We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live like a Munchkin!”
Review of The Culver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Culver Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Really the only hotel in Culver City, the little people stayed here when they filmed the Wizard of Oz. Now lovingly restored. A little bumped and bruised around the edges, but charming. Nice (free) continental breakfast. Walk to Sony.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanbunny_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

It is true, the Munchkins did stay here, 3 to a bed, for the duration of the filming of The Wizard of Oz. Pretty much all the contracted MGM stars of the 30's and 40's at one time or another were guests here. John Wayne landed up owning the hotel, which he won in a card game.
We are committed to to the loving upkeep of this historic hotel, the bumps and bruises will be cared for........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 283 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Surprise of the trip: Culver Hotel, Culver City Los Angeles - California.
Secret hiding places, even to residents of the hotel, the dining room Enchanted: looks across the street from the hotel, is the cinema of Hollywood stars, from the glory days of the city.
Environment, the rooms and the hotel's mystery stories made ​​the stay at the hotel with all its glorious history special experience for us.
Highly recommended place for those who like mystery stories and film of the good old hollywood!!

Room Tip: People who do not smoke: take a room of people who do not smoke. If you receive one of these rooms s...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Meirav L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

The History and the stories are wonderful.
Mr. Culver had a secret escape route out of his office, which led to the basement and a tunnel that let to his bank and the studio, his 2 x passions.
Come back and discover more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Culver Hotel is a nice hotel but don't expect anything more than a room. Great place to meet for drinks, average place to stay.
The rooms are clean and comfortable. The A/C is tricky. Either on or off, it didn't turn off once the room got to the temperature, so it was on all night until I woke up to turn it off (and had to get out of bed to turn it one once the room got stuffy)
Rooms are not good for work. The table/chair is not designed for a laptop computer. Not many extra power outlets. The TV is lacking. The local stations came in fuzzy. The gym is one treadmill, one bike and a few weights. No pool.
The hotel has been classily restored and has an nice bar.
If you have to be in Culver City the location is perfect next to restaurants.
The parking is valet ONLY. Good continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wawdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

I am so sorry that your heading was your impression of our hotel.
We are striving for a special "experience" every time.
The mechanical stuff we can easily correct: HVAC are individual units with their own controls and we did adjust the local stations to be clear. Sorry for the inconvenience these caused.
A couple of our rooms do need more outlets and we are correcting this, a great gizmo that sits on the top of the desk, providing the power and the computer hookup.
Our Gym is small and compact, but we do have great healthy options in the immediate neighborhood. Specifically, a walk-up the steps on the hill overlooking Culver City called the Baldwin Hills Scenic Overlook, and The Plunge, a great City pool within a few minutes of the hotel.
We do have an option of Self-Parking in the adjacent City lots at $10 per day, a resonable alternative.
I am glad you enjoyed the bar scene and the restaurant options of Downtown Culver City.
We do hope you come and join us again and we manage to do better next time, I am absolutely confident we will.
Seth
GM
The Culver Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I just spent 2 nights here and it is charming hotel that has been lovingly restored. Marble sink tops, sweet chandelier over your bed, good linens (not great pillows in my room), giant armoire for your clothes-lovely turn of the century meets modern decor. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. So those are the likes. Here are my call outs- I was facing Culver Blvd and it was noisy. Lots of traffic going by as well as people coming and going from the bar- which i quite popular.
Wish they did room service for breakfast. When I came in with my multiple bags, the "valets' which seem to be part of a group servicing the area, just sat and watched me struggle out of the cab. If you need a gym, go elsewhere. There is tiny room with a few machines in it.
Otherwise, really well done property.
It is in a great location and I would recommend this hotel to my fellow travelers.

Room Tip: for quiet, ask for a room int the back. the business suites are a nice size- one room- not the usual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tojopop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

thank you for letting us know about your stay at The Culver Hotel.
I do apologize for the fact our Valet's did not jump to provide the service they are trained and specified to help with. We have a great team of people who would have helped immediately if we knew.
Thanks for the positive stuff and we look forward to taking care of you upon your return.

Seth
GM
The Culver Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This Historic Landmark in downtown Culver City is my kind of digs! Staying there was a VERY cheerful experience. Highly recommended by my daughter (who knows I like boutique berthing), it’s near both her home and her work and therefore perfect for putting up parents. Driving around in that neighborhood is surprisingly easy even for oldsters. The location was also great for sightseeing and getting the feel of the city: short walk to two major studios, nice shops and healthful eateries. We were only there one night, but wished we could have stayed longer and will definitely be going back!
The staff was, in our experience, peerless in terms of being super friendly and helpful. We were welcomed like royalty by an amazingly nice young man, a University of Arizona graduate; who better to meet Tucsonans?! And on departure, we voiced some concern about wildfires along Highway 101. Another stellar “associate” then at the reception desk immediately got the latest info and printed out an a safe route to our next destination. Our room #50 was on the street side but no significant noise from traffic or anything else was apparent. Self-parking in Trader Joe’s garage just down the street was no problem at all, and the employees there were also quite friendly. We happened to meet The Culver’s general manager, Seth Horowitz, in the elevator right after checking in, and he proved to be a delightful host! A few minutes with Seth and you know why the whole staff is outstanding. He and they make you feel more like old friends than mere hotel customers!
Old and eclectic but with solid basics (comfortable bed, a variety of pillows, top notch linens, beautiful bathroom, GREAT SHOWER), The Culver itself delivers unpretentious fun in a city full of pretentions. There’s live jazz in the lounge every evening, attractive people obviously enjoying themselves amid a perky blend of new-old decorating touches, retro wallpaper, fresh flowers, great eats and tempting drinks. The complimentary continental breakfast is simple AND “fabulicious:” a big serving bowl of plain yogurt granola, fresh fruit salad, dried raisins and apricots, amazing whole almonds, croissants, muffins, two kinds of fresh bread, juice, coffee, tea, all conveniently set out with big linen napkins, china and civilized cutlery. What I would call the “great room” is used for breakfast in the a.m., luncheon side-walk cafe during midday, bar and lounge in the evening. It’s open, airy and high ceilinged, with big windows on both sides, just what you’d expect of a pre-WWII movie meeting Mecca.
Legend has it that Charlie Chaplin transferred The Culver to John Wayne for a dollar during a poker game. The “deal” today’s visitor gets is only slightly less spectacular.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therinconkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

I loved reading your review and it was a pleasure meeting you, even if it happen to be in the elevator. It is a great place for me to be.....
Seth
GM
The Culver Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We enjoyed staying at this charming hotel for 3 days. The rooms were spacious and the decor was very unique and vintage like. At first I was worried about the jazz music in the lobby being too loud but once you get in your room an turn on the room's A/C unit there is a fan option that acts like a white noise type thing that for me I like to have in my hotel rooms. We slept really great and noise free all 3 nights. If you think the music from the lobby might bother you just request a higher floor. The staff was very nice and we really enjoyed our stay. My only complaint is that the breakfast in the morning is sparse - fruit cups, homemade yogurt, oatmeal w/ toppings, crescents and small pieces of rye bread/small muffins. I wish they had a few more options but it will get you by and is a nice addition to staying in the hotel. It's complimentary so I guess I shouldn't complain. The overall feel of the hotel is just so nice and quaint.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparky8188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

thanks for your wonderful comments.
We do have a full breakfast/Brunch menu available in additional to our complimentary breakfast.

See you again soon.

Seth
GM
The Culver Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The positive:

- Location, location, location especially for tourists
- Old authentic and charming hotel
- Beautiful architecture.
- Taste of hollywood. They are filming there a new TV serie (Masters of sex). It wasn't disturbing at all. They handled perfectly the situation!
- Amazing service (housekeeping, breakfest, front desk, etc). The manager is so good taking care of guests and has a great buisiness sence. I would hire him !
- Music from 7pm to 11pm with bands...relaxing and cozy.

The negative:
1- Small room... I guess nothing could be done as it's an old building and would be a shame to change his design. It's an historical site indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for room 67... top floor... what a nice view !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EtoileFilanteduSud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

- love your review style
- 67 is special, 3 sides of windows in the "Flat-Iron"
- come visit again. Thanks
Seth
GM
The Culver Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Culver City hotels
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Los Angeles Westside
3.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Westside
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Culver City
Travelodge Culver City
#4 of 8 in Culver City
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramada Culver City
Ramada Culver City
#7 of 8 in Culver City
167 reviews
2.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles Westside
1.5 mi away
Sunburst Spa & Suites Motel
Sunburst Spa & Suites Motel
#8 of 8 in Culver City
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Culver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Culver Hotel

Address: 9400 Culver Blvd, Culver City, CA 90232-2617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Culver City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Price Range: $300 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Culver Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Culver Hotel is "THE" hotel of Culver City, in the heart of the wonderfully active Downtown. Within walking distance of a multitude of gastronomic options and Sony Studios and The Culver Studios. The renovation, completed in December of 2011, brings a modern touch to the classic beauty of this 1924 building. High cielings, large windows and service to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Culver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culver City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing