We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tasty bit of France in Culver City...”
Review of La Dijonaise

La Dijonaise
Ranked #40 of 316 Restaurants in Culver City
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A tasty bit of France in Culver City...”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I have been to La Dijonaise several times, and rarely am I disappointed. This time, I had the quiche lorraine, and it was absolutely delicious. My date had the duck salade (très québecoise), and he enjoyed it tremendously. For dessert, I had the seasonal pumpkin mousse (delectable and amazingly light), and he had the mousse au chocolat (fabulous and rich as always).

The only negatives that come to mind deal with a couple of the restaurant's policies. Although omelettes are served all day long, the croque madame, which I had been craving, is not available after breakfast because it comes with a fried egg. That makes no sense whatsoever. Surely, if the croque monsieur is served, and eggs have to be cracked to make an omelette, the two processes can be combined to make a croque madame.

Another critique deals with coffee refills. I had ordered a cappuccino. When I finished, I asked if I could have a cup of regular decaf coffee, not a decaf cappuccino. The server said that I would be charged for it. If I had ordered the decaf coffee (which costs less) in the first place, I wouldn't have been charged for the refill. Cost-wise, that is illogical. In any case, I did order the decaf coffee.

With the exception of these two odd policies, which I hope will change, I will definitely be returning to La Dijonaise, and if at all possible, after 1:30 to avoid the lunchtime crowds.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mmelang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    28
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A local favorite”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We live within walking distance and come for dinner fairly often. The food is always good, sometimes great, and very reasonable. They also make a mean Mojito! It's a relaxed and casual place, good for families, with a fairly extensive menu. Free parking in the Helms Bakery lots. But it's great to be able to walk there!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mondaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Favorite breakfast. Regular customer”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

This is the restaurant that comes to mind whenever I want a no-nonsense elegant breakfast and excellent coffee. Their baked goods, their baguettes are just like they should be. I love their preparation of eggs! Whether in a quiche, poached, scrambled, over easy, in an omelette, their chef does it best. The service is excellent and their waiters are friendly, courteous, and very appealing. The restaurant is clean and has a beautiful combo of modern and cozy french design (? I don't know how else to describe it). I wish it wasn't so crowded in the mornings... but I know why. I have been coming here many many many years and hope it stays forever.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamale624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Solid”
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Great Food
Great Service
Great Location

From Wine to Bread & Butter to Shrimp to Soup to Desert...Fantastic

Helpful?
Thank livealittleWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyed coffee and tea w/some french pastries. Pleasant place to chill and/or do some work. Didn't have chance to try...”
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Enjoyed coffee and tea w/some french pastries. Pleasant place to chill and/or do some work. Didn't have chance to try the full menu. The service we received was good.

Helpful?
Thank 021208
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dijonaise also viewed

 
Culver City, CA
Culver City, CA
 

Been to La Dijonaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing