We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice...Mostly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Los Angeles Westside
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very Nice...Mostly”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently, so she could attend a "residency" for her PhD studies. It was, on the whole, a very pleasant stay.

Convienient to LAX ($20 cab ride), check in was a breeze. Close to several malls with excellent restaurants, we were happily tucking into barbeque at Lucille's before the sun set. The standard room was spacious, clean and had the usual amenities.

The breakfast buffet (one ticket/room/day) was awesome - the chef manning the omelet station didn't skimp on ingredients. Though small, the pool was clean. The workout room contained equipment that actually functioned!

Dinner fare was standard, the drinks a shade on the pricey side.

The up side - outstanding staff. Everyone we met was wonderful, helpful and accomodating.

The (only) downside - man, the walls seemed thin. Our neighbors had a small child, who cried most of the night our last night there. We could plainly hear the parents shushing the child. Two in the morning.... I suppose we could have asked to be moved, but why? We had kids once.

No question, if our travels take us back to Culver City this is where we would stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimnPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan C, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Westside, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We share this information with our staff as we strive to continue with providing you with excellent service. Looking forward to seeing you back at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    210
    68
    22
    12
See reviews for
108
78
26
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mesa, az
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

It was nice. I didnt like having to pay to park every night but it is California. This hotel is not on a main road so less traffic noise. There were a couple stores around the corner but nothing right there where you could walk and grab a bite to eat, but down the road a couple miles is a wonderful strip mall, shopping area with a nice theater. We went there several times to eat at Sweet Tomatoes and saw a movie, they had a Thurs night special. There was a .99 book store, everything was .99 for new and used books. I would stay there again, nice clean hotel and there was great shopping and food close by.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amberdoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan C, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Westside, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us and your feedback! Hope to see you back when travels find you in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice people / good room size/ good amenities / Always had pleasant stays and check in and check out. Great for this quality of hotel. I enjoy staying here. Just needs a coffee bar with lattes and all set ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalFamilyofFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan C, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Westside, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back as a frequent guest, when your travels find you in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick, maryland
Level Contributor
669 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 549 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Three nights gave me a good sampling of this property. Unfortunately, not my best experience at a Marriott. For businessmen, slow internet service is a big negative; my three colleagues all had the same complaint and it didn't appear to be episodic. Breakfast was a cut above the usual offerings with the inclusion of an omelette chef and excellent table service but you pay for it here, even as a Platinum member - that was a bit unusual for a Marriott (and, of course, no concierge lounge in a Courtyard). The small gym (two treadmills, bike, elliptical..) was fully occupied on both mornings that I tried to use it (there is also a short outdoor pool). The bar was nice and there is a modest dinner menu served in the lobby. The room was nice but the air conditioner sounded like a jet engine every time it activated. Reception service was very good. Overall, I did not feel the love.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred200099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan C, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Westside, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback it is important to us. Unfortunately as Courtyard brand standard we are all directed to charge for breakfast. However, we take all concerns into consideration as we are continously looking for ways to improve your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a problem with a reservation at another Courtyard so we moved to this one. We received a great welcome and the front desk associate put us in a room perfect for what we had requested. The room was practically spotless!!! The carpet looked clean and the bathroom was very nice. To top it off, we were exhausted from a very draining trip and the bed was wonderful and probably the best sleep we had in a week! Our only negative is that we had cold showers :( However, the front desk gal (on check out) explained that the whole water system was being redone..and she apologized. Although it was not the best shower ever, the rest of the stay surpassed any other hotels the past few nights. When we are flying out of LAX, we will most certainly consider this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsg560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan C, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Westside, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us, glad to hear you will be staying with us when you are back in the area. I apologize about the cold shower, we have recently upgraded our boilers and you shouldn't have that problem during your next stay. Once again, thank you for your stay and your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The staff is very friendly, attentive and helpful. The facilities are clean, up-to-date, and in good working order.

The breakfast buffet costs about $15, standard price for hotel dining. Want cheaper? Eat out. They offer scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, fresh fruit, custom omelets, Belgian waffles. Dining staff is very attentive and friendly.

Internet speed is capped at 1Mb/s. Go game somewhere else. Otherwise the speed is fine for other uses.

Walls are not unusually thin, they are standard hotel walls so yes, you hear other people.

Lot parking is $12 per day. On-street parking is available outside the fence. Read the parking signs for street cleaning days to avoid tickets/towing.

The strip shopping behind the hotel is not sketchy, it just needs better lighting. The CVS is a convenience to be so near. The nice shopping mall is easy walking distance. The neighborhood is not a crime area; I walked many nights and found no one on the street to give me concern.

If you are familiar with Courtyard Hotels, this unit carries the brand name well. It is what you expect from any Courtyard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisaFerncliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan C, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Westside, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and your feedback! Hope to see you back in our hotel when future travels find you in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were there for an event taking place at the Culver City Veteran's Memorial Auditorium and paid a special discounted rate. Even then it was not cheap.

First the negatives: There was no airport shuttle (the hotel is only 3 miles from LAX). Parking was $12/night. (some of those in our group parked on the street). The shower handle was broken and we had to wait until maintenance came and fixed it. Query how housekeeping cleaned the bathroom before we moved in. My wife had to go down to the desk to get a shower cap.

The good: Free wi-fi; free business center where we could check-in and print boarding passes; short waits for elevators; free coffee and tea in the lobby; comfortable beds; good quality towels; in-room safe; decent air conditioning system (not too loud and well controlled); very clean and modern; even though we faced the freeway, the room was quiet; full bathroom amenities; adequate storage; good sized room; accessible plugs for chargers.

The buffet breakfast was expensive, but there was a cook making fresh omlets to order, so it was worth the price. While we were having breakfast, Showtime (I think) was there filming an episode of one of their series in the lobby...too cool.

One morning I went down and picked up a couple of muffins and free coffee to go. It cost less than $2...a good deal.

We didn't go there, but it was walking distance to Westfield Mall and Marshall's. CVS was just next door. We walked there to pick up bottled water and shoe laces.

If this is a convenient location for your purpose, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaialaeNui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan C, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Westside, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! Your feedback is very important in making improvements to our hotel. I apologize for the maintanance issues you experienced, these concerns will be forwarded to our Engineering team. As we strive to make your stays with us pleasant your feeback is very important. Once again, Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culver City
Travelodge Culver City
#4 of 8 in Culver City
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Culver Hotel
#1 of 8 in Culver City
262 reviews
Westside
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - LAX Airport
Extended Stay America - Los Ange...
#242 of 351 in Los Angeles
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles Westside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles Westside

Property: Courtyard Los Angeles Westside
Address: 6333 Bristol Pkwy, Culver City, CA 90230-6904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Culver City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Los Angeles Westside 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Courtyard Los Angeles Westside, located in Culver City, California. Our brand new hotel features 260 spacious guestrooms and suites in addition to over 10,000 square feet of flexible indoor-outdoor event space and a full catering department 3.5 miles north of LAX. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles Westside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Westside Hotel Culver City
Courtyard Culver City
Courtyard Hotel Culver City
Culver City Courtyard
Culver City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing