We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice Hotel. I had no idea how historic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Culver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Culver Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel. I had no idea how historic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

I was in LA for the weekend. My meetings were all over the place: near LAX, near the coastline, and downtown, so my host recommended that I pick a hotel in the centrally located Culver City; the Culver Hotel was on the top of his list, and so I booked a room here.

I was glad I did. As I quickly learned this is a historic destination. The hotel is near the Sony Pictures Studios; the former MGM Studios. The hotel was the home of the Wizard of Oz cast, many movie stars from the late 1930s, 40s, and 50s, including Frank Sinatra and Ronald Reagan. Prior owners include Charles Chaplin and John Wayne. Wow, what a cool place to visit!

For a such a historic hotel, I was delighted to see that it had been extensively remodeled and updated. My room had a nice fluffy king sized bed, sofa, desk, flatscreen TV, fireplace (not working), and a posh marble bathroom. The free WIFI service was plenty good.

The beautiful front lobby and ground floor look like it was preserved from the original hotel design. At night the ground floor is a very popular Jazz bar with live entertainment and was packed on Friday and Saturday nights -- no doubt a destination for locals, not just hotel guests.

For check-in: there's a five-minute parking area in front of the hotel. Use it! The nearest public parking is a block away. Once you are checked in, the hotel folks will tell you how to get into the Culver City parking garage -- they have a deal with the hotel and allows over night parking.

The person at the front desk was warmly friendly and helpful. I had a spare hour when I arrived and he helped me find some of the nearby historic sites.

Room Tip: Do valet parking, not city parking garage on Cardiff. I knew I was going to be in-and-out several t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkozik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
I would love to talk to you about being a copy writer for our hotel, you encapsulated what we have here so beautifully.
Thank you for joining us and tell all your friends and family.
All the best,
Seth
GM
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    68
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
58
76
20
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
359 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

This is a special hotel. While still somewhat of a work in progress in terms of some of the public areas, no cost has been sparedon the rooms. All modern amenities combined with traditional style furnishings. Old southern California charm had been accentuated, no detail has been overlooked. Bedding is top notch, bathrooms are tastefully done while maintaining their old character. The live music scene on the ground floor is a nice touch, but it may create some extra noise issues for guests on the lower floors. This hotel is not easily categorized. It's not up to the level of some posh, hip lodgings in LA, but it's head and shoulders above national chains, while being only slightly more expensive. If you are looking for a centrally located, comfortable,charming hotel with character - this is it. If you forget about traffic on nearby 405, you almost feel like you stepped back about 60 years.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank onepoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. Everybody likes a "Nice surprise".
Love the fact you appreciate the old charm and new renovation.
Our room renovation is complete, our Grand Lobby and Dining Room are ready, all we are finishing is our meeting room space on the 2nd floor. No disturbance to our guests.
The live music, 7 days a week, from 7:30pm, brings in a nice crowd, but is finished by 11pm, so no problem for our guests up on the 3rd through 6th floor of rooms.
Look forward to seeing you again.
Seth
GM
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Have been there a couple of times… the last time, when we got to the room, it was very smelly, went down to complain and we were immediately assigned to another room… breakfast is not really continental breakfast, it's just coffee, tea some bread and orange juice, other than that you have to order from the restaurant menu, but that's not a problem since the Grand Cassino bakery across the street has some really good options… the room's exquisite decor is a plus…

Room Tip: ask for the round bed room, that's my daughter favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikebana2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you for being a regular guest. Looking forward to many more visits.

The complimentary continental breakfast comprises of the coffee, OJ, granola, yoghurt, fresh fruit, nuts and dried fruits and a selection of baked items. They are set-out at 7am until 10:30am. One of the real pluses of Downtown Culver City is that there are so many really nice restaurant options within walking distance, you found Grand Casino (Argentinian), very good neighbors.

Sorry about the first room, not acceptable at all. Thank you again.

Seth Horowitz
General Manager
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

I've you're looking to host a private event at the Culver Hotel, take a look at the upstairs bar and lounge. It's a cozy environment, with it's own small bar, and plenty of space for mingling and socializing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thanks for letting people know about the Lounge. Perfect for up to 75 people. Your own bar, your own music, your own space. See you again soon.
Seth Horowitz
General Manager
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

With more than $250 in cash and my best jewelry as we were in LA for a big family party. Drove 600 miles before I realized I did not have my wallet, a credit card, or the pouch. A very honest housekeeper/maid, an apparently long time employee on the hotel staff, found it all in the lock box which I left open while packing. The manager mailed it all to me in overnight mail (I must have really good karma as this happened again recently in another hotel— I never do this in my real life, only on vacation). Otherwise the hotel is a lot of fun, quirky, good restaurant, a little noisy but a fun alternative to the big downtown LA scene. The area is neighborhoody but not completely suburban with a couple of good restaurants near by. The rooms feel kind of old, but not offensive or stale and the windows actually open to let in real air on a cool night. Beautiful old building. When we checked in they put us in a room with a round bed (silly) but my very very tall husband couldn't fit so they moved us to a bigger, standard room, comfortable bed, fridge, and well, a lock box in the closet. not luxurious and certainly worth the money; we definitely would stay there again, though the location is not the most exciting part of town.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the movie theater and not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
We are very pleased you got your belongings.

Come and back and see just how lively Downtown Culver City is on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings. Between the movie theatre across the road, Kirk Douglas Theatre near Sony and the 30 + restaurants and bars in a 1/2 miile area, it is "ALIVE". We have our live music in the Grand Lobby every night after 7:30pm.

See you soon.

Seth
GM
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

My husband threw a 50th birthday tea for some of my girlfriends in the private dining room. I have to tell you that my friends and I were delighted, charmed and sorry to leave! The architectural details are to die for, the service was more than attentive and wanting to please, the tea menu was wonderful and there was even a charming string quartet playing in the room. It really could not have been more perfect.
We chose this hotel because we live nearby and have been so excited to see it's renovation. We'd enjoyed a night out there in the main hall: listening to fun, live music and tasting delectable tapas.
This hotel, with it's fun dining and entertainment options is really 'happening'.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review Amy.

See you again soon.

Seth
GM
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Loved our overnight stay at this memorable hotel. They've upgraded the rooms in recent months, so that there's a nice modern flair to the property, while still preserving the architectural integrity of the building.

Built in 1928, it still punctuates downtown Culver City with its historical charm. Inside, you'll see a mash of varying styles of furniture, yet it all works together to provide a chic, yet retro feel to the premises.

Food is good, whether you're doing the Happy Hour thing, or dining in the lobby to enjoy the live music that is offered several times a week.

One suggestion, if you're sensitive to sound, book on one of the higher floors, as the night scene in Culver City, especially on the weekends can be quite lively.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for joining us and enjoying your stay Ms Grathy :)
Love the fact you appreciated the mix of old and new, Landmark and renovated, busy yet tranquil.
We actually have music 7 days a week in our Grand Lobby, different band each night.
With the triangular shape of the building, 2 of the sides are away from the noise of the busstle of Culver City.
See you again.
Seth
GM
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culver City
Travelodge Culver City
#4 of 8 in Culver City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
InterContinental Los Angeles Century City
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Culver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Culver Hotel

Property: The Culver Hotel
Address: 9400 Culver Blvd, Culver City, CA 90232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Culver City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Culver Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Culver Hotel is "THE" hotel of Culver City, in the heart of the wonderfully active Downtown. Within walking distance of a multitude of gastronomic options and Sony Studios and The Culver Studios. The renovation, completed in December of 2011, brings a modern touch to the classic beauty of this 1924 building. High cielings, large windows and service to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Culver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culver City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing