We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel, Centrally Located”
Review of The Culver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Culver Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed at the Culver and enjoyed our weekend there. The rooms were well appointed, however small with historic detail. The hotel is walkable to restaurants and services in the immediate area but it is a $25 cab fare to Santa Monica and other areas of LA. Valet area needs more attendants for the drop off is crowded, even in mid-afternoon and retrieving a car takes some time. On the weekend we stayed there was a wedding which took up the entire first floor -- lobby, restaurant and bar. The lobby desk was moved to the second floor, making services hard to acquire. To get a taxi, it took two calls and 25 minutes, which is not ideal when you have reservations.

Room Tip: Select a quiet room on the 5th or 6th floor in the back of the building, i.e. a corner with more win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TotalTraveler8190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

The Culver Hotel is a true boutique hotel, with 46 rooms. Built in 1924, it is a registered Historic Building. It was lovingly restored and renovated in 2011.
When Mr. Harry Culver positioned the hotel in the center of his new city, his slogan was
"ALL ROADS LEAD TO CULVER CITY", and it is literally in the center of the Westside of West Los Angeles.
Sorry about the delays in retrieving your vehicle, we do need to work harder in coordinating this very basic service, it will improve.

Seth Horowitz
General Manager
The Culver Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 282 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Culver Hotel is fantastic. Its a historic, charming building with modern renovated rooms. The hotel did a perfect renovation with luxury bedding and beds, high end toiletries and more, yet retained the historic feel with antique fixtures and chandeliers in the rooms. The rooms have a lot of natural sunlight, were very spacious and had surprisingly good temperature control for an old building.

There is a restaurant, bar and patio. Great happy hour specials and live music. Free continental breakfast in the morning. The location is great as well. Walk out the front door of the hotel and you are in the heart of downtown Culver City. Bars, restaurants and shops are literally a few feet away. You're about 10 minutes from LAX, 15 minutes to Santa Monica, 10 minutes to Beverly Hills and 15 minutes to Downtown LA.

I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

If you are planning on staying here I would read a bit about the history of the hotel. Very cool stories that will make your visit even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: You can park overnight at Trader Joe's for a bit less than valet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airbound13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

You could be our Copy Writer Airbound13, your succinct review touches all bases.
Thank you.

We do offer the option of Self-Parking in the very conveniently located City Parking Lots for $10 per day, with in & out privileges. Valet Parking is $20 per day.

See you again soon.

Seth Horowitz
General Manager
The Culver Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a friend's birthday, and had a great time. The staff was very friendly, and the hotel is well-maintained. The room was very comfortable and very modern, and updated. The lobby is nicely decorated for dining and entertainment. I really enjoyed the live band. I would make it my homebase whenever I am in Los Angeles again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank StevenMiamiFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you Steven,
The accessibility of Downtown Culver City to Los Angeles County has been part of the reason for the incredible success of this destination. The Culver Hotel is its Crown Jewel.

Seth Horowitz
The Culver Hotel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

It is true that Judy Garland stayed at this hotel when filming "The Wizard of Oz." Though that's charming, it is hardly a reason to stay at this extraordinary hotel. This is my second visit and it just gets better and better. Evidently they've gone t some trouble to make innovations that just make it all the better...though I was already a huge fan/ Decor is impeccable and they have stepped up the brunch menu. Strawberry waffles are heavenly! My room was fabulous. Actually, I could have remained in there all day and part of my visit to see our daughter, we did!! When we felt we should go out, valet was amazing and courteous, the Front Officer Manager Mr. David Hall is still impeccable and there isn't anything he can't assist with...a wizard. However, the whole staff is there to assist in any way without intruding. And the location is fabulous. Culver City is quite the hot spot yet convenient to all other LA areas. Yet in walking distance there are exquisite restaurants, shopping, ATM's at your finger tips. The hotel has an amazing lounge with extraordinary live music. Though we visit our daughter, it's a very romantic environment and "charming" doesn't do it justice! I travel internationally and have enjoyed many special hotels. I can truly say that the Culver Hotel is a little nugget and seems almost magical. Everyone goes out of their way to make you feel like a star....no disrespect Judy!

Room Tip: Whenever I stay, it's a different location and they've all been equally perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HopieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

I just cut and pasted your final sentence;
" I can truly say that the Culver Hotel is a little nugget and seems almost magical. Everyone goes out of their way to make you feel like a star....no disrespect Judy"
beautifully said,
Thank You.

Seth Horowitz
General Manager
The Culver Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I recently spent a few days at the hotel and the staff were just fantastic. Nice rooms, good food and drinks but overall the staff just excelled. Smiling, happy and warmly welcoming in all their interactions with me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you Brett,

It is the staff that makes the difference, thank you for recognizing them.
See you again soon.

Seth Horowitz
General Manager
The Historic Culver Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We didn't know what to expect when coming to Culver City for a wedding, but it certainly wasn't this totally cool hotel. Loved the history of the place, and you could tell at every turn that you were in a classic place. The amenities, etc., are of course thoroughly modern, but the hotel maintains its vintage LA feel. The breakfast buffet food was great and the dining room better, and we enjoyed our drinks at the bar (though pricey). Several sidewalk restaurants and surrounding shops make the area fun too. Most important, the beds were fantastic -- perfect after flying 18 hours to get there!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donovan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you Donovan,
That trip from Qatar is crazy. My family trip takes me to South Africa and 24 hours of flying!
Thanks for joining us and letting people know of your pleasant experience.

Seth Horowitz
General Manager
The Culver Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I used to live in LA so I know this area well, but I'd NEVER thought of staying in Culver City when I had to come back to visit. I had a business meeting nearby, so this made sense, and a friend recommended it. If you love unique boutique hotels with personal service, you'll love this place. Add in the history and that you can walk to everything you need including shops, restaurants, and a bonus Trader Joe's for snacks and drinks... you've got it made. Live music at nighttime in the romantic lobby too. If you're a light sleeper though bring earplugs as it can get noisy outside with all the people walking around on the streets at night.

Rooms are very nice - fresh and felt new. Small bathroom but functional and beautiful. The only blemish on my stay was my room was missing its desk chair when i checked in! Weird. And FYI I did not try their food. I will definitely stay here again if I have to be in Culver City.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sologirltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Love your moniker, Solo Girl Traveler.
it is amazing how much Culver City has changed, and people who live in LA are discovering that we are a destination in the County. It is fun being here.
Sorry about the chair, we collect old chairs with character and get them refinished, and sometimes these oldies are a little more fragile than hotel chairs should be. It has been replaced.
See you again soon.

Seth Horowitz
General Manager
The Culver Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culver City
Travelodge Culver City
#4 of 8 in Culver City
532 reviews
Westside
InterContinental Los Angeles Century City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Culver City
#7 of 8 in Culver City
164 reviews
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
763 reviews
Westside
Best Western Royal Palace Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Culver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Culver Hotel

Address: 9400 Culver Blvd, Culver City, CA 90232-2617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Culver City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Price Range: $303 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Culver Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Culver Hotel is "THE" hotel of Culver City, in the heart of the wonderfully active Downtown. Within walking distance of a multitude of gastronomic options and Sony Studios and The Culver Studios. The renovation, completed in December of 2011, brings a modern touch to the classic beauty of this 1924 building. High cielings, large windows and service to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Culver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culver City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing