We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Standby” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sizzler

Sizzler
Ranked #141 of 305 Restaurants in Culver City
Cuisines: Steakhouse, American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Culver City, California, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Standby”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Sizzler is perfect for when our plans change and we need somewhere eat that is comfortable and affordable. The choices are broad and the senior citizen plates are perfect.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    8
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
211 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good Value for the Money.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

All of the Sizzler locations, and we have eaten in at least 10,
have had a real nice Salad Bar that include meat, pasta, and
soup selections, it has all been good tasting along with the
Meat and Sea Food available, Good Pricing for what you get.

The Lomita California Store needs to get with it,
last 2 times had Old food items, Get with It.

I would suggest trying most other Locations, you should be Happy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ritchie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The worst (almost ) dinner experience (we left before dinner...) , i ever had.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

PLACE : SIZZLER 5801 Sepulveda blvd , Culver city
DATE: Saturday 2/23/13
TIME: 5:00 PM

The worst (almost ) dinner experience (we left before dinner...) , i ever had.
I took my disabled friend who reside not far from Sizzler at Palm Court Nursing Home, Culver City,
to an early dinner, so she want be alone on the eve of the Jewish holiday Purim.
I ordered for her the" steak and shrimp dinner, with one trip to the Salad bar".
For me I ordered glass of wine, since I had dinner plan later, (it was only 5:00PM).
I got my wine in no time, and my friend waited to get a plate for the salad bar.
After about 10min,she asked the waiter about the salad bar, and he replied that there is no salad bar with the order.

(what!!! I ordered from the menu over the cashier- where it is specifically written one trip to the salad bar, I have picture to prove it).

When i told him to check the menu, he brought the Manager -Darryl Benton.

The rudest manager I ever encountered.

I told Mr. Manager D. Benton what we had told the waiter, he said that he will bring a plate but my friend can only take it from... here... and not from there... touch this... and not that... soooo many qualifiers, that my friend who is disabled and only wanted some lettuce, wanted to leave.

I still wanted her to have a nice dinner for the holiday and I wanted to enjoy a glass of red wine,
with her, while she is having dinner.

So I took her plate to the salad bar ( again my friend is disabled, in nursing home), to put some green on her plate, and noticed the waiter and the manager watching me like a hawks ...I believe so i want put anything not allowed on the plate...(i did not know that one trip to the salad bar has so many restrictions).

At this point I told the manager that we no longer wanted to eat there, and i want my money back.
Mr. Manager D. Benton, did not even tried to be nice about the situation or apologies for his offensive behavior, instead he said , i will give you the money back but you pay for the wine.

I did have few zips of the wine while waiting for the food to arrive, however I saved most of it to enjoy while my friend is having dinner .

Mr. Manager D. Benton , gave me the credit slip with a charge on the wine, i refused to sign it.
We just left, wine glass almost full, we had enough humiliation for one evening, and to treat a disabled person this way, and ruined her holiday, is uncalled for.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruthlmil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanger, Texas
Level Contributor
271 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“sizzler, my old friend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Hadn't been to a Sizzler in years, it was like meeting an old friend and picking up where you left off. Food was still good, more crowded than I would have liked. However it was good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pierce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gross salad bar caused food poisoning.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Steak was tough and the salad caused food poisoning for two of us who at there. Avoid!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DocTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sizzler also viewed

 

Been to Sizzler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing