We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Japanese food, just so-so”

Kikusushi Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #163 of 230 Restaurants in Cupertino
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not the best Japanese food, just so-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We returned to Kikusushi for dinner, because we had dinner with a group before and the food was ok.

Food was generally fair but ups and downs. The oysters with ponzu sauce was a great deal, 2 for $3.50. Agedashi tofu was ok too.

Apart from that, dinner was so-so. The dinner box, we had chicken teriyaki (for the kids), tempura and sashimi.

Sashimi was ok, tempura veggie mix was not so good (carrots and brocolli, no sweet potatos/yams) although the shrimps were fresh and chicken was tender. We ordered the rainbow row, and that was a disappointment.

Usually, rainbow rows at other restaurants are made with california row mix (fake crab rolls mixed in mayo). Here, they used the entire fake crab stick in the center of the roll, which made the taste not very pleasant. The sashimi on the roll were not too tasty too.

Service was fine, as we went quite early and hence was seated quickly and served rather quickly. Overall impression is that this restaurant appears to cater to a more 'Americanized' crowd based on the taste of the food and of the dinner crowd. Not many Japanese staffers, not even behind the sushi bar, which tells you something. I personally believe ethnic food is usually best prepared by chefs of the same ethnic background which provides the authenticity. I don't find that here.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank khamen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    13
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great sushi at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I visited this afternoon just as they opened for dinner and was greeted by very friendly and welcoming staff. Seated at their traditional sushi bar I ordered sushi nigri, and was first treated to a delicious salad, so good, not typical of the japenese restaurants back east. I wish I knew what was in it. The sushi arrived just as I finished the salad, and the flying fish roe was excellent. The tuna was as good as ive ever had, as was the fresh salmon. This is a great restaurant, serving excellent sushi at a reasonable price, and the staff is very friendly. Highly reccomended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neverhome821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, South Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Food, Good Prices, Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

This seems to be a well kept secret in Cupertino. It is located way in the back of a shopping center and is a bit difficult to pick out. But the inconvenience stops there. We were quickly seated and drink orders taken immediately. The sushi was very well prepared and fresh. Some of their specialty rolls (Dragon Roll, Dynamite Roll) are well worth the extra couple of bucks. Order any three rolls and you are stuffed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stujersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, CA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Consistent Goodness in sushi land!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We eat regularly at Kikusushi, so I thought we should let other people know about it! For people who have eaten there a long time one might note the very slow change in menu items. Rarely a new roll gets added, or some seasonal specialties get added. Often their "new" items are seasonal adds, like oysters, etc. Often their rolls are adjusted and renamed. This is not a bad thing - it keeps things interesting.

If you like decent Sushi, Sashimi, and other Japanese tidbits at good middle of the road prices, then this is the place for you.

With all of the big screen TVs floating around it has a little bit of the atmosphere of a sports bar but in a homey decor. Walking up to the entrance almost makes you think of entering a log cabin home. Also all the fish tanks make life interesting- of course none of the sushi comes from those tanks (haha). If you can imagine, think a little bit like what a place would be if your decoration style was Japanese redneck! I mean where else can you have sake night Wednesday and Thursday nights- including the lethal sake bombs!

Its a great place for casual Sushi dining, IE none of the wait staff runs around in Kimonos - just simple black jeans and tops, The greeters and seaters are all very pleasant and handle everything effectively.

If you eat regularly at Kikushi's you can participate in their punch card program, buy 10 dinners get $10 off etc. They are also quite good about preparing take away for the nights you just don't want to sit there and eat.

While you can munch sushi to your heart's content, they have plenty of cooked Japanese meals and tidbits, but what i find more interesting is working my way through all of their various rolled sushi - more than in many other places i have visited.

Our favorites are Gyoza, chicken karaage, Oshitashi, Miso soup, salad with miso dressing, whatever he chef suggests for sushi, some of the bento boxes, the dragon roll, the crazy roll, hmm i guess i would have to continue with the whole menu - haha!

If you like their salad dressing, you can buy a bottle to take home. The miso dressing is just right for salads and we buy it regularly. If you try hard, you can break your wallet there, but you don't have to do that to have a good meal and a nice dining experience. Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mithra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Friendly & consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I have PT sessions around the corner, so have been eating here once a week. While I'm not a big fan of sashimi or raw fish, there are a lot of things I like on their menu. The tempura is very good as well as their Crazy Roll and California Roll with crab. I also really like the cucumber salad and dressing. The staff is very friendly at the sushi bar and the service quick.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harmser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kikusushi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Cupertino, CA
Cupertino, CA
 

Been to Kikusushi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing