We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a modern, casual hotel in Cupertino”
Review of Aloft Cupertino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Cupertino
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cupertino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I work for a company with an office very close to the new Aloft Cupertino; right there on De Anza, actually, within walking distance. I've stayed at the Cupertino Inn a mile or so down the street. And, I've stayed at the Kimpton's Cypress Hotel located caddy-corner to this location. Of the three, my favorite - after just the one stay - is Aloft.

Don't get me wrong, the other two hotels I've enjoyed as well. (Cupertino Inn has a great happy hour every day from 5-7; while the Cypress is chic and elegant.) Yet, Aloft stands out because of the little things:

1. "Refuel": an upscale convenience store, of sorts. Pick up a quick bite from a good selection of options. You can get a Lean Cuisine if you want, but I opted for the bean and cheese burrito for my arrival day lunch and a cup of fresh berries. The berries I ended up having one every day because they were so freaking awesomely delicious. You can even get a cooked breakfast at the little counter. Not just for food, if you need any personal items, they have a selection of those as well for purchase.

The seating area is very Apple store meets coffee-house chic, with options from high bar tables and rather comfy stools, to low banquettes adorned with Lichtenstein-inspired pillows. There's an outside seating area with heating lamps, though I didn't see any good tables, so I never ate out there.

2. AppleTV: I was able to log-in to my Netflix account and watch things I had queued up. Lots of options. One issue: in order to get back to 'regular' TV, the remote didn't work - I had to turn off the TV and turn it back on again. Not a big hassle, but something to note should you stay here.

3. Style: Now I was expecting really more of a loft styling, which is actually barely there (note the front-mounted sliding panels for doors - that's about it). Yet, the room was sleek but inviting. Lots of what looked like maybe bamboo veneers for the wood surfaces. One wall was covered entirely in a warm dark gray corrugated fabric (love!). The bed was firm and comfy.

The elevators are mostly black-lit, which I found rather soothing/calming. Only on my last morning did I notice that the floors of the elevator, which I had til then thought looked only like blue-splattered laminate tiles, were actually 'smushy', like those old oil stickers from the 80s. Meaning, you step on them and the blue liquid inside moves around. Sorta cool.

The front desk was always quick to help, and the cleanliness and maid service seemed above par.

I highly recommend the Aloft.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elusivone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 249 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

+ Brand new hotel, very clean
+ Light and spacious rooms
+ Friendly and attentive staff, from receptionists to cleaners
+ Free shuttle service at flexible hours to neighboring areas within a 5 mile radius Mon-Fri 7am-3pm
+ 24x7 gym
+ outdoor swimming pool
+ free wifi internet
+ in-room safe, bottled water, coffee machine
+ AppleTV in room for playing own content (- I didn't get it to work with my Windows & Android)
+ The hotel staff equipped my room with a minibar as I've requested before my arrival
- Gym fairly small, ok for runners but only one multi-functional machine for body building
- No restaurant (b'fast self-service buffet and there are also a few places to get food within a walking distance from the hotel)
- Kind of far away from everywhere (except Apple offices)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janpopovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Cupertino, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Aloft amenities during your stay. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you through Cupertino!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

All the good things that come with an ALoft plus big rooms. ALoft has got it right for the traveling business folks. Please keep it that way. This Aloft has underground parking, a great bar scene, good bfast options and great rooms.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Cupertino, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us on your business trip. Hope to see you again for the next one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I was on a personal "get away" trip, and wanted to be in the Silicon Valley area to see a couple of friends before heading out to the coast for a drive. Aloft was the right price with a location central to all the places I was trying to hit. Easy freeway access, plenty of local stores and restaurants in the area. Great attitude from the staff, and a nice, efficient contemporary place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights and had a great experience. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are nice and comfortable, and the food in the bar is really good. This is the nicest Aloft I have experienced. Also, appreciated the Apple TV...finished a movie on Netflix on the big LCD.
Cool Spot!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willtravel1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Cupertino, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thanks for the review! We appreciate your comments and will be sharing them with our team. We're glad you enjoyed your experience in w xyz bar, and that you were able to finish your movie! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Standard Aloft property, located right off the expressway. The location makes driving to SFO, San Jose, or other valley communities pretty easy. There are several dining, grocery, and retail stores in the immediate area.

Good size room, with nice fixtures and linens. Not sure if any rooms offer a tub; shower seems to be the standard.

Gym was small but as others have noted everything is brand new. Bar in the lobby did not appear to be very busy.

The parking garage is in the basement. It's kind of an adventure, in that it seems to fill up fairly early in the evening. There are unused stalls that are two-deep such that a valet service would be required to manage, and then there are several electric vehicle stalls that were going unused. Not sure where they'd send overflow parking.

They seem to be working out some kinks as a new property. That said, all of the staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliff_rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Cupertino, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our property and our free parking garage for our guests. Hope to see you again soon if your travels bring you through Cupertino.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just stayed at the new Aloft Cupertino -- first time Aloft experience and it was more than excellent. Great staff, fun environment, awesome bar and comfy, efficient rooms. Good desk for work, easy plug-ins thorughout the hotel and even a pool for laps! Fresh, already a busy atmosphere, and great grab and go for healthy and fun lunch and snacks. Highly recommend this new hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachHouse_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Cupertino, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thanks for the review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed the style and atmosphere of our new Aloft hotel. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupertino
0.2 mi away
Juniper Hotel
Juniper Hotel
#3 of 6 in Cupertino
406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cupertino Inn
Cupertino Inn
#1 of 6 in Cupertino
987 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cupertino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Cupertino
3.1 mi away
Aloft San Jose Cupertino
Aloft San Jose Cupertino
#19 of 75 in San Jose
403 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Cupertino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Cupertino

Address: 10165 N de Anza Blvd, Cupertino, CA 95014-2218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Cupertino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cupertino
Price Range: $144 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Cupertino 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Cupertino is perfectly situated in the heart of Cupertino, nestled between Apple headquarters and many other major tech corporations. Our tech-savvy Cupertino hotel features Apple TV(R) in every guest room, plus we're just a short drive from the trendy shops and restaurants of Santana Row. Walking distance to many great shops and restaurants. Our open-concept Re:mix lobby, always upbeat W XYZ(R) bar, and private outdoor patio make Aloft the perfect venue for Cupertino events, post-meeting receptions, team-building events, and cocktail hour. Whether you're traveling for work or leisure, Aloft Cupertino is right where you want to be. Experience a day with our Robot "Botlr;" he will deliver you snacks, towels and anything you care for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aloft Cupertino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing