of the food is authentic and the rest is not too much fusion.
For sure need to go back and try a few more items. I lived in Cupertino for 18 years and only found this place because of trip advisor

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philippe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gochi Japanese Fusion Tapas also viewed

 

Been to Gochi Japanese Fusion Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing