We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Hotel, Not Quite Luxury but With Charm”
Review of The Culver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Culver Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Hotel, Not Quite Luxury but With Charm”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The reviews are pretty accurate. The Culver Hotel is an historic property that has been well renovated although there are some signs of wear. The rooms are very comfortable. The free continental breakfast is good but not exceptional. The prices are fair to low for what you are getting in the LA area. If you want to be in that part of town, I would definitely stay there and I will do so if I need to return to the area. The area immediately around the hotel is now hopping with restaurants and bars. The bar at the hotel has interesting music at night.

It is somewhat noisy in the area, but my room (on the 3rd floor, the first floor of rooms) was quiet with the windows shut. As others have noted, the gym is there but pretty basic.

There are chain hotels that have more facilities. The Culver Hotel has charm but fewer facilities. Charm for me is worth a lot.

Room Tip: Further upstairs is probably quieter, but I did not go up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceshorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your "CHARMING" review :)

We are very proud of being a 4 Star Hotel, and truly believe that we provide Luxury service whenever possible. We take the challenge of maintaining our Antique Hotel constantly.

It is lovely to know you enjoyed our Downtown, it truly is a destination in Los Angeles.

Seth Horowitz
GM
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    73
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
83
21
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for the first time during a recent visit to LA. Oh my gosh, what a great choice! It has history, charm, comfort, location, and a staff that is second to none. We were extremely happy with our four-night stay and would recommend this hotel very highly!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We look forward to your next visit.
Thank you.
Seth
GM
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Really the only hotel in Culver City, the little people stayed here when they filmed the Wizard of Oz. Now lovingly restored. A little bumped and bruised around the edges, but charming. Nice (free) continental breakfast. Walk to Sony.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanbunny_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
It is true, the Munchkins did stay here, 3 to a bed, for the duration of the filming of The Wizard of Oz. Pretty much all the contracted MGM stars of the 30's and 40's at one time or another were guests here. John Wayne landed up owning the hotel, which he won in a card game.
We are committed to to the loving upkeep of this historic hotel, the bumps and bruises will be cared for........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Surprise of the trip: Culver Hotel, Culver City Los Angeles - California.
Secret hiding places, even to residents of the hotel, the dining room Enchanted: looks across the street from the hotel, is the cinema of Hollywood stars, from the glory days of the city.
Environment, the rooms and the hotel's mystery stories made ​​the stay at the hotel with all its glorious history special experience for us.
Highly recommended place for those who like mystery stories and film of the good old hollywood!!

Room Tip: People who do not smoke: take a room of people who do not smoke. If you receive one of these rooms s...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Meirav L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
The History and the stories are wonderful.
Mr. Culver had a secret escape route out of his office, which led to the basement and a tunnel that let to his bank and the studio, his 2 x passions.
Come back and discover more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Culver Hotel is a nice hotel but don't expect anything more than a room. Great place to meet for drinks, average place to stay.
The rooms are clean and comfortable. The A/C is tricky. Either on or off, it didn't turn off once the room got to the temperature, so it was on all night until I woke up to turn it off (and had to get out of bed to turn it one once the room got stuffy)
Rooms are not good for work. The table/chair is not designed for a laptop computer. Not many extra power outlets. The TV is lacking. The local stations came in fuzzy. The gym is one treadmill, one bike and a few weights. No pool.
The hotel has been classily restored and has an nice bar.
If you have to be in Culver City the location is perfect next to restaurants.
The parking is valet ONLY. Good continental breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wawdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
I am so sorry that your heading was your impression of our hotel.
We are striving for a special "experience" every time.
The mechanical stuff we can easily correct: HVAC are individual units with their own controls and we did adjust the local stations to be clear. Sorry for the inconvenience these caused.
A couple of our rooms do need more outlets and we are correcting this, a great gizmo that sits on the top of the desk, providing the power and the computer hookup.
Our Gym is small and compact, but we do have great healthy options in the immediate neighborhood. Specifically, a walk-up the steps on the hill overlooking Culver City called the Baldwin Hills Scenic Overlook, and The Plunge, a great City pool within a few minutes of the hotel.
We do have an option of Self-Parking in the adjacent City lots at $10 per day, a resonable alternative.
I am glad you enjoyed the bar scene and the restaurant options of Downtown Culver City.
We do hope you come and join us again and we manage to do better next time, I am absolutely confident we will.
Seth
GM
The Culver Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen Phillips
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I just spent 2 nights here and it is charming hotel that has been lovingly restored. Marble sink tops, sweet chandelier over your bed, good linens (not great pillows in my room), giant armoire for your clothes-lovely turn of the century meets modern decor. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. So those are the likes. Here are my call outs- I was facing Culver Blvd and it was noisy. Lots of traffic going by as well as people coming and going from the bar- which i quite popular.
Wish they did room service for breakfast. When I came in with my multiple bags, the "valets' which seem to be part of a group servicing the area, just sat and watched me struggle out of the cab. If you need a gym, go elsewhere. There is tiny room with a few machines in it.
Otherwise, really well done property.
It is in a great location and I would recommend this hotel to my fellow travelers.

Room Tip: for quiet, ask for a room int the back. the business suites are a nice size- one room- not the usual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tojopop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
thank you for letting us know about your stay at The Culver Hotel.
I do apologize for the fact our Valet's did not jump to provide the service they are trained and specified to help with. We have a great team of people who would have helped immediately if we knew.
Thanks for the positive stuff and we look forward to taking care of you upon your return.

Seth
GM
The Culver Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This Historic Landmark in downtown Culver City is my kind of digs! Staying there was a VERY cheerful experience. Highly recommended by my daughter (who knows I like boutique berthing), it’s near both her home and her work and therefore perfect for putting up parents. Driving around in that neighborhood is surprisingly easy even for oldsters. The location was also great for sightseeing and getting the feel of the city: short walk to two major studios, nice shops and healthful eateries. We were only there one night, but wished we could have stayed longer and will definitely be going back!
The staff was, in our experience, peerless in terms of being super friendly and helpful. We were welcomed like royalty by an amazingly nice young man, a University of Arizona graduate; who better to meet Tucsonans?! And on departure, we voiced some concern about wildfires along Highway 101. Another stellar “associate” then at the reception desk immediately got the latest info and printed out an a safe route to our next destination. Our room #50 was on the street side but no significant noise from traffic or anything else was apparent. Self-parking in Trader Joe’s garage just down the street was no problem at all, and the employees there were also quite friendly. We happened to meet The Culver’s general manager, Seth Horowitz, in the elevator right after checking in, and he proved to be a delightful host! A few minutes with Seth and you know why the whole staff is outstanding. He and they make you feel more like old friends than mere hotel customers!
Old and eclectic but with solid basics (comfortable bed, a variety of pillows, top notch linens, beautiful bathroom, GREAT SHOWER), The Culver itself delivers unpretentious fun in a city full of pretentions. There’s live jazz in the lounge every evening, attractive people obviously enjoying themselves amid a perky blend of new-old decorating touches, retro wallpaper, fresh flowers, great eats and tempting drinks. The complimentary continental breakfast is simple AND “fabulicious:” a big serving bowl of plain yogurt granola, fresh fruit salad, dried raisins and apricots, amazing whole almonds, croissants, muffins, two kinds of fresh bread, juice, coffee, tea, all conveniently set out with big linen napkins, china and civilized cutlery. What I would call the “great room” is used for breakfast in the a.m., luncheon side-walk cafe during midday, bar and lounge in the evening. It’s open, airy and high ceilinged, with big windows on both sides, just what you’d expect of a pre-WWII movie meeting Mecca.
Legend has it that Charlie Chaplin transferred The Culver to John Wayne for a dollar during a poker game. The “deal” today’s visitor gets is only slightly less spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therinconkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
I loved reading your review and it was a pleasure meeting you, even if it happen to be in the elevator. It is a great place for me to be.....
Seth
GM
The Culver Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culver City
Travelodge Culver City
#4 of 8 in Culver City
513 reviews
Westside
InterContinental Los Angeles Century City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Best Western Royal Palace Inn & Suites
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Culver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Culver Hotel

Property: The Culver Hotel
Address: 9400 Culver Blvd, Culver City, CA 90232-2617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Culver City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Culver Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Culver Hotel is "THE" hotel of Culver City, in the heart of the wonderfully active Downtown. Within walking distance of a multitude of gastronomic options and Sony Studios and The Culver Studios. The renovation, completed in December of 2011, brings a modern touch to the classic beauty of this 1924 building. High cielings, large windows and service to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Culver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culver City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing