We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant atmosphere, but room a bit fusty”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Culver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Culver Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere, but room a bit fusty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and slept well and liked the location (kind of halfway between downtown LA and Santa Monica, so not near "anything" but equidistant between all the places we wanted to go). The first room we were given was noisy, due to proximity to the elevator and it overlooking the street, but we were quickly transferred to one at the back of the hotel (overlooking a pedestrian walkway) that was nice and quiet. The room was fine, if a bit old-looking, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The included breakfast was extremely nice, in a very pleasant room with a fireplace and was never too busy. There are a number of restaurants nearby, within walking distance (we loved Meat in Paris French Bistro), as well as a Trader Joe's about a block away and a Starbucks a block away in the other direction. If you like architecture, check out the city hall, very near (maybe 5 minutes by foot).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluenoser1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us.
I am pleased we found a more suitable room for you. All our hotel rooms were completely renovated in 2011 and has a feel of the "old and the new". We have antique armoirs and all the trappings of a modern boutique hotel.
It is wonderful that you had the chance to try out the many different, great and varied eateries in our immediate neighborhood.

Seth Horowitz
General Manager
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    72
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
82
20
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

I needed a hotel close to Mid City-LA. I chose The Culver based solely upon Trip Advisor reviews and was not disappointed. This place is a gem. Located in a vibrant area with numerous good restaurants, a movie theater and grocery nearby. The hotel lobby bar/restaurant is fantastic with good food, drinks and live jazz! The complimentary breakfast is adequate. I had the complimentary breakfast as well as brunch and dinner in the restaurant and each meal was very good. The bartender makes drinks that pack a punch! ALL of the staff that I encountered were friendly and helpful. All areas of the hotel and my room were very clean and comfortable with upscale linens and toiletries. The self parking garage is offsite and 1.5 blocks away @ $10 p/day. Internet access was fine. If you want a big hotel chain then this is not the place for you. If you want boutique, quaint, individualized service, then this is your kind of place. I will definitely return to The Culver. The photos shown on the hotel website are representative of the hotel's current condition.

Room Tip: This is a boutique hotel. The top two floors are quieter if you want to be distanced from the vibra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJeanneWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you. You are a GEM.

Come back soon.......

Seth Horowitz
GM
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunt Valley, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Hello,
My husband and I visited the Culver Hotel on a trip to be with our children. At first, I was turned off by some of the pictures online. It appeared to be an old Victorian Hotel. I pictured dusty! I booked it when I was told the hotel was recently renovated. We found it conviently located.
The front desk is in the hotel restaurant/lobby/bar. This enables the front desk to personalize their service to guests. Our room was upgraded. It was Victorian with contemporary flairs and bathroom. The closed and dresser is a bit small. I appreciated the safe and empty refrigerator in the room. The bed was comfy. Calif, was having a cold spell. It was in the 30/40 range in the evening. This required heat. The heater wasn't the best however, after ten minutes, we turned it off and relied on the down comforter. The continental breakfast which was included consisted of Yogurt, fruit, breads, granola, juice and coffee. We enjoyed this by the fireplace. The hotel bar is THE HAPPENING SPOT, in the evenings. Several Christmas parties were held in the small hotel including JIB JAB CORP. A bit noisy when the partygoers left at two in the morning. The noise in the street was loud however, amusing. Yes, I did get up to sneak a peak at the guests in the street. I recommend this hotel for someone who enjoys a boutique hotel atmosphere.
Many famous people have slept in the hotel. I wonder who slept in our bed???

Room Tip: If you want to be a part of the party scene after hours starring out the window at two in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank equestrian_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing to come.
Downtown Culver City, with The Culver City as its hub, has become a destination on the Westside of Los Angeles. I has been a wonderful journey and appreciate your discovering it. Sorry for any disturbance, but it is encouraging that companies were throwing big year-end parties, could be a great indicator for 2014.

Seth Horowitz
GM
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed at the Culver and enjoyed our weekend there. The rooms were well appointed, however small with historic detail. The hotel is walkable to restaurants and services in the immediate area but it is a $25 cab fare to Santa Monica and other areas of LA. Valet area needs more attendants for the drop off is crowded, even in mid-afternoon and retrieving a car takes some time. On the weekend we stayed there was a wedding which took up the entire first floor -- lobby, restaurant and bar. The lobby desk was moved to the second floor, making services hard to acquire. To get a taxi, it took two calls and 25 minutes, which is not ideal when you have reservations.

Room Tip: Select a quiet room on the 5th or 6th floor in the back of the building, i.e. a corner with more win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TotalTraveler8190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
The Culver Hotel is a true boutique hotel, with 46 rooms. Built in 1924, it is a registered Historic Building. It was lovingly restored and renovated in 2011.
When Mr. Harry Culver positioned the hotel in the center of his new city, his slogan was
"ALL ROADS LEAD TO CULVER CITY", and it is literally in the center of the Westside of West Los Angeles.
Sorry about the delays in retrieving your vehicle, we do need to work harder in coordinating this very basic service, it will improve.

Seth Horowitz
General Manager
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Culver Hotel is fantastic. Its a historic, charming building with modern renovated rooms. The hotel did a perfect renovation with luxury bedding and beds, high end toiletries and more, yet retained the historic feel with antique fixtures and chandeliers in the rooms. The rooms have a lot of natural sunlight, were very spacious and had surprisingly good temperature control for an old building.

There is a restaurant, bar and patio. Great happy hour specials and live music. Free continental breakfast in the morning. The location is great as well. Walk out the front door of the hotel and you are in the heart of downtown Culver City. Bars, restaurants and shops are literally a few feet away. You're about 10 minutes from LAX, 15 minutes to Santa Monica, 10 minutes to Beverly Hills and 15 minutes to Downtown LA.

I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

If you are planning on staying here I would read a bit about the history of the hotel. Very cool stories that will make your visit even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: You can park overnight at Trader Joe's for a bit less than valet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airbound13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
You could be our Copy Writer Airbound13, your succinct review touches all bases.
Thank you.

We do offer the option of Self-Parking in the very conveniently located City Parking Lots for $10 per day, with in & out privileges. Valet Parking is $20 per day.

See you again soon.

Seth Horowitz
General Manager
The Culver Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a friend's birthday, and had a great time. The staff was very friendly, and the hotel is well-maintained. The room was very comfortable and very modern, and updated. The lobby is nicely decorated for dining and entertainment. I really enjoyed the live band. I would make it my homebase whenever I am in Los Angeles again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank StevenMiamiFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you Steven,
The accessibility of Downtown Culver City to Los Angeles County has been part of the reason for the incredible success of this destination. The Culver Hotel is its Crown Jewel.

Seth Horowitz
The Culver Hotel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

It is true that Judy Garland stayed at this hotel when filming "The Wizard of Oz." Though that's charming, it is hardly a reason to stay at this extraordinary hotel. This is my second visit and it just gets better and better. Evidently they've gone t some trouble to make innovations that just make it all the better...though I was already a huge fan/ Decor is impeccable and they have stepped up the brunch menu. Strawberry waffles are heavenly! My room was fabulous. Actually, I could have remained in there all day and part of my visit to see our daughter, we did!! When we felt we should go out, valet was amazing and courteous, the Front Officer Manager Mr. David Hall is still impeccable and there isn't anything he can't assist with...a wizard. However, the whole staff is there to assist in any way without intruding. And the location is fabulous. Culver City is quite the hot spot yet convenient to all other LA areas. Yet in walking distance there are exquisite restaurants, shopping, ATM's at your finger tips. The hotel has an amazing lounge with extraordinary live music. Though we visit our daughter, it's a very romantic environment and "charming" doesn't do it justice! I travel internationally and have enjoyed many special hotels. I can truly say that the Culver Hotel is a little nugget and seems almost magical. Everyone goes out of their way to make you feel like a star....no disrespect Judy!

Room Tip: Whenever I stay, it's a different location and they've all been equally perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HopieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
I just cut and pasted your final sentence;
" I can truly say that the Culver Hotel is a little nugget and seems almost magical. Everyone goes out of their way to make you feel like a star....no disrespect Judy"
beautifully said,
Thank You.

Seth Horowitz
General Manager
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culver City
Westside
InterContinental Los Angeles Century City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge Culver City
#4 of 8 in Culver City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Westside
BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Culver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Culver Hotel

Property: The Culver Hotel
Address: 9400 Culver Blvd, Culver City, CA 90232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Culver City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Culver Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Culver Hotel is "THE" hotel of Culver City, in the heart of the wonderfully active Downtown. Within walking distance of a multitude of gastronomic options and Sony Studios and The Culver Studios. The renovation, completed in December of 2011, brings a modern touch to the classic beauty of this 1924 building. High cielings, large windows and service to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Culver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culver City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing